VoodooShield ?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by CloneRanger, Dec 7, 2011.

  1. VoodooShield

    VoodooShield Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Posts:
    5,881
    Location:
    United States
    Sounds good, thank you! If you have any other problems, please let us know!
     
  2. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    13,057
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Thanks Dan got it and working great. ;)

    Daniel
     
  3. Cutting_Edgetech

    Cutting_Edgetech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Posts:
    5,653
    Location:
    USA
    Is it ok to install Voodoo Shield over my present installation?
     
  4. VoodooShield

    VoodooShield Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Posts:
    5,881
    Location:
    United States
    Thank you TH!

    Yes, you can just install over the top of the existing VS installation.
     
  5. Cutting_Edgetech

    Cutting_Edgetech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Posts:
    5,653
    Location:
    USA
    Ok, thanks! Doing it now.
     
  6. Blueshoes

    Blueshoes Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    Posts:
    226
    Where are you at with the Mac version??
     
  7. VoodooShield

    VoodooShield Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Posts:
    5,881
    Location:
    United States
    Hi, we are getting close, but we are running into a few problems. I am hoping to have an OSX release within a month or so. Thank you!
     
  8. justenough

    justenough Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Posts:
    1,549
    I've installed the trial of VoodooShield, and when opening Chrome with Sandboxie this message pops up: "Warning: your Google Chrome settings are stored on a network drive. This may result in slowdowns, crashes or even loss of data." The message doesn't pop up with un-sandboxed Chrome. Any suggestions?

    Also, the shield is saying off even after the training, unless I open Chrome.
     
  9. Overkill

    Overkill Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    Posts:
    2,343
    Location:
    USA
    "Warning: your Google Chrome settings are stored on a network drive. This may result in slowdowns, crashes or even loss of data."

    My chrome has always said this when running in sandboxie
     
  10. justenough

    justenough Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Posts:
    1,549
    That's odd, I've never gotten that message in a couple of years of using Sandboxie until installing VoodooShield.
     
  11. Overkill

    Overkill Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    Posts:
    2,343
    Location:
    USA
    Weird
     
  12. Feandur

    Feandur Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2005
    Posts:
    419
    Location:
    Australia
    @ Cutting_Edgetech
    Using the new version of VS are you still getting the error / bug with Shadow Defender?

    -cheers,
    feandur
     
  13. VoodooShield

    VoodooShield Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Posts:
    5,881
    Location:
    United States
    Hi, yes, that is a very odd error. Is Chrome installed in the C:\Program Files directory? I know for awhile there, the chrome installer would install chrome into the user directory, but that was many versions ago. Are you running a newer version of chrome?

    Yes, VoodooShield will toggle between On and OFF when it is in Smart Mode. This helps to further train VS. Although, we have reached the point that the user really does not have to train VS much at all anymore. If you want VS to not toggle, you can right click and choose Always ON. I personally like it to toggle, but some people like it to be always on.

    Please let us know about the chrome issue. I highly doubt it is VS, but let me know where chrome is installed, and what version you are running. We will figure it out one way or another. Thank you!
     
  14. VoodooShield

    VoodooShield Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Posts:
    5,881
    Location:
    United States
    Free one year subscription to VoodooShield! The people at wilderssecurity have been a tremendous help to us, and we would like to show our gratitude!

    Email us your email address and the password you would like to use for your account, and we will hook you up with a free year of VS. If you have already purchase VS, let us know and we will add 1.5 years to your subscription, just send us the email address you use for your account.

    Email us @ support@voodooshield.com, and we will hook you up through July 4th.


    Thank you!

    VoodooShield Support Team


    Edit:

    Wow, the response from the free subscription keeps growing... it is going to take a while to catch up with all of the emails! In the mean time, please feel free to download VS, it will give you a 14 day trial. You will receive confirmation that your account has been set up within a day or so.

    You can then right click on VS and choose Register to enter your email address and password.

    Here is the link to download:

    http://voodooshield.com/download/ver...hield.1.09.exe

    Thank you!




    Another Edit:

    Due to an overwhelming response to our 1 free year subscription of VoodooShield promotion, we decided it was necessary to automate the process of setting up user accounts.

