Vista Firewall Survey

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by Diver, Apr 8, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Diver

    Diver Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2005
    Posts:
    1,444
    Location:
    Deep Underwater
    If you run Vista please chime in as to which firewall you are using and any noteworthy experiences or bugs. For the time being I am using the built in firewall. For a while I had outbound filtering enabled, but by design it is only for privacy or enforcing corporate policy. The outbound filtering here will not prevent leaks by any application that wants to get around it.
     
  2. Ed_H

    Ed_H Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Posts:
    662
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    I am using Comodo 3 with Vista Home Premium. Works well, highly configurable with built-in HIPS and no noticeable impact on performance.
     
  3. Dark Shadow

    Dark Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Posts:
    4,553
    Location:
    USA
    I also using vista firewall behind a router, No issues yet.
     
  4. Solaris

    Solaris Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    54
    Jetico V2 works great for me on Vista.
    Outpost 6. ..with BSOD sometimes… so Jetico definitely.
     
  5. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    atm i use the firewall in kis7.0
    probaly use kav 2009 firewall once its out or use the vista firewall since i have a router.
     
  6. InfinityAz

    InfinityAz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2005
    Posts:
    828
    Location:
    Arizona
    Vista firewall (and behind router). It runs well and doesn't cause any issues with my computer.

    Truthfully, whether I've run the Windows built-in or any third party firewall, none have ever stopped/caught anything I wasn't expecting to connect out. Therefore, I've switched all my machines to just run the Windows built-in firewall (this causes far fewer issues and problems than running a third party firewall).
     
  7. Coldmoon

    Coldmoon Returnil Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Posts:
    2,981
    Location:
    USA
    Vista FW behind router with MS/Sysinternals PE/PM when engaging in riskier activities...

    The other solution I use is obvious but not directly related to the subject matter.

    Mike
     
  8. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,730
    Location:
    localhost
    Hi!
    running ZASS in VISTA (behind a router)... no problems to report.

    VISTA SP1 also fixed some inconsistency with ZA (a silent ZA traffic icon and traceroute with only one hop)

    Cheers,
    Fax
     
  9. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4,222
    Look'n'Stop with Vista Ultimate: No issues so far.
     
  10. Tony

    Tony Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2003
    Posts:
    722
    Location:
    Cumbria, England
    Vista home premium, running windows firewall with Sphinx firewall control.
    Everything running nicely with no problems.:thumb:
     
  11. AKAJohnDoe

    AKAJohnDoe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Posts:
    989
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Vista SP1 with ZoneAlarm AntiVirus.

    Firewall: Internet=High, Trusted=Medium
    Program Control=Max
    Smart Defense Advisor=Manual
     
  12. Fedorov999

    Fedorov999 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2002
    Posts:
    182
    Used to run Kaspersky, now use Comodo with Defence+ turned off, system runs so much faster even though I love Kaspersky so much.

    I plan on moving to Online Armor once the Vista version is out which is very soon.
     
  13. virtumonde

    virtumonde Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Posts:
    501
    now i'm using sphinx free lol talking about basic but I like it (i think is too simple for bugs:) .And i'll definetly can't wait to try OA when it will be available on vista soon i hope.I use comodo on my laptop which i recently downgraded to xp:)).I ran it for a while on vista too very good protection IMO didn't felt the need for an av with it,no noticeble bugs ,only a few annoiances with d+ pop-ups,until i cofigured it right which took me a while.
     
  14. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    Vista Firewall is enough for me. Its simple and plays well with games/p2p.
     
  15. Trespasser

    Trespasser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Posts:
    1,194
    Location:
    Virginia - Appalachian Mtns
    I'm using Vista's Windows Firewall with Advanced Security tweaked for outbound permissions. Took awhile to adjust to the rules structure, though. So far, and it's been months, I like it. No problems to report. Also behind a router.

    Later...
     
  16. zorbis

    zorbis Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Posts:
    27
    i also use vista ultimate firewall behinde a router, no problems yet.
     
  17. Diver

    Diver Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2005
    Posts:
    1,444
    Location:
    Deep Underwater
    Although the Vista firewall is popular, there is quite a bit of diversity here in only a relatively small number of posts.
     
  18. sded

    sded Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2004
    Posts:
    512
    Location:
    San Diego CA
    I use CFP3 with Vista Ultimate on one computer, and the Vista Firewall with Vista Home Premium on another computer-planning to try OA for Vista when it comes out. Tried earlier version of ZAF for Vista and found it unacceptably slow, so haven't tried the latest. Along with Avast! 4.8 on both computers. :)
     
  19. acr1965

    acr1965 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    Posts:
    4,954
    I am running PC Tools firewall on desktop and laptop. I also have Threatfire installed on each as well as the desktop is behind a high speed modem/router.
     
  20. entropism

    entropism Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Posts:
    331
    Using Comodo with Defense+, though I plan on trying OA when it comes out for x64. I was using KIS 7 for a while, I wasn't too fond of it.
     
  21. 3xist

    3xist Guest

    Using CFP 3/With Defense+. On Vista Home Basic, I got no issues to report.

    3xist.
     
  22. TairikuOkami

    TairikuOkami Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,509
    Location:
    Slovakia
    I use Vista Firewall, it works like a charm and I do not care about leaks, I install only trustworthy applications and I prefer not to instal malware like trojans. :D
     
  23. AKAJohnDoe

    AKAJohnDoe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Posts:
    989
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    I like to have the ability to lock out the built-in malware ;)
     

    Attached Files:

  24. Rickster100

    Rickster100 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2005
    Posts:
    152
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Using Comodo 3.0 on my Vista Ultimate SP1 partition with no issues so far; nice and smooth.
     
  25. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    I am very satisfied with the Vista Firewall with Extended security and the Vista firewall control app. It works very well. Probably the lightest firewall you are ever going to run on Vista since it is coded right in Windows.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.