VoodooShield ?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by CloneRanger, Dec 7, 2011.

  1. silver0066

    silver0066 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Posts:
    989
    I just got several alerts resembling the attached Alert. When I try to block (I have no ideal if this is good or not?). I get the command line box if I press Allow or Block.

    What is going on? Does anyone have an idea if this is safe or not? What is the Command Lines error? Voodoo Alert.png Voodoo Alert 2.png

    Edit: I am using 2.23j
     
    Last edited: Feb 18, 2015
  2. VoodooShield

    VoodooShield Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Posts:
    5,881
    Location:
    United States
    Hey ichito or Miquell, can one of you guys please make a video of what happens when VS does not save the settings properly and send it to me or post it? I think that will help a lot. Thank you!
     
  3. VoodooShield

    VoodooShield Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Posts:
    5,881
    Location:
    United States
    Thank you CET. Yeah, anything we can do to simplify even more and to make all of the options perfectly clear would be great!
     
  4. VoodooShield

    VoodooShield Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Posts:
    5,881
    Location:
    United States
    This option was intended for admins who want to prevent users from disabling VS manually, after they set a password of course. Thank you!
     
  5. VoodooShield

    VoodooShield Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Posts:
    5,881
    Location:
    United States
  6. VoodooShield

    VoodooShield Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Posts:
    5,881
    Location:
    United States
    It is custom blocked FOLDERS, not custom blocked FILES. I could add blacklisting of individual files at some point. It will not be anytime soon though. VS was initially developed to block malware and viruses from web apps, not control the whole system. But it may not be a bad feature to add when I have time. Thank you!
     
  7. VoodooShield

    VoodooShield Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Posts:
    5,881
    Location:
    United States
    I am confused... did you change the name from VS to ES? ;). I actually like ES, but a lot of less advanced users would not understand the reference. Then again, VS doesn't make sense either ;).
     
  8. VoodooShield

    VoodooShield Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Posts:
    5,881
    Location:
    United States
    BTW, thank you guys for all of the nice comments! I would reply to each one individually, but that would be kinda silly. Anyway, thank you!
     
  9. VoodooShield

    VoodooShield Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Posts:
    5,881
    Location:
    United States
    It is a secret. ;). Basically, just the ones that are safe to allow.
     
  10. VoodooShield

    VoodooShield Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Posts:
    5,881
    Location:
    United States
    Cool, thank you for letting me know. It is Windows Update that is causing this error, it should be fixed in the next release, it should be an easy fix. BTW, do all of the command lines contain "tiworker.exe"? You should be able to delete all of the existing command lines, and it should be fixed in the next release. Thanks again!
     
  11. VoodooShield

    VoodooShield Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Posts:
    5,881
    Location:
    United States
    Cool, thank you, will do!
     
  12. VoodooShield

    VoodooShield Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Posts:
    5,881
    Location:
    United States
    Cool, thank you, I can change it... here is what I was thinking, please let me know what you think. Originally I was thinking about saying "ADD a lock to your computer", but then I was thinking that people would not understand what kind of lock it was. So then I changed it to "ADD a lock to your antivirus", and hopefully people will realize that their antivirus is not a lock. We can go either way, but please let me know what you think!
     
  13. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    13,044
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Looks Awesome Dano!

    Daniel :)
     
  14. Baldrick

    Baldrick Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2002
    Posts:
    2,592
    Location:
    South Wales, UK
    Hi Dan

    Very nice website...I much prefer it to the current/existing one...simple message, simple schema, easy to find out what is what...excellent. I await the launch with much anticipation.

    Regards, Baldrick
     
  15. VoodooShield

    VoodooShield Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Posts:
    5,881
    Location:
    United States
    Thank you TH and Baldrick!

    Dear friends from Poland, can you please try this version... I am hoping it will work. If it does not work on the first try, can you please delete the .dat files from the c:\programdata\voodooshield directory and try again?

    http://www.voodooshield.com/freeoffer/Install VoodooShield.2.23k beta.exe

    Also, Silver0066, the bug you reported should be fixed, assuming they were all tiworker.exe issues.

    Everyone... please feel free to upgrade to this version just to make sure there were no errors in the bug fixes!!!

    Thank you!
     
  16. Baldrick

    Baldrick Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2002
    Posts:
    2,592
    Location:
    South Wales, UK
    Hi Dan

    Upgrading now...thanks. Will look to advise back if I find anything untoward.

    Regards, Baldrick
     
  17. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,999
    Location:
    .
    Double click on box to add path. Be careful, files in any of the folders beneath these paths are AUTOMATICALLY BLOCKED

    Files in any if the folders are auto blocked mpcmdrun.exe is a file in c:\program files\windows defender... Folder
     
  18. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,999
    Location:
    .
    Your intended remains hidden by your users
     
  19. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,999
    Location:
    .
    I posted some time ago that I disable Left Click. Dan never told me the setting was for Admin after setting a password.
     
  20. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,999
    Location:
    .
    Safe is based upon ?
     
  21. VoodooShield

    VoodooShield Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Posts:
    5,881
    Location:
    United States
    Correct. Custom Allowed FOLDERS. Double click on box to add path. Anyway, that is why it is not working. We might add blacklisting of specific files at some point. But really, we are getting to the point that a lot of users believe that we are adding too many options, and I agree.
     
  22. VoodooShield

    VoodooShield Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Posts:
    5,881
    Location:
    United States
    Huh?
     
  23. VoodooShield

    VoodooShield Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Posts:
    5,881
    Location:
    United States
    Sorry, I did my best, but I did not understand your question. A lot of times it is difficult to understand the questions, so please be as clear as possible and I will do my best to address the issue.
     
  24. VoodooShield

    VoodooShield Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Posts:
    5,881
    Location:
    United States
    Whether or not a virus or malware can bypass VS or not.
     
  25. VoodooShield

    VoodooShield Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Posts:
    5,881
    Location:
    United States
    Cool, thank you!
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.