Vista theme ruined my icon

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by sohailakmal, Jun 15, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. sohailakmal

sohailakmal Registered Member

I recently installed a vista theme using the vista transformation pack 4. It wasnt anything impressive, but it did leave my C: Drive (Main Drive) iconless. I was just wondering if there is any way to retrieve the icon of the drive because its just a white piece of paper with a window drawn on it. Any help would be appreciated because im not good with icons.
    Thanks

2. MojoWorkin

MojoWorkin Registered Member

It's been a while since I had standard WinXP icons, so let me try to remember.
    I use Icon Packager, which has a Rebuild Icon Cache choice, so it's ez for me.
    I believe, you can right click an empty space on your Desktop,
    Choose: Properties, and click Desktop Tab, then click: Customize Desktop.
    There you have a button to Restore Default.
    If this doesn't work, post again, and we'll investigate further.

3. Johnny123

Johnny123 Registered Member

You could download TweakUI from Microsoft's site for XP PowerToys. This has an option to repair icons. If you want to try something before you do that, right click your desktop and choose Properties>Appearance and advanced. In the drop-down box select Icon, and then change the size of the icons. For example, if your icons are 32 pixel make them 30 pixel. Then of course click ok, apply, etc. This will cause Windows to rebuild the icon cache. If it works, you can then change them back to the original size.

4. Uguel707

Uguel707 Graphic Artist

To Retore the Theme

If you are restoring to default Windows XP theme, you might try "Right-click desktop > Properties > Themes tab > select Windows XP in the Theme drop-down list > click "Apply".This will restore the theme to the control of the native "themes service" in Windows XP.

Attached Files:

5. Uguel707

Uguel707 Graphic Artist