Vista Black Screen

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by mossie, Jun 15, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mossie

    mossie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2007
    Posts:
    17
    Hi.

    After installing Vista SP1 on both my desktop and laptop I have the same problem on both machines. After I login I get a black screen with the mouse cursor and nothing else. I read this thread on this forum, and after uninstalling ESS I was able to boot into windows with no difficulty, however on reinstalling ESS the same problem occurred again.

    Edit: As mentioned in that thread the problem seems linked to mapped network drives. If I disconnect a mapped drive in explorer windows boots with no difficulty. If I remove ESS windows boots, but with both the mapped drive and ESS in place I get the black screen so it must be an issue with ESS and mapped drives reconnecting at startup.

    As this is happening on both PC's and is clearly related to ESS I wonder if anyone has had this experience and if so how you solved it.

    Thanks.
    Mossie
     
    Last edited: Jun 15, 2008
  2. shansmi

    shansmi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Posts:
    130
    I guess the first thing I would try is to turn off the startup scans using the advanced setup menu as they are on by default ( I run with them turned off). Another thing I would then do also under the advanced setup is turn of network drive scanning under real time protection....

    I only recommended these things as your testing seems to have narrowed it to ESS interacting with mapped drives....

    hopefully this will help....
     
  3. cactus

    cactus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Posts:
    1
    I have the same issue as well - on all 4 licensed computers - after upgrading to SP1...very frustrating.

    I don't want to remember to have to disconnect network drives every time I shut the computer down.
     
  4. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    In the event of a problem like this, we'd need to get a complete memory dump for perusal which would most likely reveal the actual culprit.
     
  5. xvala

    xvala Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Posts:
    1
    Same problem here too - even after a fresh reinstall of Vista :(
    Only after deactivating the Eset Service it was possible to boot into Vista again. It makes no problems if after boot the service is started manually - then it works fine.
    No keyboard input is accepted when the blank screen problem occurs - only mouse pointer is visible on a complete black screen ...
    I have no solution for this problem, im starting now the service manually to have working firewall and antivirus :doubt:
     
  6. subaru1987

    subaru1987 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    Posts:
    1
    Guyz there is a very simple solution that I prefered for the moment.
    You can disconnect the mapped network drive from My computer(explorer) and open it as a location over your local network.

    I hope ESET finds soon the fix for this problem!;)
     
  7. forumhound

    forumhound Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2006
    Posts:
    20
    Location:
    Surrey, UK
    Hi all,

    I spent three hours trying to find out why I had a black screen after logging into Vista.

    I finally found this thread, booted into safe mode (again), disconnected the network drive and everything returned to normal after rebooting.
     
  8. ServWiseDOTcom

    ServWiseDOTcom Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Posts:
    4
    Incidentally I get this too, after login my screen goes to the last background colour picked from the display options (not black unless I have picked black). Nothing can be done except move the mouse and I have to hard reboot, it usually works if I enter my password very quickly before ESET has had a chance to load. I'm just removing network drives and gonna see if that works. I've also got an issue with ESET ignoring rules for some applications but that's been happening for a while. Think I'm going to look for an alternative if these bugs arnt fixed soon as my subscription is coming up.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.