VoodooShield ?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by CloneRanger, Dec 7, 2011.

  1. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    7,507
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Well, stuffed if I know, mate. The first v3.20(a) downloaded in a couple of seconds but the new v3.20(b) was a much slower download. Anyway, that is just an observation.

    Cheers.
     
  2. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    3,818
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    cyscon isn't available on AMO anymore: https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/cyscon-phishing-protection/
     
  3. Moose World

    Moose World Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2013
    Posts:
    565
    Location:
    U.S. Citizen
    Salutations/Greetings!

    Is v3.20 ready for download? And could you provide a link?
     
  4. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    7,507
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
  5. Moose World

    Moose World Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2013
    Posts:
    565
    Location:
    U.S. Citizen
    @Krusty13

    Thank you! Appreciated!:)
    Just over look! Post: #10171
    Going to go sleep, now...
     
    Last edited: May 21, 2016
  6. VoodooShield

    VoodooShield Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Posts:
    5,881
    Location:
    United States
    Just please keep this in mind... We will never be able to solve the malware crisis on our own, but we certainly can together.
     
  7. Djigi

    Djigi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2012
    Posts:
    554
    Location:
    Croatia
    All for one and one for all :thumb:
     
  8. guest

    guest Guest

    @VoodooShield
    Do you plan to release VoodooAI as stand alone mini-av? working on execution and being able to scan the whole computer?
    I think in this way we could help you to train VoodooAI by easily reporting FP's and malware not detected.

    Regarding the snapshot I think there could be an additional option to scan the whole computer and white-list everything like Secureaplus does.

    Regarding the autopilot mode I have notice that sometimes it slow down a lot (several seconds) the execution of file because these are being analyzed. Is this slow down due to VoodooAI or due to VT? if it's VT I think there should be an option to avoid VT or skip VT if the result takes more than X seconds to arrive.

    3.20 installed
     
    Last edited by a moderator: May 21, 2016
  9. Baldrick

    Baldrick Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2002
    Posts:
    2,541
    Location:
    South Wales, UK
    Cheers, Dan

    Installed and appears to be running nicely here...will give it some wellie over the weekend and report back anything that I find.

    Have a great weekend.

    Regards, Baldrick
     
  10. Antarctica

    Antarctica Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Posts:
    1,842
    Location:
    Canada
    Installed over 3.19, no problem so far. Thanks Dan:)
     
  11. Solarlynx

    Solarlynx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    Posts:
    1,994
    same here
     
  12. Nocturnalizer

    Nocturnalizer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2015
    Posts:
    42
    Location:
    London, UK
    So far so good with 3.20!
     
  13. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    7,507
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Is VS bug free yet? Hmm, nup. Dan needs a good sleep, me thinks.
     
  14. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    13,377
    Location:
    UK
    3.20 running fine so far on Win 7 after an over the top install this time.

    Download time for installer was reasonable :)
     
  15. Crystal_Lake_Camper

    Crystal_Lake_Camper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2016
    Posts:
    98
    dan I have some false positives to report ( still on version 3.19 ) it detected the newest installer of adfender as an exploit , furthermore it sees patch my pc.exe and the latest installer of skypeas threats too. will install v.3.20 as we speak ;)

    edit 1 : the download of the newest beta literally took no more than 5 seconds :p , I guess my isp just rocks :D


    edit 2 : Dan I will stick with VS all the way and will help in the devellopment of your fabulous product , wherever I can :)

    v 3.20 runs slick btw ( my registration details where perfectly preserved , this was not the case when I upgraded from v 3.18 to v 3.19 :) )
     
    Last edited: May 21, 2016
  16. Chuck57

    Chuck57 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2002
    Posts:
    1,565
    Location:
    New Mexico, USA
    LOL......Last night downloaded and installed the first version of 3.20 over 3.19. During the download VS popped up an alert on the download. Of course I allowed it and did the install when finished. Running smoothly.

    Should I reinstall using the second 3.20 or is this first version okay?
     
  17. simmersK00L

    simmersK00L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2013
    Posts:
    323
    Location:
    USA
    Well VSAi was released as a standalone somewhere back in time. I have version 0.80 beta, but I tried the link the other day and it was dead. I'm interested in this as VS_v3betas do not run on XP, and last I heard Dan was leaving XP users with 2.86, period. So, a standalone updated Ai that ran on XP would be nice :D
     
  18. Good suggestion. Dan what about a light version which could be used by average Joe/Jane.

    1. Do a system scan (snapshot) and collect software signatures of software installed in Windows (level 1) and programs file (level 2). Set all signed software from other locations as level 3 and unsigned software as level 4.

    Always allow software of level 1. Allow software of level 2 with AI level 2 of say 80, allow software of level 3 with AI score 90 and software of level 4 with AI score of 95 and higher (so AI score on safety increases with lower trust level of software). This version would not have any user settings and would always run in smart mode.

    I don't know about the AI engine, and trustlevel and AI safety scores are just example's, but you know what I intend to outline ( a fool proof VS shield for security digi fools).
     
  19. andi_cro

    andi_cro Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2013
    Posts:
    49
    Location:
    Croatia
    Very interesting text that explains a lot regarding to VT new policy...

    http://www.securityweek.com/virustotal-policy-change-rocks-anti-malware-industry

    I would like to see VoodooAi engine in VT very soon, bcz:
    "VirusTotal told SecurityWeek in an email response, "This update is designed to make the community stronger for everyone who participates and we are open to working with any contributor and any technology that adds value to the community. This does not reflect a change in the service that VirusTotal provides, but is a change to our policies that we believe will make our community healthier and stronger."

    Separately, a spokesperson explained, "Each security vendor that uses VirusTotal and has a publicly available anti-virus engine or URL malware-scanning engine will be required to list its scanner in the VirusTotal public interface as a condition to receiving access to the API account and distribution feed with antivirus results." So, quite simply, if you don't take part in the online malware scanning, you don't get to access the API."
     
    Last edited: May 21, 2016
  20. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,726
    Hmm, should I install 3.20 or is 3.10 considered more stable? Do I have to manually update the beta on every new release? If so, when will that change to automatic program updates?
     
  21. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,803
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    When it's released then it will auto update.
     
  22. VoodooShield

    VoodooShield Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Posts:
    5,881
    Location:
    United States
    Cool, thank you... yeah, this file was unknown to the blacklist, so VS showed a prompt.
     
  23. VoodooShield

    VoodooShield Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Posts:
    5,881
    Location:
    United States
    Yeah, VS works fine with or without UAC... we used to have to disable UAC for VS to function properly, but that has been a couple of years now. Yeah, once we are finished with VS 3.0 things will go back to normal. Thank you!
     
  24. VoodooShield

    VoodooShield Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Posts:
    5,881
    Location:
    United States
    Cool, sounds great, thank you. VoodooAi is already fully implemented into VS, and it is actually pretty darn accurate. I am in the process of retraining the machines, so in a few days it will be even more accurate.
     
  25. VoodooShield

    VoodooShield Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Posts:
    5,881
    Location:
    United States
    Cool, thank you Azure Phoenix, Krusty, Solarlynx, theshadow247, TheBear and TH!
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.