    Please visit the following link and enter your email address and password to setup your account. You will then receive a confirmation that the account is active.

    If you have any problems, please let us know!


    http://voodooshield.com/freeoffer/



    Thank you,

    VoodooShield Support Team
     
    Last edited: Jul 3, 2013
  15. VoodooShield

    VoodooShield Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Posts:
    5,881
    Location:
    United States
    And yes, the free subscription is open to ANYONE, even friends of friends of people at wilders ;).
     
  16. Overkill

    Overkill Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    Posts:
    2,343
    Location:
    USA
    Awesome! :thumb: :thumb:
     
  17. justenough

    justenough Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Posts:
    1,549
    Awesome indeed.

    Everything seemed setup correctly, Chrome was the current version and installed in the right place. But I went ahead and did a re-install anyway. Still getting the warning about settings being on a network drive. It's only with Sandboxied Chrome, not Chrome unsandboxed or in IE sandboxed.

    Good to know the on-off situation is normal, it isn't bothersome, just wanted to make sure it was okay since I'm new to VoodooShield.
     
  18. VoodooShield

    VoodooShield Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Posts:
    5,881
    Location:
    United States
    Good deal. I googled the chrome problem earlier... it is a known problem with chrome, but I didn't have time to track down the fix. I did find the following link, it might help some: http://www.unidesk.com/forum/troubl...yers/google-chrome-warning-your-google-chrome

    Thank you!
     
  19. justenough

    justenough Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Posts:
    1,549
    I'd found that page at Unidesk when trying to figure out a solution on my own a few days ago. Their conclusion was that Chrome doesn't like unlettered volumes, so I assumed that VoodooShield was somehow creating its own volume or interfering with the lettering of ones already there. I didn't understand the fix given at Unidesk, so uninstalled VoodooShield. But your program has caught my interest because it is lightweight and seems like it would fit in well with Sandboxie and WSA, so I've re-installed VoodooShield to see if there's a solution.

    The problem doesn't seem to be with WSA, turning it off had no effect.
     
    Last edited: Jul 1, 2013
  20. VoodooShield

    VoodooShield Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Posts:
    5,881
    Location:
    United States
    I see. If you install VS, then right click on the shield and choose View Log, it should have Chrome listed, with the path. Does the path look correct?

    C:\Program Files (x86)\Google\Chrome\Application\chrome.exe

    If the path does not look correct, or if it is not listed, please let me know. You might want to reset the whitelist and the Log, and look at the path if you cannot find it right away. Thank you!
     
  21. justenough

    justenough Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Posts:
    1,549
    Path to Chrome is correct. Cleared log and whitelist. No change in warning.
     
  22. VoodooShield

    VoodooShield Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Posts:
    5,881
    Location:
    United States
    Hmmm, so it only happens when VS is installed and ON? Does VS block anything when you see the error? If VS is not blocking anything, it most likely is not VS, since if it is not blocking anything, it is not doing anything.

    If you sign up for the free year and register VS, I can look at some of the logs and see if there is anything that looks odd. But like I was saying, if VS is not blocking anything, it is not doing anything. Please let us know if you want us to check out the logs after registering!
     
  23. KiwiChristchurch

    KiwiChristchurch Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Posts:
    6
    Hi,

    Does VoodooShield have any noticeable impact on older machines? I am thinking of taking advantage of the great offer given to try it out on my home computer that is used just for streaming videos to the tv :D
    Its a pentium 4 processor.
    I have CIS installed on it now but it seems to have a noticeable impact on the system.

    Thanks
     
  24. justenough

    justenough Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Posts:
    1,549
    Registered my free year, thank you. Want me to send logs to support?

    The warning pops up even if VS is turned off and in training mode. When turned on, VS doesn't block anything noticeable. VS must be modifying files somehow that Chrome doesn't like, such as creating a volume without a letter or interfering with Chrome seeing that letter. I've never had this warning before installing VS, and it doesn't happen after uninstalling VS.

    It also has something to do with Sandboxie, because it's only in sandboxed Chrome.

    (Not sure if it matters, but nothing was changed with the warning when running Chrome without extensions.)
     
  25. Overkill

    Overkill Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    Posts:
    2,343
    Location:
    USA
    Has anyone ran this alongside appguard?
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.