VoodooShield ?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by CloneRanger, Dec 7, 2011.

  1. trott3r

    trott3r Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Posts:
    1,272
    Location:
    UK
    Glasswire network monitor v1.0.30 does not launch when its setup file is executed.
    The blue sheild just blinks.
    Turning voodoo shield to off the program installs correctly.
     
  2. fs2com

    fs2com Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2014
    Posts:
    118
    Can't wait to try it Dan...
    Anyway I just found out my VS shield doesn't Enable/Disable when I left click on them...
    and I just curious about Web Apps setting... could you explain the toggle in smart mode function?
     
  3. Gillor

    Gillor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2013
    Posts:
    84
    Location:
    UK
    I downloaded VoodooShield a couple of days ago (I seem to have installed the free version rather than the Pro version somehow) to try out on an old XP machine and I have to say that so far I am well impressed.

    I ran it straight "out of the box" in the OFF mode for a couple of hours. It has proved to be unobtrusive and simply gets on with the job, blocking every piece of malware thrown at it and, apart from a couple of false positives, has performed faultlessly.

    However I am still trying to get to grips with the settings but I can’t seem to find a user manual. I am pretty certain that this must have been covered somewhere in this forum and if so apologies, but could someone either point me to the appropriate posts or explain precisely the function of the different modes?

    “Off” and “Always On” seem pretty self-explanatory but why/when would you use “Smart” and “Training” modes?

    Also if I accidentally whitelist a function which should have been blocked how do I edit the whitelist?
     
  4. taleblou

    taleblou Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Posts:
    1,344
    well I tried voodooshield too but the logo gadget being present on the screen ~ Snipped as per TOS ~ me off and I uninstalled it. I wish the option to remove the gadget logo from the desktop was present on the free version. I like to keep my desktop clean from useless icons.

    I think voodooshield should enable the option of hiding the gadget icon in the free version.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 13, 2014
  5. Cutting_Edgetech

    Cutting_Edgetech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Posts:
    5,653
    Location:
    USA
    Training Mode is used to learn the applications you have installed on your machine so they are added to the whitelist. Anything added to the whitelist will be allowed to run from then on. Smart Mode detects when a web facing application launches, and turns on VS's protection automatically. Web facing applications are application that the user uses to access the internet that could make them vulnerable to infection. Applications that should enable VS's protection are Web Browsers, Mail Clients, Instant Messengers, Media Players, P2P Clients (torrent clients, emule etc.), Adobe Reader, Adobe Flash, Java, etc.. I hope that gives you an ideal of the applications that should cause VS to enable it's protection in Smart Mode. VS will not have all browsers, mail clients, instant messengers, P2P clients on it's list by default. I think the developer Dan has added most of the common web facing apps to the default list. If you use any web applications that do not cause VS to enable it's protection in Smart Mode then you can add them manually in the settings by going to the Webb Apps tab, and selecting the application from the list. The application needs to be running though so it will appear in the list. I think you have to select save changes, and close for the changes to take effect after selecting the application. I can't remember exactly, and I don't have VS handy to look at. If you find any applications that do no cause VS to enable it's protection in Smart Mode that you believe should be on the list by default then just let Dan the developer know by listing them in a post here in this thread.
     
  6. VoodooShield

    VoodooShield Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Posts:
    5,881
    Location:
    United States
    Cool, thank you for letting me know. I will use this to test 2.14 beta... it is probably one of the 4-5 minor bugs, but either way we will fix it. Thank you!
     
  7. VoodooShield

    VoodooShield Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Posts:
    5,881
    Location:
    United States
    Sounds great! Well, in Smart Mode, VS will not toggle to ON if you click on it and no web apps are running. Is that what you mean?

    The Web Apps tab just lets users add web browsers, email clients, etc to the list of web apps that VS toggles with, just in case they use a lesser known browser or web app.

    Smart Mode automatically toggle VS from ON to OFF when a web app is running. The idea being that your computer should be locked if a web app is running. I hope that makes sense, but if not, please let me know!
     
  8. VoodooShield

    VoodooShield Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Posts:
    5,881
    Location:
    United States
    Cool, thank you for letting me know! It looks like CET already answered your questions (thank you CET), but if you have any other questions, please let us know! Also, if you do not have a Pro license, just email me at support@voodooshield.com and I will set that up for you. BTW, I have not gotten around to writing an owners manual, but I hope to soon!
     
  9. VoodooShield

    VoodooShield Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Posts:
    5,881
    Location:
    United States
    Please email me at support@voodooshield.com and I will set up a free Pro account for you. Obviously we have to limit the free version in some ways, otherwise we might as well not even have a Pro version. But we MIGHT include that feature in the free version at some point. Thank you!
     
  10. Gillor

    Gillor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2013
    Posts:
    84
    Location:
    UK
    Thanks Cutting Edgetech for the explanation.Sorry to be obtuse but let me see if I have grasped the concept correctly............

    Disabled Protection - VS is completely disabled

    Always On – computer is locked and fully protected against all programmes software not already whitelisted

    OFF shield – Whilst this shield is displayed the computer is not being actively protected but VS is enabled, or is Training mode

    ON shield – VS is active against either web facing applications in Smart mode, or all non-whitelisted applications in Always On mode

    Smart ModeOff shield is displayed but when a web facing application is detected VS kicks in and displays the On shield. Closing the web facing application disables VS protection and the Off shield is displayed

    Training Mode – VS is learning installed applications. The Off shield is displayed and the computer is not protected at all in this mode.

