Vista SP1 install fails

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Coldmoon, Mar 18, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Coldmoon

    Coldmoon Returnil Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Posts:
    2,981
    Location:
    USA
    Hi,
    I checked the list of issues that could lead to failed updates and I don't have any of the ones listed yet SP1 fails to install with an error I can't find any information on:

    Error details: Code 80073712

    Anyone have a clue or idea here?

    Mike
     
  2. sukarof

    sukarof Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Posts:
    1,714
    Location:
    Stockholm Sweden
    I had the same problem. I have noticed, at least in my machine, generally vista updates fail very often. I often get the dreaded 80007B error. But then after a couple of weeks I can suddenly install them. Very annoying. I´ll just wait until SP1 appears as an automatic update....hopefully they have fixed it by then.
     
  3. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,768
    Location:
    Texas
  4. Coldmoon

    Coldmoon Returnil Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Posts:
    2,981
    Location:
    USA
    This is the first time I have had an issue with Vista updates and nothing of any use yet in the communities link ronjor posted.

    I started a support ticket and will see what happens.

    Mike
     
  5. NICK ADSL UK

    NICK ADSL UK Administrator

    Joined:
    May 13, 2003
    Posts:
    9,217
    Location:
    UK
    You could try this update first mike ?

    Update for Windows Vista (KB947821)
    Install this update to enable future updates for Microsoft Windows to install successfully
    .http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/...e2-1aaf-4672-8951-4b7920f982e9&DisplayLang=en
     
  6. sukarof

    sukarof Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Posts:
    1,714
    Location:
    Stockholm Sweden
    The SP1 appeared on windows update. This time the install was ok. The download was only ~70MB so it only downloaded just what my machine needed and I guess that did the trick :)
     
  7. Coldmoon

    Coldmoon Returnil Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Posts:
    2,981
    Location:
    USA
    Hi Nick,
    That update comes back as not applicable for my system and does not install. Further it was never offered through WU.

    Mike
     
  8. Coldmoon

    Coldmoon Returnil Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Posts:
    2,981
    Location:
    USA
    Nick,
    The problem history shows the following:

    Mike
     
  9. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,768
    Location:
    Texas
  10. NICK ADSL UK

    NICK ADSL UK Administrator

    Joined:
    May 13, 2003
    Posts:
    9,217
    Location:
    UK
    I am making some inquires mike and if i can get any feedback with regards this i will let you know here :)
     
  11. Coldmoon

    Coldmoon Returnil Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Posts:
    2,981
    Location:
    USA
    Hi,
    No, I tried it, but same result

    Thanks Nick :)

    Mike
     
  12. NICK ADSL UK

    NICK ADSL UK Administrator

    Joined:
    May 13, 2003
    Posts:
    9,217
    Location:
    UK
    Hi mike :) This is all i have to hand at this time but will keep looking for you. You can check this link out also to see if you missed anything
    http://technet2.microsoft.com/Windo...701b-4565-868e-51d1ba47555d1033.mspx?mfr=true

    What Windows Update installation errors can CheckSUR potentially address?
    The following table shows a list of errors that users may receive when they try to install a Windows Vista update, and CheckSUR detects irregularities that it can potentially fix.

    Note These errors are typically listed in the %systemroot%\Logs\CBS\CBS.log file or in the CBS.persist.log file.
    Code Error Description
    0x80070002 ERROR_FILE_NOT_FOUND The system cannot find the file specified.
    0x8007000D ERROR_INVALID_DATA The data is invalid.
    0x800F081F CBS_E_SOURCE_MISSING The source for the package or file not found.
    0x80073712 ERROR_SXS_COMPONENT_STORE_CORRUPT The component store is in an inconsistent state.
    0x800736CC ERROR_SXS_FILE_HASH_MISMATCH A component’s file does not match the verification information present in the component manifest.
    0x800705B9 ERROR_XML_PARSE_ERROR Unable to parse the requested XML data.
    0x80070246 ERROR_ILLEGAL_CHARACTER An invalid character was encountered.
    0x8007370D ERROR_SXS_IDENTITY_PARSE_ERROR An identity string is malformed.
    0x8007370B ERROR_SXS_INVALID_IDENTITY_ATTRIBUTE_NAME The name of an attribute in an identity is not within the valid range.
    0x8007370A ERROR_SXS_INVALID_IDENTITY_ATTRIBUTE_VALUE The value of an attribute in an identity is not within the valid range.
    0x80070057 ERROR_INVALID_PARAMETER The parameter is incorrect.
    0x800B0100 TRUST_E_NOSIGNATURE No signature was present in the subject.
    0x80092003 CRYPT_E_FILE_ERROR An error occurred while Windows Update reads or writes to a file.
    0x800B0101 CERT_E_EXPIRED A required certificate is not within its validity period when verifying against the current system clock or the time stamp in the signed file.
    0x8007371B ERROR_SXS_TRANSACTION_CLOSURE_INCOMPLETE One or more required members of the transaction are not present.
     
