VoodooShield ?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by CloneRanger, Dec 7, 2011.

  1. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    9,291
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    My understanding is that 3.20 was an improvement over 3.19 but introduced a couple of small bugs. 3.21 solved those bugs. You should be fine to update 3.21 over 3.19.
     
  2. SSherjj

    SSherjj Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2014
    Posts:
    174
    Location:
    New York, USA
    I installed 3.21 on top of 3.19 without an issue..all is running great!
     
  3. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    8,074
    I'm still not using VS anymore, although I still have it installed. Aside from the bugs I was experiencing, one thing I really like about not using VS is that installers launch instantly, instead of taking a few seconds to launch. This matters to me as install new software every day.
     
  4. old school

    old school Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2015
    Posts:
    29
    Location:
    Spain
    Updated today from 3.10 to 3.21. Perfect here too
     
  5. Solarlynx

    Solarlynx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    Posts:
    2,015
    Windows-7: VS 3.21 is OK in Standard User Account, and cannot run in the Guest account.
    It was OK with previous versions.

    Capture.PNG
     
  6. ghodgson

    ghodgson Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2003
    Posts:
    835
    Location:
    UK
    VS1.png

    I notice when I open task manager Voodooshield.exe is about 6mb and then slowly climbs over a few seconds to level off at around 14-15mb.
    You are on Win 10 would that make a difference ?
    Either way the memory usage is still small.
     
    Last edited: May 23, 2016
  7. Cache

    Cache Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2016
    Posts:
    432
    Location:
    Mercia
    I have been running the recent beta versions for sometime now and have to report that with every one I have experienced freezing of Windows Explorer or, as happened yesterday when using the "stable" 3.10, all the program files.

    I then did a clean install of 3.21 and, as usual, everything went well for a few hours but after scanning several files with Ai, it eventually froze again like all the other versions.

    I have Win 7 Pro and always run VS in Shadow Defender, having shut down my AV (Webroot) but leaving Malwarebytes Anti-Exploit running. It seems unlikely that either of these two programs is causing the freezing and so I was wondering if there is a tweak available in the pro version of VS that I am missing (as I have been using the free version).

    Any assistance would be much appreciated.
     
  8. Houley456

    Houley456 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2007
    Posts:
    186
    Installed 3.21 and all is fine with EAM.......and Hitman Pro and HitManPro.Elert....
     
  9. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    17,762
    Location:
    UK
    Try right-clicking on the voodooshield processes in Task Manager when they freeze and select 'create dump file'

    This may help VoodooShield dev (Dan) to narrow things down if you send them to him..
     
  10. Cache

    Cache Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2016
    Posts:
    432
    Location:
    Mercia
    Thank you stapp, I will give that a try next time it freezes.
     
  11. VoodooShield

    VoodooShield Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Posts:
    5,881
    Location:
    United States
    Thank you Gandalf_The_Grey, Crystal_Lake_Camper, TH, ghodgson, Baldrick, old school, Tyrizian, Krusty13, SSherjj, Houley456, and stapp (sorry if I missed anyone!).
     
  12. VoodooShield

    VoodooShield Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Posts:
    5,881
    Location:
    United States
    Yeah, the memory utilization varies, but this looks good!
     
  13. VoodooShield

    VoodooShield Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Posts:
    5,881
    Location:
    United States
    Sure, you can just install over the top!
     
  14. VoodooShield

    VoodooShield Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Posts:
    5,881
    Location:
    United States
    Cool, thank you for finding that. I was able to reproduce this quite easily and I know what the issue is, hopefully it is an easy fix. This bug has actually been around since 3.09 or 3.10... for some reason the Guest account cannot communicate with the VoodooAi database, so it crashes VS.

    BTW, if anyone ever sees something like this in their DeveloperLog.log, it will help a lot... here is this particular error.

    [05-23-2016 01:10:38] [ERROR] - Exception in VoodooAi_New: The type initializer for 'System.Data.SqlClient.SqlConnection' threw an exception.. at System.Data.SqlClient.SqlConnection..ctor()

    It will always say "Exception in..."
     
