Visual bookmarks in Opera 25 for computers

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by pegas, Oct 15, 2014.

  1. pegas

    pegas Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Posts:
    2,016
    Today, we introduce a new feature to Opera. It’s bookmarks, but with a twist.

    Here’s the twist: Visual bookmarksBookmarks in other browsers save website addresses – you can organize them in folders, and you can edit the titles. That’s easy. But, making it look good too is what we do at Opera. And, this is how it looks:

    http://www-static.opera.com/blogs/multi/wp-content/uploads/sites/3/2014/10/opera-bookmarks.png

    We hope you are as excited as we are with the new visual bookmarks in Opera for Windows and Mac. Thanks to everyone who tried the bookmarks in the beta channel and gave us their feedback. And, please remember that Opera for Linux is available in a beta version.

    Download Opera 25:
    Opera 25 for Windows
    Opera 25 for Mac
    Opera beta 25 for Linux

    You can also take a look at the Opera 25 changelog.
     
  2. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    8,026
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    I will check it out, but I'm not expecting much, the last time it could not even run on my Win XP SP2 machine. That is the beauty of Opera Presto, it runs on both old and new machines. And BTW, I'm not a fan of visual bookmarks.
     
  3. MisterB

    MisterB Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2013
    Posts:
    1,103
    Location:
    Southern Rocky Mountains USA
  4. BoerenkoolMetWorst

    BoerenkoolMetWorst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,764
    Location:
    Outer space
    Just beat me to it :D
    The changelog is very detailed btw, here is a more clear overview of changes since v24:

    http://www.opera.com/docs/changelogs/unified/2500/
     
  5. MisterB

    MisterB Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2013
    Posts:
    1,103
    Location:
    Southern Rocky Mountains USA
    I haven't found any way to import bookmarks yet. The bookmark bar is an improvement.
     
  6. Jadda

    Jadda Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Posts:
    422
    Import feature for bookmarks will arrive in O26. It's currently in developer channel.
     
  7. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    8,026
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    LOL, as expected I had trouble running it via Sandboxie. At first it refused to connect to the internet, after restart, it refused to run. It's also way too heavy for an old machine. Even though it might have some potential on faster machines, I think Opera Blink is crap. I would not be surprised if in 5 years I will still be using Opera Presto v11/12. :)
     
  8. Remouald

    Remouald Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    Posts:
    99
    The new Sandboxie 4.14 fixed that for me.
     
  9. Mayahana

    Mayahana Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2014
    Posts:
    2,220
    Because XP is no longer supported, it's end of life and nobody should be running it anymore. Don't expect ANYTHING to run on XP anymore, and if it does run be thankful. We no longer support XP machines in the MSP, regardless of how much they want to pay us. It's a liability for us to even try to secure and support it, and to ensure software even operates on it anymore.
     
  10. MisterB

    MisterB Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2013
    Posts:
    1,103
    Location:
    Southern Rocky Mountains USA
    I have Opera Blink working fine in XP in both real machines and VMs. Xp still is useful to those of us with working XP machines or functional XP VMs. There must be some other reason it is not working. The OS itself is compatible with Opera Blink.

    Yeah, I agree that Blink is no substitute for Opera Presto. Presto is a total power browser that is unique. Blink is just another chromium browser. I like the simplicity of its installation and that it can easily be cloned without reinstalling. That is its main virtue for me but I just test it occasionally at present. It has no regular place in the array of browsers that I use like Presto and the Mozilla browsers.
     
  11. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    8,026
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Yes it might be SBIE that's the problem.

    I will check it out.
     
  12. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    8,026
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Yes same over here, even on fast machines I still prefer Opera Presto. But I do hope that Opera Blink will someday become just as (or almost as) good as Opera v12. Because the older that Presto gets, the more websites will not work anymore, plus I also like the more advanced extensions in Opera Blink.
     
  13. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    8,026
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Well it should be able to run on Win XP. In fact, almost all of my favorite software (about 50 apps) are still compatible with Win XP.

    Comment directed to Opera 25: In general, this is exactly the problem with software developers nowadays. They think: "Machines are faster now so let's design crappy bloated software".

    I'm sorry but I think it's ridiculous that Opera 25 uses 400MB of RAM without even any websites running. Compared to 60 MB used by Opera v11. It also takes 10 seconds or longer to start up. I'm sorry but this is not what I call innovation. :thumbd:
     
  14. BoerenkoolMetWorst

    BoerenkoolMetWorst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,764
    Location:
    Outer space
    There is a chance that the issue is not with Windows XP, but with SP2. Quite a lot of software that supports XP only supports XP SP3.
    XP SP2 support ended long before the XP SP3 support this year, SP2's ended 4 years ago(!).
     
  15. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    8,026
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    The problem is probably caused by Sandboxie. I will install it again, but this time outside the sandbox.
     
Loading...