Vista Updates Not Configuring

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by DVD+R, Aug 9, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. DVD+R

    DVD+R Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Posts:
    1,979
    Location:
    The Antipodes
    Right well, this has really ~Snip~ :mad: each time I download Windows updates it informs me after an eternity of configuring, that "Updates did not configure correctly -Reverting changes please do not turn of your Computer" :gack: . I know this isnt new, but has anyone here figured out a way to actually get the damn updates to install o_O
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 11, 2009
  2. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
    Last edited: Aug 11, 2009
  3. Franklin

    Franklin Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2,517
    Location:
    West Aussie
    Any help below?
    MS Link
     
  4. DVD+R

    DVD+R Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Posts:
    1,979
    Location:
    The Antipodes
    not helping unfortunately, it says update does not apply to your system, neither does the x64 version
     
  5. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4,215
    Do you think this is something needed even if one hasn't got any problems?
     
  6. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
    Last edited: Aug 11, 2009
  7. DVD+R

    DVD+R Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Posts:
    1,979
    Location:
    The Antipodes
    looks like I'm shafted then, as it says if you already are running SP1 you dont need the update, so be the reason I cant install any of these fixes, ("WAKE UP! MICROSOFT!") ~Snip~o_O Back to XP I suppose, cause I wont! install windows 7 EVER! its just a NASTY cheap OS Vista Downgrade.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 11, 2009
  8. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
    Last edited: Aug 11, 2009
  9. DVD+R

    DVD+R Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Posts:
    1,979
    Location:
    The Antipodes
    Well Good God Above! :blink: I just spent over 90 minutes on the phone to Microsoft Tech support to address this issue, and guess what :ninja: Thay Havent got a Damn Clue how to fix it :blink: thanks god its a free service now, previously they asked for credit card before they provided any help :gack: Currently Microfoft have to fixes to readily resolve the update issue, However what they have neglected to inform you is....That if you already have SP1 then these updates will serve you no purpose as they are only for systems prior to SP1 and you wont be able to install them.
     
    Last edited: Aug 14, 2009
  10. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
    On top'a this, belly-ach'in aside - you ever try Omo's suggestion?
     
  11. DVD+R

    DVD+R Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Posts:
    1,979
    Location:
    The Antipodes

    figured out a resolve myself, after fresh installing windows, before I installed the ethernet driver I changed updates to download but let me decide when to install, so it wouldnt download and install a whole heap Automatically.

    Then I downloaded and installed the Stand Alone Vista SP2 and installed it, after which everything worked fine, Apparently theres a new Update package included in SP2 which resolves the issue :thumb:
     
  12. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
    Progress! You sound far more compliant now that everything's back in order. And reinstall? Pretty much the rest of what was out there.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.