VoodooShield ?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by CloneRanger, Dec 7, 2011.

  1. Baldrick

    Baldrick Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2002
    Posts:
    2,586
    Location:
    South Wales, UK
    Hey there Daniel...have emailed you...:D
     
  2. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    8,911
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    What happens if I'm away from my computer/s and something tries to run and VS pops up asking to allow or deny? I assume the default is deny. Does that automatically blacklist it or if whatever runs again will I have the chance to block or deny?

    Edit: I guess the answer to that is, does the popup stay on the desktop until I return, or does VS act after so long without a response? And if so, how long does the popup last?

    I had an interesting experience last night when I plugged in an old USB flash drive and VS popped up. I blocked whatever that was and since there wasn't anything important on it I formatted the USB flash drive just in case. Maybe something was trying to get off the flash drive?

    Thanks.
     
    Last edited: Feb 7, 2015
  3. ghodgson

    ghodgson Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2003
    Posts:
    835
    Location:
    UK
    Hi Dan,
    Installed VS 2.23f beta over the top without any problem, but I have noticed this when waking the Pc up from sleep ..................... Blue VS shield and red taskbar icon o_O It did change to all blue after a few minutes.
    I have it set to always on.

    VS1.png

    Other than that all seems OK.

    Regards
    Gordon
     
  4. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,965
    Location:
    .
    Balloon notification fades after a few. Alert dialog remains waiting user action. At least that's how VS works by my settings.
     
    Last edited: Feb 7, 2015
  5. MrGump

    MrGump Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    Posts:
    406
    working great maybe even less resources



    seems to stutter a bit when loading for first time after reboot. Subsequent attempts to load the GUI after are very fast
     
    Last edited: Feb 7, 2015
  6. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    8,911
    Location:
    Among the gum trees
    Cool! That's what I wanted to know.

    Thanks. :thumb:
     
  7. Miquell

    Miquell Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2015
    Posts:
    32
    Location:
    Poland
    Hi Dan,

    VS 2.23f beta works flawless on my board supporting WSA :thumb:
    I haven't noticed any issues so far - except one - "Saving settings" on Polish version of Win8.1 64bit - (We have exchanged our thoughts about it via e-mail recently).

    Thanks and best wishes,

    Mike

    PS Triple Helix and Baldrick - Hi guys! :)
     
    Last edited: Feb 8, 2015
  8. Baldrick

    Baldrick Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2002
    Posts:
    2,586
    Location:
    South Wales, UK
    Hi Mike

    Glad that you have seen the light!
     
  9. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,975
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Anyone else using sandboxie with the newest beta? I'm getting this attempt to block on the emptying the sandbox on browser shut down. First time I've ever had any issue. "rmdir /s /q c:\sandbox\kjdemuth\__delete_firefox_01d044147dbccc09" I dont believe I did anything or changed any settings. Running Win 8.1 64 bit on Firefox updated. Also running WSA beta.
     
  10. Gillor

    Gillor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2013
    Posts:
    83
    Location:
    UK
    I am running Sandboxie with VS version 2.22 and also get this error message in Always On mode, not Smart mode.

    VoodooShield Alert.jpg
     
  11. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,965
    Location:
    .
    SBoxie and VS do not speak to each other. So, what ever work around will satisfy. VS works outside SBoxie. VS does not run through SBoxie. Dan commented...delete may have to be hard coded. SBoxie concerns... best to hear from Dan direct. Cheers
    FWIW ~ I added > c:\windows\system32\cmd.exe /c rmdir /s /q c:\sandbox\username\__delete_defaultbox_* < to Command Lines
     
    Last edited: Feb 10, 2015
  12. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,965
    Location:
    .
    FWIW ~ I added > c:\windows\system32\cmd.exe /c rmdir /s /q c:\sandbox\username\__delete_defaultbox_* < to Command Lines
     
    Last edited: Feb 10, 2015
  13. kjdemuth

    kjdemuth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    2,975
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    It was working fine with the last beta...for some reason with this last one I've been getting that pop up. Not sure what changed.
     
  14. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,965
    Location:
    .
    Had a few system needs to restart upon insert Flash drive. Any one see this behavior with 2.22f ....EDIT: 2.23f
     
    Last edited: Feb 9, 2015
  15. Cutting_Edgetech

    Cutting_Edgetech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Posts:
    5,623
    Location:
    USA
    Are you sure you are using 2.22f? I have 2.23f.
     
  16. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,965
    Location:
    .
    You are correct C_E ~ 2.23f ....blasted typo :isay:
     
  17. kardokristal

    kardokristal Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012
    Posts:
    1,091
    Location:
    Estonia
    Good job Dan! I really like it. :thumb:

    I'll try out latest version of VoodooShield in a few days (Windows 10, Build 9926 - 64-bit).

    PS. Just replied to your email. :)

    Regards.
    Kardo
     
  18. Spruce

    Spruce Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Posts:
    297
    When i change any settings or add web apps it's not saved even though I press "save & close", any idea??
     
  19. VoodooShield

    VoodooShield Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Posts:
    5,881
    Location:
    United States
    Well, in Settings / Advanced, you can have VS auto deactivate if you like, that way it can run and whitelist any scheduled tasks without a problem. And yes, if VS is not set to deny by default, the prompt should show when you wake your computer. If VS is set to deny by default, the balloon notification will most likely disappear by the time the computer is awake. I am not sure what to think about the USB pop up, but if you want to look in the User Log to see what it might have blocked, that should tell us what is going on. Thank you!
     
  20. VoodooShield

    VoodooShield Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Posts:
    5,881
    Location:
    United States
    Hey Gordon, thank you for letting me know. That is really odd, is it still doing that?
     
  21. VoodooShield

    VoodooShield Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Posts:
    5,881
    Location:
    United States
    Sounds great, thank you for letting me know! Yeah, the first boot can take a second or two to get VS going, but after that it should be fine!
     
  22. VoodooShield

    VoodooShield Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Posts:
    5,881
    Location:
    United States
    Yeah, that too, thank you for the help!
     
  23. VoodooShield

    VoodooShield Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Posts:
    5,881
    Location:
    United States
    Hey Miquell,

    Cool, thank you for letting me know! Yeah, I am not sure what is going on with the Polish version and not saving the settings, but it only seems to be an issue for the Polish version. Let me see what I can do. In the meantime, if you want to tell me what settings you want, I can save them and send them to you so you can import them. Thank you!
     
  24. VoodooShield

    VoodooShield Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Posts:
    5,881
    Location:
    United States
    Ooops, I think I know what is going on, sorry about that. I will fix this and release a new version in the next day or two. Thank you kjdemuth, Gillor and bjm_ for letting me know!
     
  25. VoodooShield

    VoodooShield Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Posts:
    5,881
    Location:
    United States
    Hmmm, hopefully you are still not having this issue, but if you are, please let me know. Thank you!
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.