Vista, ESS, and Admin rights.

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by ShaneR34, Mar 14, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ShaneR34

    ShaneR34 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Posts:
    107
    Hey, Guys

    I have the trial version of ESS running. I think this is a keeper :)

    Anyway, unlike some who run Vista, I do have my day-to-day user account set up with reduced privileges, a seperate Admin account, and UAC enabled (works fine for me, by the way).

    So, with ESS, there are some things I just can not do unless I have admin rights (permanently set a firewall rule etc etc etc). With that said, do you know how, with Vista's security settings (i'm running Ultimate), I would set my normal user account's privilege settings to be able to do these things? Is it just a matter of changing the main .exe's privileges or other files as well??

    This is a little outside my range of experience, and I can't seem to find the answer...

    Thanks :)
     
  2. patch

    patch Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Posts:
    178
    Same issue applies in Windows XP professional but not Windows 2000

    It is because of this that I suggested a firewall rule database
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=197335
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=193899
     
  3. ASpace

    ASpace Guest


    Hello.

    Yes. Simply make ESET's User Interface (egui.exe) run as Administrator always and you'll have no such problems.

    Find the egui.exe (it is localed at %ProgramFiles\ESET\ESET Smart Security\)
    Right click it and
     

    Attached Files:

  4. ShaneR34

    ShaneR34 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Posts:
    107
    That's awesome :)

    I knew there was a simple answer...

    Thanks!

    Shane.
     
  5. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    You are welcome
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.