VoodooShield ?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by CloneRanger, Dec 7, 2011.

  1. VoodooShield

    VoodooShield Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Posts:
    5,881
    Location:
    United States
    We tested VS on an 8-9 year old AMD XP 2400+, and the CPU utilization was >1%, 18MB RAM, and of course 0% HDD. But I imagine if the computer was loaded with software, it wouldn't be quite that good!
     
  2. VoodooShield

    VoodooShield Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Posts:
    5,881
    Location:
    United States
    That is really odd... when VS is OFF / Training, it really is doing nothing at all except looking for new things to allow. We will get to the bottom of this one way or another. Yes, if you can send me the logs, that would be really helpful. Please send to support@voodooshield.com. Thank you!
     
  3. VoodooShield

    VoodooShield Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Posts:
    5,881
    Location:
    United States
    Yes, people run both all the time, and it works great. Although, it really is not necessary to run both. I would figure out which one you like better, and use the one you like. Thank you!
     
  4. KiwiChristchurch

    KiwiChristchurch Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Posts:
    6
    Wow that's great!
    Going to install it on my home computer when I get home after uninstalling CIS.

    I've got a email reply that my account is ready (super fast reply btw) but as I put in the details in the registration popup in voodooshield it says "Your registration has expired. Please renew your registration."
    Do I have to wait a few more minutes for it to work?

    Thanks
     
  5. Overkill

    Overkill Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    Posts:
    2,338
    Location:
    USA
    I have it installed on a spare machine and so far I like it! seems very simple to use


    I have a couple comments from friends so maybe you could help me with some answers?

    #1 By the description it sounds like UAC which also can block executable codes that are not digitally singed by trusted vendors.

    So can this provide any benefits then just using UAC?


    #2 This kind of software is going to hurt the smooth working procedure of the os. But in terms of protection it may not be so good as there are so many kinds of viruses that are not executable files. Though it depends on how and what they think as executable code e.g. various types of scripts etc.
     
  6. VoodooShield

    VoodooShield Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Posts:
    5,881
    Location:
    United States
    It should be working now... can you pm me the email address you used?
     
  7. siketa

    siketa Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2012
    Posts:
    2,718
    Location:
    Gaia
    @VoodooShield: You are doing great job, guys! I wish you all the best! Very good move with this 1 year offer.....:thumb:
     
  8. VoodooShield

    VoodooShield Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Posts:
    5,881
    Location:
    United States
    It will work now... there was an old account from a long time ago in the database. Thank you!
     
  9. VoodooShield

    VoodooShield Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Posts:
    5,881
    Location:
    United States
    Hi, we actually discussed UAC at length awhile back. If there is anyway you can search this forum for UAC, it will explain it in detail. If you cannot find it, please let me know and I will look it up. But there is a huge difference between VS and UAC. Actually, if UAC worked well and was designed well, we never would have created VS.

    VS is extremely smooth, you will see! It took us 2 years to make it smooth, but the user experience is great. We also talked about non executable malware at length... if you cannot find it please let me know. VS does block scripts that have the potential to be malicious. I have been killing viruses for almost 15 years now, and pretty much all of the viruses have been executable code that VS would have blocked. Even a script has to drop a payload (executable code) to do any real damage. VS has been available for over a year and a half, and there has not been one report of something slipping past VS. I am not suggesting that it is perfect, but we have enough users that we can say that it is well tested. But besides scripts, what other non executable malware should we consider locking down as well? Thank you!
     
  10. VoodooShield

    VoodooShield Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Posts:
    5,881
    Location:
    United States
    Thank you! We appreciate that!
     
  11. justenough

    justenough Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Posts:
    1,549
    Log and Whitelist sent.

    Turned off Sandboxie's experimental 64bit protection, didn't make a difference.
     
  12. VoodooShield

    VoodooShield Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Posts:
    5,881
    Location:
    United States
    Sounds good, I have not received the logs yet, so I will take a look at them in the morning... it is 1:30am here, and from the looks of it, I am going to have a long day ahead of me tomorrow entering new subscriptions ;).

    The response from the free subscription has been amazing! I didn't think we would get THIS much of a response, otherwise we would have just created a simple web page for people to sign up! Thank you!
     
  13. siketa

    siketa Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2012
    Posts:
    2,718
    Location:
    Gaia
    @VoodooShield: Like I suggested before, make an official Lifetime license with affordable price (vs AG, ERP, etc.) and you will gain much more users....;)
    I know about 2 yrs->Lifetime offer but it is still almost double the price of your competition.
     
