VoodooShield ?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by CloneRanger, Dec 7, 2011.

  1. VoodooShield

    VoodooShield Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Posts:
    5,881
    Location:
    United States
    Cool, thank you. I hate to tell you this, but unfortunately Windows XP will have this issue until we can reliably get the command lines of the rundll blocks. It really does not hurt anything, it just shows up as blocked in the log and might display a balloon. I am hoping the new guy can figure this out quickly.
     
  2. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    5,004
    Not a worry!... Those were triggered when plugged in a USB stick. ;)
     
  3. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    5,004
    ...and this was it. :)

    ScreenShot_VS_Block Usb_01.gif
     
  4. VoodooShield

    VoodooShield Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Posts:
    5,881
    Location:
    United States
    Well, I think that CE's idea to toggle VS with the USB Stick, so it is his fault ;). hehehe
    Hmmm, it did not work after you clicked Allow? I am sure the new guy can figure something out!
     
  5. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    5,004
    Of course it worked! I clicked allow. ;)

    P.S. CE's ?
     
  6. ghodgson

    ghodgson Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2003
    Posts:
    835
    Location:
    UK
    Hi Dan,
    VS blocked my portable EEK yesterday because I run it from user space, not a problem as I whitelisted it after, But the 'File blocked' bubble disappeared before I could click on it, Is there anyway to adjust the length of time the bubble stays around or do I have to learn to be a bit quicker. :)

    Thanks
    Gordon
     
  7. Cutting_Edgetech

    Cutting_Edgetech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Posts:
    5,656
    Location:
    USA
    I believe this is the link I used to download Kaspersky Security Suite from http://www.kaspersky.com/free-trials/internet-security
     
  8. VoodooShield

    VoodooShield Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Posts:
    5,881
    Location:
    United States
    Yeah, I agree, I have been looking for a way to increase the balloon display time, but for some reason we have not been able to adjust this yet. Hopefully the new developer can figure this out ;).
     
  9. VoodooShield

    VoodooShield Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Posts:
    5,881
    Location:
    United States
    VS 2.0 pcmag review. Obviously I am extremely happy with the review, and 4 stars was spot on in my opinion... we still have some work to do, and hopefully the new developer can take VS 3.0 to the next level.

    http://www.pcmag.com/article2/0,2817,2470799,00.asp

    Edit: BTW, thank you for all of your help, especially with the beta testing, it made a HUGE difference! Have a great weekend, GO ROYALS ;).

    Edit: Go Kansas City Royals baseball team ;).
     
    Last edited: Oct 24, 2014
  10. fs2com

    fs2com Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2014
    Posts:
    118
    Great review... congrats... :thumb:
     
  11. djg05

    djg05 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2005
    Posts:
    1,563
    Congratulations Dan on a good review - let's hope it brings in the right results.
     
  12. djg05

    djg05 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2005
    Posts:
    1,563
    Just to spoilt the party Dan, I am still getting rundll errors

    "
    24/10/2014 19:24:42Blockedrundll32.exec:\windows\system32\rundll32.exe54d798c2e2804dcdb84e9650ea4a032c669b10c586b396d5505f16235d83882c
    "

    This is in Win 8.1/64 updated on a restored clean image and fresh install of 2.12

    I am also getting instances of VS not loading correctly. The background process runs but it is not effective in controlling anything. It seems to happen on the first start up of the day but not guaranteed.
     
  13. VoodooShield

    VoodooShield Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Posts:
    5,881
    Location:
    United States
    Thank you f2scom and djg05!
     
  14. VoodooShield

    VoodooShield Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Posts:
    5,881
    Location:
    United States
    No problem, thank you for letting me know! I am sure we have a few small bugs to work out!

    VS will block rundll32.exe from time to time, this is normal. Depending on what VS blocked, it should display a balloon notification with the command line from the rundll32.exe block, and ask you to block or allow this command line.

    On the second issue you are experiencing, can you please give me an example of what you mean so I can try to reproduce this issue on my machine? Thank you!
     
  15. djg05

    djg05 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2005
    Posts:
    1,563
    I did not notice the calling program. I have found that since unchecking "Deny by Default" it is easier to run the m/c since I am able to see every VS query.

    On the non loading, this is a bit random and difficult to reproduce. It last happened yesterday when I did a clean install and on reboot only part of VS loaded. I will try and monitor if/when it happens again.
     
