Vista Bloatware

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Franklin, Jul 20, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Franklin

    Franklin Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2,517
    Location:
    West Aussie
    Used vLite to make my own Vista install cd and took out a gig of language files as a starter along with quite a few other aspects I thought I would never use.

    This Vista Ultimate install sits at around 3 gig with paging turned off.

    2 gig ddr2 and there seems to be no probs atm.

    That is with all of maintenance and security apps as well, including Paragon HDM 8.5, Word and PowerPoint from office 2003.

    Sys restore,superfetch and hibernation have been taken out as well.

    Note: it did take a couple of iso creations, burns and installs into a VM until I thought I had it the way I wanted.:ouch:

    The "Vist" iso below is from the original install ultimate disk.
    Comparison.JPG
    HD size.JPG
     
  2. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    Its great being able to fit Vista on CD (My ISO is <600MB iirc). Plus it doesnt run so bad on 512MB. Try that with a full Vista :D
     
  3. Longboard

    Longboard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Posts:
    3,187
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    @WSFuser and Franklin: Very Nice; would you mind listing what you have taken out?

    That would be great if you have time.
    Thx.
     
  4. Franklin

    Franklin Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2,517
    Location:
    West Aussie
    :D
    Yep, my next mission is to create an ISO "just a browser" sorta thing to run in a 2 gig vm.;) :blink:

    @Longboard, the thinning folder is on another drive and I may even have deleted it.

    You could try vLite and have a look at the options you can take out but I think you may have to leave IE in there as there may be connection probs if taken out.

    All my other EXES such as Firefox are ready to go from the second partition.
     
  5. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    @Longboard - I remove most everything. You can load my preset and see for yourself.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. Franklin

    Franklin Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2,517
    Location:
    West Aussie
    With removing the tablet pc I think you also lose the snipping tool which I find handy.

    Can be installed and disabled in services but you still have the snipping tool available.

    But then again there are free alternatives available.;)
     
  7. Longboard

    Longboard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Posts:
    3,187
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Thankyou
    @WSFuser: concievably could take out more: languages, printers, ?Defender.
     
  8. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    I did remove all that (except for HP printer drivers).
     
  9. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    if you removing all that why dont you just use windows XP?
    lodore
     
  10. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    I like having the latest Windows OS. And besides I remove (dont use) a lot of stuff from XP as well.
     
  11. Franklin

    Franklin Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    2,517
    Location:
    West Aussie
    There's nothing like ripping a system to pieces and putting it back together to get a feel for it.;)

    The graphics are a bit better in Vista and the inbuilt games "Chess Titans and Mahjong" are the only ones I play.

    Boring huh?:p
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.