Vista security for Mother-in-law

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by cp4eva, Apr 11, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. cp4eva

cp4eva Registered Member

Hi all,

As an XP user with no experience in Vista, I have been asked by my mother-in-law to install Vista on her machine. The PC meets the sys reqs for installation, but being unfamiliar with the OS and what antimalware may work best for a total novice, I thought I would pick the brains of my fellow users here.

Can anyone recommend a good, light and user friendly Vista protection plan for fighting malware?

2. Kees1958

Kees1958 Registered Member

Vista Firewall control, using Vista's own firewall

Using UAC with Norton UAC tool to remember what she has chosen

Microsoft Defender as advanced member sharing threats, deselect daily scan, will get her daily updates.

Avira free (AV, AS)

regards Kees

3. jmonge

jmonge Registered Member

yes indeed: DefenseWall Hips
    http://www.softsphere.com/
    the easiest and most secure application againts malware out the box ready problem free;)

4. Iangh

Iangh Registered Member

Kees,

Where does it say you get daily updates without having daily scans checked provided you are an advanced member?

I can't find any reference.

Thanks,
    Ian

5. innerpeace

innerpeace Registered Member

Vista really isn't that different than XP. It was fairly easy to find my way around on my sis's new Vista computer. I set her up with a user (non-admin) account and after her Norton trial was up I turned on the Vista firewall, and installed Avast free on her machine. I can't remember whether or not I turned on Defender...

All seems to be working fine and if she starts to complain about the UAC prompts I'll try the Norton UAC tool Kees1958 mentioned.

6. Kees1958