  16. ghodgson

    ghodgson Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2003
    Posts:
    835
    Location:
    UK
    Many thanks and congratulations on the good review.

    Gordon
     
  17. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    13,098
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Awesome review it would of been better if they knew what us Beta Testers have been doing and we know how much more how VS works and Protects! Go Kansas City Royals Go! 2 games to 1 now! :)

    Daniel :)
     
  18. 59er

    59er Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2014
    Posts:
    46
    Location:
    Oregon
    Attempting to install on a pc with Windows XP SP3. I have .Net Framework 4, why is 3.5 needed?
    I ok'd the 3.5 install. .NET 3.5 SP1 installed as well as .NET 2.0 SP2 and .NET 3.0 SP2. Nothing opens when clicking Voodoo icon.
    Task manager says Voodoo is running but Icon does not show 'ON', just VS. Will let run, if no change after awhile, will attempt reinstall.
     
  19. VoodooShield

    VoodooShield Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Posts:
    5,881
    Location:
    United States
    Cool, thank you, please let me know.
     
  20. VoodooShield

    VoodooShield Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Posts:
    5,881
    Location:
    United States
    Thank you Gordon and TH!!! Yeah, I know what you mean, sorry that reviews do not give the beta testers any credit. But you know that I know you guys were a tremendous help, right? Thanks again for everything you guys have done!
     
  21. VoodooShield

    VoodooShield Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Posts:
    5,881
    Location:
    United States
    Thank you for letting me know! .net 3.5 is necessary because that is the framework that the gui is coded in. I always thought that if you already had .net 4 installed, that all previous versions of .net would already be installed as well... but maybe that only applies to .net 3.5.

    We chose 3.5 because it is baked in to Windows 7, and for Windows 8, it just requires an activation / update of the .net 3.5. At some point we will be offering other .net versions, or get away from .net altogether. As far as XP is concerned, .net was not that great, and it had a lot of problems under XP. If you continue to have issues, I will do my best to resolve them, but we all have to realize that we are working on a 12-13 year old OS, and at some point we have to abandon it. Let me ask you this... is the VoodooShieldService running? If not, please try to start it. If that fixed it, you can set the service to Automatic startup (this only applies to XP, all other OS's are already set to automatic). So please try that and let me know what happens. Thank you!
     
  22. VoodooShield

    VoodooShield Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2011
    Posts:
    5,881
    Location:
    United States
    I might regret saying this, and I might get into some trouble of some kind, hehehe. But you only live once, right? ;). Besides, you guys know me, I love doing and saying goofy stuff (you have to make it fun). The day that VS is no longer fun for me is the day that I stop working on it ;).

    Anyway... As TH mentioned, the Royals are ahead in the World Series 2-1. If the Royals end up winning the World Series, then anyone who has posted up to this post (#4822) on this thread will receive a lifetime license for VoodooShield Pro ;). Well, I will add like 100 years to your subscription, I do not think we can make it technically infinite. And if some company ends up acquiring VS or something someday, then I will do whatever I can to make sure the license is honored.

    So GO ROYALS!!! Have a great weekend, the game starts in a little over an hour, so I will not be around ;).

    Thanks again for all of your help, you guys made a HUGE difference in the review by finding and reporting bugs, and working with me to make VS all that it can be.
     
  23. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    13,098
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    That's not what I was getting at! We know more then Neil because of all the Work and Testing we have done for you and VS! :) Inside out per say!
     
  24. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    5,004
    Dan,

    I don't follow baseball...It is not the national sport in Australia. When you talk about the Royals, I assume you are talking about the Kansas City Royals. :)

    I wish you good luck, and hope you get your wish with the Royals.
     
  25. 59er

    59er Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2014
    Posts:
    46
    Location:
    Oregon


    Update: Uninstalled, reinstalled. No change. VoodooShieldService is not running. Tried to start and received a 'Windows Service Start Failure' message. Will play some more and keep posted.
    Note: I have Online Armor Firewall (all HIPS off), Avast, and WinPatrol. All prompts given an ok for Voodoo.

    Update2: When shutting down (now and before first uninstall) receive message: ' Voodoo did not close properly. If you continue to see this error, uninstall, reboot and reinstall.....
    The type initializes for ' (2 square boxes inserted here) ' threw an exception.'
    Also, a white box that indicates VS is Saving Settings appears at the same time.
     
    Last edited: Oct 25, 2014
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.