  13. Coldmoon

    Coldmoon Returnil Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Posts:
    2,981
    Location:
    USA
    Nick,
    I tried that per ronjor's post above but had the same result. WU will show a failed update and the problem reporting list gets bigger with similar entries as those I posted above.
     
  14. nanana1

    nanana1 Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Posts:
    947
    Just updated mine, all is good here.:D
     
  15. NICK ADSL UK

    NICK ADSL UK Administrator

    Joined:
    May 13, 2003
    Posts:
    9,217
    Location:
    UK
    As i say mike i will keep a look out for a fix for you :)
     
  16. ratchet

    ratchet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Posts:
    1,912
    I turned my notebook on around 5:30pm EST and the update was listed. So I started it. Update, install and reboot probably took close to an hour but it did go off without a hitch. The notebook has Home Premium and I thought it was a couple hundred mb download, however, I really didn't pay attention so I may be completely wrong.
     
  17. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,768
    Location:
    Texas
    Did you try the manual install of CheckSur contained in the link?
     
  18. Coldmoon

    Coldmoon Returnil Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Posts:
    2,981
    Location:
    USA
    Yes, tried that one too
     
  19. Coldmoon

    Coldmoon Returnil Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Posts:
    2,981
    Location:
    USA
    Re: Vista SP1 install fails [update]

    Hi Nick,
    It finally installed through WU. I sent in all the error reports and dumps through the problem reporting feature (60+). I can't find anything different between the times it failed and when it finally installed properly and am just glad it finally took.

    It will be interesting to know what your contacts say and thier insight into what might have caused the difficulties...

    Thanks
    Mike
     
  20. NICK ADSL UK

    NICK ADSL UK Administrator

    Joined:
    May 13, 2003
    Posts:
    9,217
    Location:
    UK
    Re: Vista SP1 install fails [update]

    Right mike some fellow mvp's suggest you try this

    80073712 - ERROR_SXS_COMPONENT_STORE_CORRUPT.

    Windows Update file corruption.

    Delete the file pending.xml under C:\windows\winsxs

    and/or

    Reinstall the Windows Update Agent

    A new version of the Windows Update Agent is available
    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/946928

    Also you can Run a disk check with "automatic fix file system errors" option
    selected. it will probably ask you to schedule the check for the next boot.
    Do it and boot. Do this at least 2x.

    hope this helps mike :)
     
  21. Franklin

    Franklin Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2,517
    Location:
    West Aussie
    Yep, getting that error here which is probably due to being a vLited Vista install with many files missing.o_O

    Only made and installed the vLited install dvd yesterday.Oh well, running super quick as is and you live and learn.:D
    Install Error.JPG
     
  22. strangequark

    strangequark Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2005
    Posts:
    296
    Location:
    OZ
    I did a clean install on 2 boxes before applying SP1 and got the same error message. What was causing the trouble here was I tried to do the SP1 update without activating the install first, as soon as activation was done SP1 installed without any probs.
     
  23. Coldmoon

    Coldmoon Returnil Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Posts:
    2,981
    Location:
    USA
    Re: Vista SP1 install fails [update]

    Hi Nick,
    I looked at that fix and others but am one of those who did not have the "pending.xml" file so could not delete it. My update history shows three failed SP1 install attempts and one successful attempt (obviously the last attempt...).

    It is installed now but the process was very rough at best...

    Mike
     
  24. NICK ADSL UK

    NICK ADSL UK Administrator

    Joined:
    May 13, 2003
    Posts:
    9,217
    Location:
    UK
    Re: Vista SP1 install fails [update]

    I'm glad it did eventually install OK :) There is thread here in which fellow MVP Mow Green tries to address some issues
    http://www.vistax64.com/vista-security/130074-error-code-80073712-a.html
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.