Vista SP2 - Red Alert is Back :(

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by nrms, Jun 10, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. nrms

    nrms Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2008
    Posts:
    72
    Only this time its:

    Maximum Protection is not Ensured.

    Analysis of Application Protocols will not function.
    An Error occurred while starting services. Analysis of application protocols (POP3, HTTP) will not function.

    This is using the latest 4.0.437.

    Vista Windows Update downloaded & installed a whole raft of security updates yesterday (June patches) - could this have something to do with NOD32 being broken again?

    NigelS
     
  2. m00nbl00d

    m00nbl00d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Posts:
    6,623
    Have you tried reinstalled NOD?
     
  3. nrms

    nrms Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2008
    Posts:
    72
    Yeah, it was clean installed just a few days ago, up until then I had not been using NOD32 at all pending a fix of the Real-Time file protection problem. When the fix for that arrived I clean installed 4.0.437 and everything was just fine until today when this new red alert turns up.

    FWIW, a cold reboot fixed it again for now, but I don't have confidence that it won't show up again.

    Anyone else seeing this new problem? Particularly after the June security updates have been installed?

    NigelS
     
  4. hclarkjr

    hclarkjr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2007
    Posts:
    66
    i downloaded the updates today and restarted fine with no trouble at all
     
  5. nfgxon

    nfgxon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2003
    Posts:
    33
    Location:
    Hastings
    same here, no problem whatsoever since SP2 and the udates yesterday. Vista x64
     
  6. Trapster

    Trapster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    Posts:
    13
    Location:
    Liverpool UK
    Try version 3, it works! After all the problems I experienced with version 4 (437); eset's response was to tell me to either uninstall SP2 to apply their poxy fix then to re-install SP2, or revert back to version 3. The fix sounded like a rushed bodge job to me so i opted to revert back to version 3 instead. Everything has been fine since going back to version 3, including with SP2 and the 17 or 18 microsoft updates installed today. Until eset finally get around to making a new bug free of version 4, I'll stick to version 3.
     
  7. MaTrIx2k2

    MaTrIx2k2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2009
    Posts:
    2
    No problems here, I've tested under x86 and x64, maybe it's another kind of error
     
  8. Supersnake

    Supersnake Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2003
    Posts:
    121
    Had the following sequential events.

    1. Booted up my shut down computer and got the red icon with the same message as OP.
    2. I then restarted my computer and the red icon was replaced with a green icon.
    3. I then shut down my computer, then booted up and got the red icon again.
    4. I then restarted my computer and the red icon was replaced with a green icon.
    5. I then shutdown my computer and booted up and the green icon remained

    Am all confused why this is going on.
    Vista Ultra SP2 32-bit
    NOD 4.0.437
     
    Last edited: Jun 11, 2009
  9. miki69

    miki69 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Posts:
    133
    Location:
    Vienna, Austria
    Last edited: Jun 11, 2009
  10. nrms

    nrms Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2008
    Posts:
    72
    OK, I accept its not related to Vista SP2 just a coincidence that I never saw it once under SP1 (nearly a year) before installing SP2. Anyway, not real worried now, as from my testing there are no problems like this under Windows 7RC1. And for the record, I like NOD32 v4 better than v3.

    Thanks all
    NigelS
     
  11. miki69

    miki69 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Posts:
    133
    Location:
    Vienna, Austria
    That's why they call it ghost problems, some users may experience problems others not, so I believe this makes quite a headache for developers to replicate problem, still they should find a way to resolve it.

    Cheers,
    Miki
     
  12. Mister Natural

    Mister Natural Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Posts:
    225
    Location:
    3rd density St. Louis
    I booted my home pc last night and got the red eye, but it turns out it was simply telling me windows updates were available. AV was working fine. So while some may have a problem be sure the red eye isn't simply advising you that windows updates are available.
     
  13. YeOldeStonecat

    YeOldeStonecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    Posts:
    2,345
    Location:
    Along the Shorelines somewhere in New England
    Yah....quite a few updates released this past Tuesday.
     
  14. hclarkjr

    hclarkjr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2007
    Posts:
    66
    turns out i spoke too soon also, i got the red eye today also. i sent my sysinpector log into eset, hopefully it is something minor
     
  15. Ngwana

    Ngwana Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2006
    Posts:
    156
    Location:
    Glasgow, United Kingdom
    It is time NOD bears the 'Vista Certified' mark. It is very painful to see this. :oops:
     
  16. agoretsky

    agoretsky Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,032
    Location:
    California
    Hello,

    Can you please provide the build information for your copy of ESET NOD32 Antivirus' modules? They can be found by right-clicking on the ESET icon in the system tray notification area, selecting About from the popup context menu, click in the Installed Components: section and pressing Ctrl + A to select all of them, Ctrl + C to copy the information then Ctrl + V to copy the information into your reply.

    Regards,

    Aryeh Goretsky
     
  17. miki69

    miki69 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Posts:
    133
    Location:
    Vienna, Austria
    here you go:
    Virus signature database: 4174 (20090620)
    Update module: 1028 (20090302)
    Antivirus and antispyware scanner module: 1225 (20090618 )
    Advanced heuristics module: 1092 (20090309)
    Archive support module: 1096 (20090616)
    Cleaner module: 1041 (20090603)
    Anti-Stealth support module: 1012 (20090526)
    SysInspector module: 1212 (20090414)
    Self-defense support module : 1005 (20081105)

    PS. Finally someone from ESET pays atterntion to this issue :)

    Thanks Aryeh

    Cheers,
    Miki
     
  18. agoretsky

    agoretsky Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,032
    Location:
    California
    Hello,

    I do not see anything unusual in the build information. In your signature, it says you are running Comodo Firewall. If you temporarily uninstall it, does that make any difference?

    Regards,

    Aryeh Goretsky
     
  19. miki69

    miki69 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Posts:
    133
    Location:
    Vienna, Austria
    I've had this issue even before Comodo. As I posted this happens from time to time (for no obvious reason). Sometimes I need to restart few times in a row, as first restart doesn't seem to resolve the problem. I had this issue with SP1 and SP2 so it's not strictly related to SP2.

    One thing I've noticed (but this is slightly off topic) is when I uninstall NOD, upon restart my internet connection is established much faster (wireless). With NOD I need to wait sometimes for good 3-5 min before my connection is recognized and connected to. Don't know if NOD is responsible for this, my wife has ESS v3 and no such issues.

    Cheers,
    Miki
     
  20. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
  21. agoretsky

    agoretsky Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,032
    Location:
    California
    Hello,

    Can you tell me more about the network connection?

    Regards,

    Aryeh Goretsky

     
  22. miki69

    miki69 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Posts:
    133
    Location:
    Vienna, Austria
    I don't know what kind of info you need exactly but I have: ADSL connected to wireless router D-Link 524, I have Sony Vaio Z590 with Intel WiFi Link 5100 AGN wireless card.

    In my office I have cable internet connected to one PC and then to Zyxel router (I can tell you model number tomorrow), same issues.

    When I uninstall NOD32 network connection is recognized and connected within 15-20 sec from the start. I have tried solution discusse here: https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=243486 and it's working (kind of, not always), just want to know if this is right way.

    Cheers,
    Miki
     
    Last edited: Jun 24, 2009
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.