VoodooShield ?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by CloneRanger, Dec 7, 2011.

  1. Baldrick

    Baldrick Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2002
    Posts:
    2,614
    Location:
    South Wales, UK
    Hi Dan / Hi Vlad

    That sounds super cool...and I for one am very much looking forward to giving it a whirl...I suspect that it will be a USP for VS as many users do have debates as to whether to Allow or Block, etc. So NICE ONE!

    Regards, Baldrick
     
  2. Baldrick

    Baldrick Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2002
    Posts:
    2,614
    Location:
    South Wales, UK
    Installed and running tickety boo over here.

    Regards, Baldrick
     
  3. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    13,098
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Still having WSA issues in the Commandline area when I click on a link within an email to open the browser and it will not open until I put VS in Training mode, also I have Firefox and Cyberfox on D drive so does that matter and Firefox is default Browser so without the Custom Folders I can't whitelist Program Files on D drive.

    Daniel :)

    2015-10-22_15-07-35.png
     
  4. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    13,098
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Also just now Chrome got blocked by VS.

    Daniel

    2015-10-22_15-59-34.png

    2015-10-22_16-01-44.png
     
  5. VladimirM

    VladimirM Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2015
    Posts:
    153
    Location:
    Jerusalem, Israel
    That's weird. Can you send me the C:\Program Data\VoodooShield\DeveloperLog.log to vlad@voodooshield.com
     
  6. VladimirM

    VladimirM Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2015
    Posts:
    153
    Location:
    Jerusalem, Israel
    Fixed
     
  7. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    13,098
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Done! Also clicking on your link here VS blocked it from opening Outlook 2016 until I click allow.

    TIA,

    Daniel :)
     
  8. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    13,098
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Well I should of read this one first but logs sent anyways!

    Thanks,

    Daniel :)
     
  9. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    4,462
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    Question for @VladimirM
    I have a backup program (Bvckup 2) that recently seems to be stalling on very large files (full system images) and the dev asked me if I use 'any sort of drive aggregators (disk pooling), real-time drive monitors or file system scanners'. The problem started round about the time I installed VS 3 KMD version, so was wondering if VS now uses any of these? Don't really think it is VS, as the stalling issue occurs even with VS disabled, but just a shot in the dark ... :)
     
  10. VladimirM

    VladimirM Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2015
    Posts:
    153
    Location:
    Jerusalem, Israel
    Hi
    I saw now the issue when after clicking the prompt it just blocks the process. However it is not related to command lines. I fixed it, but I'm still not sure that it will solve the issue with command line. Could you try to reproduce it and send me the logs to vlad@voodooshield.com ? Log is under C:\Program Data\VoodooShield\DeveloperLog.log

    Thanks
     
  11. VladimirM

    VladimirM Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2015
    Posts:
    153
    Location:
    Jerusalem, Israel
    Yes, VS is kind of system scanner. It also may read files for getting their SHA256. In 3.03 I reduced the number of the file reading to the necessary minimum and there is also a task to improve VS performance when working with large files. Could you try to close VS and check if it is still stalling? When VS is shut down no file scanning is occurring.
     
  12. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    4,462
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    To be clear Vlad, by 'close' , do you mean right-click VS icon and exit, as opposed to 'disable'?
     
  13. VladimirM

    VladimirM Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2015
    Posts:
    153
    Location:
    Jerusalem, Israel
    Yes.
    When disabled VS may still monitor some processes for threat scanning.
     
  14. MrGump

    MrGump Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    Posts:
    406
    having same issue when opening IE, Webroot gets some kind of command line block. win 7 64bt
     
  15. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    13,098
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    A bit of info on WRusr.dll but can't share any details sorry.

    HTH,

    Daniel
     
  16. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    4,462
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    Still getting this problem in VS 3.03, in Smart Mode only ...
     
  17. VladimirM

    VladimirM Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2015
    Posts:
    153
    Location:
    Jerusalem, Israel
    There was still problem there. It should be fixed in the next release. Will be soon.
     
  18. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    4,462
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    Vlad - just to report back. Encountered the Bvckup 2 'stalling' problem again when copying a very large file (weekly 125GB full system image). Actually, it seems the copy does continue, but the progress bar stops ... Anyway, if I exit VoodooShield, and rerun the copy, all is normal. Also, since installing v3, my scheduled AOMEI backups have not been completing, but last night, with VS closed, this also worked. I know this is all circumstantial, but could it be that VS does have an issue with very large files? I do not encounter any problems with smaller differential backup files.
    Also one other question: Another issue which seems to have started around the advent of VS v3, is losing connections to Dropbox, which uses standard ports 80 and 443, and MBAM sync; could VS be playing here also? As I said, I have nothing to go on other than the timing of these issues starting, and was just wondering if there were possible compatibility issues with the migration of VS to using a KMD.
     
  19. VladimirM

    VladimirM Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2015
    Posts:
    153
    Location:
    Jerusalem, Israel
    It's weird.
    Actually VS may be affected by size of the executable but I cannot see how the backup file size can affect. Do you have the logs with command lines that used by those programs.
    VS doesn't monitor or block ports.
    If you can send the log to vlad@voodooshield.com then it could help to investigate it. I assume, that if after closing VS all work good, then probably VS does something wrong, so I have to check it.

    Thanks
     
  20. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    4,462
    Location:
    Under a bushel ...
    Thanks Vlad - next time it happens, will send the log file to see if there are any problematic command lines.
     
  21. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    18,799
    Location:
    UK
    Off topic posts removed.

    Let's keep on topic which is VoodooShield
     
  22. VladimirM

    VladimirM Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2015
    Posts:
    153
    Location:
    Jerusalem, Israel
    VoodooShield 3.04 Beta Release
    You can download it from https://voodooshield.com/Download/beta3/InstallVoodooShield.exe
    It's recommended to turn off or uninstall any old versions of VoodooShield prior to installing the new version or update by using the old version.

    System requirements:
    • Windows Vista sp1 and above (XP is not supported!)
    • .NET 2.0/3.5 and above
    What's new in VoodooShield 3.03 Beta:
    • Fix closing notification without prompt
    • Fix synproc issue
    • Fix exception on exit
    • Cleanups improvement on application exit


    Have a good day,
    Vladimir
     
  23. VladimirM

    VladimirM Developer

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2015
    Posts:
    153
    Location:
    Jerusalem, Israel
    VoodooShield 3.04 Beta Release - known issues
    • Windows 7 - VoodooShieldService.exe crashes on Windows restart. Impact - fills event log with crash events + crash dumps. Still under investigation
     
  24. Baldrick

    Baldrick Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2002
    Posts:
    2,614
    Location:
    South Wales, UK
    Well, all installed here under Win 10 64bit...and running very nicely so far. Any news as to when the Custom Folders feature will again be available?

    Tried to install using internal updater but that seemed to hang so uninstalled (without clearing the \programdata\voodooshield folder) & installed manually.

    Regards, Baldrick
     
  25. ghodgson

    ghodgson Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2003
    Posts:
    835
    Location:
    UK
    Hi Vlad,
    Thanks for keeping me up to date with this. Keeping my fingers crossed you can sort it.

    Gordon
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.