  14. Cutting_Edgetech

    Cutting_Edgetech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Posts:
    5,601
    Location:
    USA
    No, i am not. That error was related to the .NetFramework, an VS. I'm not sure it was related to SD. I was running in Shadow Mode at the time I got the error, and it was just suspicion. That was the only time I ever got that error message. Everything is fine now.
     
  15. Cutting_Edgetech

    Cutting_Edgetech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Posts:
    5,601
    Location:
    USA
    I have been running them together for months without a single conflict that i'm aware of. They are working great together for me. I made VS a Powerapp, trusted publisher, and gave VS memory read, and write privileges in Appguard's settings just to be on the safe side. You may not need to do all that, but those are the settings I am comfortable with to make sure there is no conflict. Appguard is more technical to use, and sometimes requires some configuration to make sure there is no conflict with other security applications. In my experience AG requires the user to be more knowledgeable when it comes to computing in general. It just has a little learning curve. Once you learn your way around the application I think you will find that you don't want to go without it anymore. It will stop just about anything you thrown at it.
    VoodooShield is more user friendly in my experience. It requires less computing knowledge on the user's part. All you have to do is enable VS's training mode, and it will learn the applications you have already installed on your machine. If you have an application installed in the userspace instead of the system space then enable VS's training mode, and then run the application. It will automatically white list the application, and allow it to run from then on with VS's protection enabled.
     
    Last edited: Jul 2, 2013
  16. VoodooShield

    VoodooShield Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Posts:
    5,881
    Location:
    United States
    Yes, we will figure something out. I believe that the lifetime licenses for most of the other products only cover minor releases. Also, there are other products that are double the price of the ones you mentioned ;). The goal is to make it as affordable as possible, while generating enough revenue to stay in business! Thank you!
     
  17. VoodooShield

    VoodooShield Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Posts:
    5,881
    Location:
    United States
    Wow, the response from the free subscription keeps growing... it is going to take a while to catch up with all of the emails! In the mean time, please feel free to download VS, it will give you a 14 day trial. You will receive confirmation that your account has been set up within a day or so.

    You can then right click on VS and choose Register to enter your email address and password.

    Here is the link to download:

    http://voodooshield.com/download/versions/Install VoodooShield.1.09.exe

    Thank you!
     
  18. G1111

    G1111 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Posts:
    2,271
    Location:
    USA
    Thanks Dan and keep up the good work. VS for me is a must have.
     
  19. taleblou

    taleblou Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Posts:
    1,291
    hmm. I have send the required info for the one year voodooshield giveaway and as of yet have not received any reply. I realy want to test it. So how long does it take for me to get registered and recieve a reply?

    oops, I did not see the response by voodooshield. So I should receive my reply in a day or so then?

    Thanks for the giveaway.
     
  20. VoodooShield

    VoodooShield Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Posts:
    5,881
    Location:
    United States
    Thank you G111!
     
  21. VoodooShield

    VoodooShield Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Posts:
    5,881
    Location:
    United States
    Sorry, we thought we would receive 50-100 responses, not 10 to50 times that ;). For every subscription we setup, 2 or so new ones come in, but we will be caught up soon (we hope).

    For now, you can download the 14 day trial, it works just the same, except you cannot tweak the options until you enter your email address and password. But we will get those to you asap! Sorry for the inconvenience, thanks again!
     
    Last edited: Jul 2, 2013
  22. siketa

    siketa Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2012
    Posts:
    2,718
    Location:
    Gaia
    Dan, you mean password....not phone number?
     
  23. puff-m-d

    puff-m-d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    5,534
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Hello,

    It has been awhile since I tried VoodooShield. I always had problems with high CPU usage which kept me from using it. I thought I would take advantage of this offer and try VS again. Unfortunately it seems my issues with high CPU usage are still present. My hardware is the same but OS and software are completely different now. Before my system was Vista Home Premium x64 and since then I have changed to Windows 8 Pro x64. Security software is totally different also. This makes me think it maybe hardware related? I would like to use VS, but 20% CPU is way more than I am willing to allow. Any thoughts Dan?
     

    Attached Files:

  24. billy13

    billy13 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2009
    Posts:
    49
    Thank you.............:D
     
  25. VoodooShield

    VoodooShield Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Posts:
    5,881
    Location:
    United States
    Oops, thank you! I corrected my mistake!
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.