Vista and Antivirus Applications

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by vtn54, Feb 6, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. vtn54

    vtn54 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Posts:
    13
    I have used KAV 6 in my PC with windows XP SP2 installed,it

    was fast and work without any problem but a few days ago i

    install windows vista on my PC for test ,it has a great look

    and work flawlessly until i install KAV 6.0.2.614 final and it

    slow down PC to crawl:doubt: starting any application or opening

    of any window take ages.Anyway I uninstall KAV completely and

    install NOD32 2.7 but it was even worse :( (Like old days with

    NAV 2005 o_O ) .Is this a case with anyone or just me? which one

    of other first class antivirus Apps you recommended for

    vista ( without slowdown of course :cautious: ).

    Sorry for my english.:oops:
     
  2. ethan_arends

    ethan_arends Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Posts:
    27
    Location:
    Romania
    That's strange...
    On my comp (Sempron 2500+, 512 Mb & Aero) Vista work very good with NOD32 and a little slow with KIS 6.0.2.614.
     
  3. farmerlee

    farmerlee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,585
    You can try AVG 7.5, its vista compatible and free :)
     
  4. C.S.J

    C.S.J Massive Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5,029
    Location:
    this forum is biased!
    if it was ok on XP and crawling on vista, maybe .. just maybe, your machine cant really handle vista.
     
  5. CJsDad

    CJsDad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2006
    Posts:
    618
    Wife just got a new PC yesterday with Vista (Home Premium) installed.
    I put NOD32 on the machine and there is no slowdown at all.
     
  6. vtn54

    vtn54 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Posts:
    13
    I don't think so :D

    My PC configuration:

    http://i11.tinypic.com/2nbujgy.jpg

    But anyway thanks for replies,I think i must return to windows XP:rolleyes:
     
  7. C.S.J

    C.S.J Massive Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5,029
    Location:
    this forum is biased!
    ok, i dont know what it is then...

    your first post never gave details of your system :D
     
  8. eBBox

    eBBox Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Posts:
    482
    Location:
    Aalborg, Denmark
    Vista 64 & Nod running very fine here ;)
     
  9. ASpace

    ASpace Guest


    If it was an upgrade from XP to Vista then this could be the problem . Corrupted XP made Vista not running well . This has happened to old upgrades (e.g. 2000->XP or 98->XP) and will happen ~forever~ . Clean install is all you need , clean install of Vista with hard drive format :thumb:
     
  10. vtn54

    vtn54 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Posts:
    13
    Hi

    Thanks for suggestion,but I have installed vista on a formated clean PC.
     
  11. C.S.J

    C.S.J Massive Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5,029
    Location:
    this forum is biased!
    well, i dont think dell will deliver my vista till probably march,

    and if dr.web dont have a vista compat product by then, i will be using my AVG suite which is on my PC, is anyone using it on vista, how does it cope, run well?, any details appreciated.
     
  12. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    hello chris,
    my lecurer at college is running avg 7.5 free on his laptop on vista business and he hasnt had problems.
    lodore
     
  13. WigglyTheGreat

    WigglyTheGreat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2006
    Posts:
    137
    I have Vista Home Premium running on my very basic Compaq laptop and Nod32 is running as it did with WinXP, fast and stable. I am waiting for Dell to ship my vista upgrade disc to see how it runs on my Core 2 Duo machine.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.