Vista SP1 install possibly froze up

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by WigglyTheGreat, Mar 20, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. WigglyTheGreat

    WigglyTheGreat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2006
    Posts:
    137
    While installing sp1 to my new laptop it reported that it needed 3 updates and it got to the last one and says 100% installed but then it never reboots or goes further it is stuck there I think. It has been 3 hours just sitting there. I guess later on I just have to shut it down manually and see what the deal is. Probably turn into a blue screen nightmare with my luck. Really annoying.
     
  2. WigglyTheGreat

    WigglyTheGreat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2006
    Posts:
    137
    Nevermind I just checked it again and finally 4 hours later it finished I guess as it was at the login screen. It says service pack 1 under system info anyway so I guess it took. Be interesting to see if there are any issues. No idea why it took so long with a core 2 duo and 3gb of ram.
     
  3. RAD

    RAD Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Posts:
    332
    I gave up after about 1 hour of staring at a single message on a blank screen.
    Something like: !!0xc09000 HelpPane.exe!!

    I wrote it down, but don't have it with me. Maybe I just gave up too soon ?

    Seems odd !
     
  4. WigglyTheGreat

    WigglyTheGreat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2006
    Posts:
    137
    I don't know about that RAD as I never got any error message it just seemed to take forever to install.
     
  5. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    My install went OK . I also deployed SP3 RC2 for XP on two computers and all is fine . I used Windows Update for SP1 .

    I have no issues and it has been 24 hours since I installed it - very happy . Copy process is really faster than without and my start-up is much more faster than it used to be (even though I have added a few more start-ups)
     
  6. rendez2k

    rendez2k Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2007
    Posts:
    315
    Location:
    UK
    My Vista Ultimate (almost clean install) also took around 4hrs to install (from Windows update). After initial reboot, it said Stage 3 100% complete for ages with some minor and at time major disc activity.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.