  15. VoodooShield

    VoodooShield Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Posts:
    5,881
    Location:
    United States
    Thank you for letting me know (and thank you stapp for the help!). I think several people have had issues with Shadow Defender and VS. I will try that combo right now and see if I can reproduce the error.
     
  16. Gandalf_The_Grey

    Gandalf_The_Grey Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Posts:
    901
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Dan, I have some errors in my DeveloperLog.log. I hope this helpes.
    To big a file to attach, you can get it from my onedrive: DeveloperLog.log
     
  17. Cache

    Cache Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2016
    Posts:
    432
    Location:
    Mercia
    Thanks Dan, I appreciate the quick response. On reflection I suspect that the culprit probably is Shadow Defender as it can cause issues with other programs and is the reason that I always shut down Webroot when using SD.
     
    Last edited: May 23, 2016
  18. VoodooShield

    VoodooShield Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Posts:
    5,881
    Location:
    United States
    Cool, thank you, that does help! Notice how there are less and less exceptions every day? We are getting there!
     
  19. VoodooShield

    VoodooShield Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Posts:
    5,881
    Location:
    United States
    Cool, thank you. I actually just tried Shadow Defender... I had not tried it for 3 or so years now, so I was not that familiar with it.

    Out of the box, they are not going to work well together, unless you create a Folder Exclusion for C:\programdata\voodooshield. See, in order for VS to function properly, it has to be able to write to its database... and actually, this would apply to a lot of other security software as well. Out of curiosity, did you create a Folder Exclusion like the one above in SD? If not, you might want to try it again and see how it does. AND THIS APPLIES TO ANY OTHER SECURITY SOFTWARE THAT MIGHT STOP VS FROM WRITING TO THIS FOLDER!

    The funny thing is that VS cannot even write to the developerlog in this scenario, which is probably why there are no entries in the log for the freeze issue!

    If you run VS alone, or with Webroot, or some other security product that does not interfere with VS's ability to write to its database, then VS will run rock solid, which is why VS runs great for most of the people, and not so great for others. I guess that is why you always hear that security products seem to interfere with each other.

    So to make a long story short, if anyone is having issues, can you please uninstall one security product at a time until you figure out which one is causing the issue?
     
  20. Cache

    Cache Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2016
    Posts:
    432
    Location:
    Mercia

    Thanks again for the quick reply. I did not create a Folder Exclusion in SD; I didn't realise that I needed to. I will give that a try next time although it looks like I would be better just trying VS when I am not in shadow mode. Either way you have explained why VS was freezing up on me and I hope to now be able to give VS a more sustained trial on my system. I am so pleased that I posted here as I was on the point of giving up on VS!
     
  21. VoodooShield

    VoodooShield Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Posts:
    5,881
    Location:
    United States
    Cool, thank you! Yeah, they seem to work great together after adding the Folder Exclusion.
     
  22. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    Hi Dan

    There is nothing in ShadowDefender that should prevent VS from writing to it's database. Yes the writes will be directed but that shouldn't affect anything. I should have some time in the morning and will test.

    Pete
     
  23. VoodooShield

    VoodooShield Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Posts:
    5,881
    Location:
    United States
    Hey Pete,

    I will test again, but the first time I tested SD with VS, the entire computer completely froze, and I had to do a hard reset. After I added the Folder Exclusion, it seemed to work great. It might have been a fluke though.

    Sure, please let me know what you find out, thank you!
     
  24. VoodooShield

    VoodooShield Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Posts:
    5,881
    Location:
    United States
    Actually, what I will do right now is make it so VS writes the logs to a different folder, and exclude that folder in SD to that the log is written properly, but not exclude the database files... we will see what happens, it will be interesting.
     
  25. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    Hi Dan

    My quickie test tonight was this. Installed VS. Did an advanced scan and left VS in smart mode. The only exclusion I have in SD is a data folder on my F: drive that I use to synchronize between computers. No exclusions on the c: drive. Everything worked normally. Did a bit of surfing and VS showed active. When done I exited shadowmode and all was normal. I will beat on it some more in the morning. Anything in particular you want me to look at.

    Note that all this is on Win 7x64.

    Pete
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.