Vista SP2 RC Security Updates crash NOd32

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by bradtech, Mar 6, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. bodean

    bodean Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Posts:
    76
    So far so good with the RTM-Escrow build of SP2 vista 64
     
  2. bodean

    bodean Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Posts:
    76
    I take that back, errors are back. The typical "Maximum Protection is not ensured" error, and asking to reinstall. Back to v3 til NOD32 can fix this problem.
     
  3. bodean

    bodean Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Posts:
    76
    Does anyone know if this has been fixed, and is safe again to install SP2 RC?
     
  4. bodean

    bodean Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Posts:
    76
    What do we have to do to get someone from NOD 32 to first A)admit the issue and B) give an ETA on when it will be fixed? This issue has been going on for a few months now, and not one rep has replied to this thread. What a shame.
    :thumbd: :thumbd: :thumbd:
     
  5. jeremyf

    jeremyf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Posts:
    61
    in my experience, no one actually from Eset reads this forum, besides Marcos, and I am not sure if he is Eset employed? he tries, but there is ALOT of threads here....

    this forum really is mostly for other users to try to figure things out together, in other words, it is not used properly by Eset, (it would be a valuable resource if they chose to monitor it and and if they actually responded here, they would earn permanent loyalty in users).

    bah...
     
  6. agoretsky

    agoretsky Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,034
    Location:
    California
    Hello,

    I just did some testing with the release candidate for the service pack and was not able to reproduce this. Could you send me an ESET SysInspector log from your computer via PM to look through?

    Regards,

    Aryeh Goretsky

     
  7. tanstaafl

    tanstaafl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2005
    Posts:
    207
    Hey bodean...

    Chill out man... you are complaining about ESET not working correctly with BETA/RELEASE CANDIDATE VISTA/CRAP.

    I'm sure they appreciate your feedback, but your attitude is misplaced...

    Expecting them to just drop everything and fix an issue with a BETA SERVICE PACK for VISTA/CRAP is not only a watse of resources, its just plain silly.

    Sheesh...
     
  8. JuliusB

    JuliusB Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    Posts:
    82
    First, Vista is not crap and is already used in 25percent of computers(look wikipedia os market share), second this SP2 most of us have is NOT beta. It's not even RC. It's RTM Escrow, means almost RTM.
    I also get this problem. Randomly, it seems. The last few times I booted my computer everything worked fine, so I cannot try one thing myself.
    And that one thing is trying to disable v4 Self-protection and see if the problem persists.
    I suggested this in several topics, but no one seemed to answer. An answer would provide valuable information both for people looking for a fix/at least temporary one and maybe ESET too. Everybody just keeps creating topics with problems..
     
  9. MikeMcr

    MikeMcr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2004
    Posts:
    10
    You might want to check your facts. The RTM release of SP2 is now available. It is NOT a beta any more. See the front page of Neowin.net.
     
  10. bradtech

    bradtech Guest

    I'm sure ESET is aware of this, and is trying to make a solid solution. Takes time to work bugs out, and figure out why it happened, and implement a solution that is not half-cocked and will end up breaking more.. That is the main reason I report findings is to get a better product.
     
  11. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,102
    Location:
    North Carolina USA
    And that is what in the end, will give you a better product. Kudos my man.:thumb:
     
  12. jeremyf

    jeremyf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Posts:
    61
    +2 points for bradtech
     
  13. UglyChild

    UglyChild Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Posts:
    15
    :rolleyes:

    I can get a better answer out of our useless politicians these days.


    After 4 updates and new builds, the main issue has not been fixed yet, and SP2 is about to hit main MS Update website in very short time.

    If you think you have a problem now, wait till half your customers start calling and flooding your mail boxes all at once. That will wake your asses up.
     
  14. bradtech

    bradtech Guest

    It's part of doing business. I am just happy Marcos, and whoever helped him fix my Novell Netware Client crashing issues after providing a Kernel Dump for them to look at. I got a build that was not officially releases a day after he looked at it, and it totally saved my ass, and will help come renewal time. Of course I have criticisms, and recommendations on what I want to see.
     
  15. agoretsky

    agoretsky Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,034
    Location:
    California
    Hello,

    Private Message sent.

    Regards,

    Aryeh Goretsky
     
  16. Kanna

    Kanna Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Posts:
    3
    I actually have a bigger issue than just the 0x101a error...

