Vmware Question?

Discussion in 'sandboxing & virtualization' started by Cutting_Edgetech, Dec 9, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Cutting_Edgetech

Cutting_Edgetech Registered Member

I've been using Vmware for the past 2 years for beta testing, but I've done very little malware testing. I have the concern that the guest OS will allow cross contamination of the host OS. What are the chances of this happening? Are there steps that need to be taken to prevent this? Do I need to adjusting any settings of VMware to prevent cross contamination? I'm using the latest version of VMware Workstation. I use Shadow User on XP Pro 32 bit for beta testing because it allows saving changes to the shadow after reboot, but I can't use Shadow User on W7. I'm using W7 64 bit as the host OS.

2. Meriadoc

Meriadoc Registered Member

Really next to nil, so really it could happen - you can do anything with enough motivation, time, money - but more likely a bug, PoC or documented vulnerability (the three may seem the same but are inherently different) would be fixed without it ever harming you. Also in the first place the problem needs to be successfully exploited to do any harm.

Personally I don't worry about it but then I do 'work' on a different machine and make backups. I'm not sure with latest version and 7 but can you run vmware with reduced privileges? Is there a free shadow app for Windows7?

Last edited: Dec 10, 2010
  3. Searching_ _ _

Searching_ _ _ Registered Member

In my reading I found hypervisors were vulnerable to attacks but much of the info is pre 2008 and most is PoC.
    Several companies have developed hypervisor protections, IBM - sHype, Hypersafe (Researchers at NCSU).
    sHype
    "With secure booting, preventing VMMs from being subverted." Jiang NCSU

There must be enough concern for development of these protections.