    At the moment I am testing VS Free on an XP machine so does this mean that I am unable to edit/access the whitelist or Webb Apps tab?
     
  11. WildByDesign

    WildByDesign Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2013
    Posts:
    2,587
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    I just wanted to add that with the OFF shield and Smart Mode, user profile directories are still protected. Meaning that if malware tries to run from Temp folder, Downloads folder, etc. VS will still block the malware from executing.

    And to add to the Disabled Protection part, that is best for when you install new (trusted) software because then VS wont get in the way and that is the mode where VS is truly Off. Then you would want to go into Training Mode after which will then whitelist the new programs executable(s). Once all is running good you can switch back to ON or Smart Mode.

    EDIT: I agree with what other's have mentioned previously, a good PDF user manual would be a great idea at some point for sure.
     
  12. taleblou

    taleblou Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Posts:
    1,344
    I understand, but having gadget off/on switch should not be used as a difference between pro and free. Perhaps you can add other features to pro version, but gadget is nothing special to have to be used in the free vs pro version. No other software that I know uses gadget as a option between versions.
     
  13. taleblou

    taleblou Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Posts:
    1,344
    e-mail send to you and thank you.
     
  14. Cutting_Edgetech

    Cutting_Edgetech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Posts:
    5,653
    Location:
    USA
    No problem!
     
  15. Cutting_Edgetech

    Cutting_Edgetech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Posts:
    5,653
    Location:
    USA
    Is the new developer going to be adding a feature that allows the user to define which security certificates they want to trust instead of trusting them all? I understand that is part of the installation feature, but it's more secure to only add the certificates being used by applications on one's machine. It's getting more, and more dangerous to trust security certificates. I think all the latest Ransomware is signed.
     
  16. Gillor

    Gillor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2013
    Posts:
    84
    Location:
    UK
    Thanks I have sent you an email.

    Is there a comparison anywhere showing the difference in features between the Free and Pro versions?
     
  17. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    6,807
  18. Gillor

    Gillor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2013
    Posts:
    84
    Location:
    UK
  19. l3l312

    l3l312 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2014
    Posts:
    22
    I had to go back to a previous restore point due to the fact I was getting double icon notifications in taskbar. This time however, deleting all files from ProgramData folder did not do the trick, and in doing so bye bye went my settings file which had my registration. Now when I try to register, I get a prompt that the VS servers are down. They've been down for a while. Is there a way to register my copy other than through the right click menu? Thanks in advance,

    l3l312
     
  20. _Tempus_

    _Tempus_ Guest

    Hello Woodoshield

    I am new to Woodooshield and is using the free version. I have been using voodooshield for a week, before I released it on my real system . I most say that I am impressed :thumb:. I dont see any lag when using my browser (IE11), using VS. in smart mode. Just two questions please; does it autoupdate or do I have to do a manually check now and then. Does the cloud using Herdprotect to check files ? And btw. it could also be nice that your website was more clear in the difference between free and pro version (I know the answer but still it would be nice).
     
  21. Cutting_Edgetech

    Cutting_Edgetech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Posts:
    5,653
    Location:
    USA
    Hi Tempus. I'm not the developer of VoodooShield, but I can partially answer one of your questions. The developer should respond soon. The reason the website has not been updated to show the difference in the free, and pro version is because the developer has not fully decided which features will be only offered in the pro version. Also more features are currently being added to VS. I think the developer will respond to your question soon.
     
    Last edited: Nov 16, 2014
  22. VoodooShield

    VoodooShield Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Posts:
    5,881
    Location:
    United States
    Hey, sorry I have been away, but I made TONS of progress on the new beta! The 4-5 bugs from the last version should be fixed and I added a couple of small new features. I might have to tweak the fullscreen hiding of the shield feature a little, please let me know what you think. We also now have a False Positive button, it is a tiny button at the bottom right of the prompt when a threat is detected.

    Most importantly, I made this little change, and it allowed me to remove tons of old code and really clean things up, so it should be running perfectly, if not, please let me know!

    The new developer helped some, although he just found out that he has a baby on the way, so he will not be spending as much time on VS as we had hoped, but we are in great shape!

    I will reply to the posts above, I am a little behind, sorry about that... but I probably will not be able to get to it until tomorrow. If there are any bugs that are reported, I bet you they are fixed (not betting an iPad mini though ;)). So if you have reported a bug, please try the new version and it should be fixed!

    http://www.voodooshield.com/freeoffer/Install VoodooShield.2.13 beta.exe
     
  23. VoodooShield

    VoodooShield Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Posts:
    5,881
    Location:
    United States
    BTW, you can install over the top, or you can uninstall and reboot. Either way should work fine, but please let me know if you find out otherwise ;).
     
  24. l3l312

    l3l312 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2014
    Posts:
    22
    Installed new beta ver 2.13. Same issue, can't register. VS servers are down. I was registered before, I don't know what's going on. I also went to voodooshield.com and tried loging in to my account, it says my email doesn't exist. I registered Nov 11th and had access to pro settings. This is driving me nuts. Obi DAN Kenobi, you're my only hope! haha

    If you look at the DeveloperLog.log from post #5021 which I posted a few days ago (page 201), you can see I was registered.

    l3l312
     
    Last edited: Nov 17, 2014
  25. MrGump

    MrGump Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    Posts:
    406
    2.13 working great.Seems snappier :)

    no problem updating white-list or checking it on VS site
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.