    - Installing the program at first goes through with no errors
    - Upon first update the program will report error 0x101a
    - After a manul restart, the error still persists and NOD32 cannot update itself
    - The ESET directory is not writeable by any process or user, including Administrator and SYSTEM
    - The ESET registry key entries are not writeable by any user, including Administrator and SYSTEM
    - Taking ownership of these resources did not resolve the permissions issue
    - Upon uninstall:
    - MSI will report unable to delete files even if you have ownership and full access to the ESET folder
    - manually deleting registry keys after taking ownership will result in "error while deleting key"

    The only way to remove all traces of NOD32 is to boot with WinPE, load the local registry hive and remove the offending entries, then proceed to delete files manually.

    All this is on a clean install of Windows Vista SP2 6002.18005RTM
     
  17. sleeper

    sleeper Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2009
    Posts:
    1
    Unfortunately I have to confim the problem that Kanna reports, in addition I'm getting reproducibly a BSOD upon login. The error occurs in emon.sys. Booting into safe mode I can disable the ESET service and login again normally. However, disinstallation (automatic or manual) of NOD32 is not possible because of insufficient privileges exactly as described by Kanna.

    The issue occured first after installing SP2 RTM on a system that ran w/o problems for several months. Now I'm getting the BSOD using Nod32 4.0.424 BE on a clean install of Windows 2008 server x64 SP2 6002.18005 RTM.
     
  18. jimwillsher

    jimwillsher Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    Posts:
    667
    Same here. During stage 3/3 of the SP install, e.g. the login screen, eamon.sys causes a BSOD. Fantastic.

    Oh well, I wanted an excuse to wipe and install Win 7 RC, and guess I just found that excuse...
     
  19. Recall

    Recall Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Posts:
    35
    Right, I am getting the same issue here. It will be ok for a few days, then I get the problem with it not starting. I also got a bsod on reboot when I installed SP2 RTM FINAL, but a forced reboot and it installed ok the second time.

    The only way to fix it when the issue occurs is to uninstall it and remove all registry keys which is a bloody pain the arse. ESET please give us an indication you are working on this issue. My subscription is up soon, I even convinced my Dad to get a triple licence.

    It is very frustrating and seems to be a permission issue, as it causes errors when I uninstall as well.
     
  20. YeOldeStonecat

    YeOldeStonecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    Posts:
    2,345
    Location:
    Along the Shorelines somewhere in New England
    SP2 for Vista has been RTM for a while now.

    More importantly....going back to last year, it's been known SP2 for Vista was going to be coming out soon. All those RCs. And Microsoft gives software developers access to it, so that they have time (for those software developers that think ahead and use this time) to get their product compatible with it. This is logical, the better software companies utilize this time to prepare their product so that it's ready and fully compatible with the service pack once it's publically released. Instead of scrambling around after the fact when a bunch of their users call support with crashes.
     
  21. bathisland

    bathisland Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Posts:
    85
    Okay in all fairness here is a good experience. I have Nod AV 4.0.424 running. I installed the RTM of the Vista SP2. Granted it took a long time to install (between 45 and 60 mins....and it might have to do with the fact that i did not disable Nod or it might not have taken as long....will never find out now). After reboot, all is well and no errors whatsoever with Nod or with Vista.

    The only weird thing happening to my computer is that it is showing that I have Bitdefender installed as AV (which i had 2 months ago and only for 2 hours). Pretty weird but Nod is running well so am not too bothered about it.
     
  22. Kanna

    Kanna Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Posts:
    3
    I think if you already have nod32 installed before doing the update then you're fine. I just tested it on vista sp1, installed nod32, then installed sp2 afterwards. Going that route worked for me.
     
  23. bodean

    bodean Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Posts:
    76
    I find it odd that NOD32 v4 breaks with Vista sp2, yet runs fine in Windows 7 RC (7100)
     
  24. MOM2009

    MOM2009 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2009
    Posts:
    25
    This worked for me 1 day. on the second day i always get the messages posted on the first post in this thread. i have to disable UAC then NOD32 works again.


    Nod Antivirus 4.0.417 german on vista ultimate x64
     
  25. Brama

    Brama Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2007
    Posts:
    7
    Vista32 SP2 RTM (official, not Escrow) gives issues with nod32 4.0.424.0.

    After the SP installation it seems to work but on next reboot you have: red eset icon on taskbar, unknown error 0x004 sent by eset and real time protection disabled.

    If I scan the C: drive to fix possible errors, on next reboot eset is working properly until following reboots.

    It seems something related to permissions with cached drivers that are reset after a disk scan.

    I hope to see a solution soon.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.