Vista 64 bit no internet on 32bit apps

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by lobotomy, May 19, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. lobotomy

    lobotomy Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Posts:
    3
    Hi,

    first of all, I used the search function and I got in a thread where they say NOD32 disables internet through IMON because the winsock isn't clean because of a previously installed Norton/McAffee. This is not my case, I installed NOD32 on a clean install of the OS.

    OS: Windows Vista Business 64-bit
    NOD32: 2.7; Version of virus signature database: 2277 (2007051:cool:

    I've never had another antivirus, and NOD 32 has been working for the past weeks, so I guess it can't be the winsock.

    Yesterday I rebooted and it seemed like no applications had an internet connection anymore, allthough my network specified it was connect to the internet.
    After a while I tried IE7-64 bit and this app seemed to have connection.
    So only the 32-bit apps can't use internet.

    What can I do? Is this a setting or a bug?
    I've had this before, and when I remove NOD32 and reïnstall it again, the problem disappears.. But thats running from the problem in stead of facing it.

    I hope someone can help..

    Kind regards,

    lobotomy-
     
  2. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Hi there, welcome to Wilders.

    Please try repairing Winsock and IMON, I suspect Winsock is in fact damaged.

    For Windows VISTA

    1. Click Start. In the Start Search dialog box, type: cmd, and right-click cmd.
    2. Click Run as administrator.
    3. Type: netsh winsock reset, and then press the ENTER key.
    4. Type: Exit and press ENTER.
    5. Restart the computer


    AFTER the above please go to the NOD32 Control Centre
    Click on IMON
    Click on Start and restart IMON.

    Then reboot your PC.

    Let us know how you go...

    Cheers :D
     
  3. lobotomy

    lobotomy Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Posts:
    3
    thx.

    for now, this has done the trick, without uninstalling NOD32.

    how can my winsock ever get damaged?
     
  4. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    You are welcome.

    What other security programs do you have? ZoneAlarm?

    Cheers :D
     
  5. lobotomy

    lobotomy Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Posts:
    3
    nope, NOD32 is the only security tool I installed.

    I've been looking for hijackthis for vista but I haven't used it.

    From one day to another, without installing anything, it just got damaged it seems..
     
  6. dcbaxter

    dcbaxter Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2007
    Posts:
    1
    Location:
    England
    Snap,

    Had the same problems with 32 bit apps not connecting to the internet even though it was connected. Sent over an hour with Microsoft Indian support and ended up doing a restore a couple of days back.

    Seem now though that there is a problem with NOD32 and compatibility with Vista x64. A few searches on the internet and here bring up this exact issue and most point to NOD32.

    Are ESET aware and is there a something they can do to fix this.

    Playing with NOD32, shutting bits down and restarting them shouldn't be necessary to get Vista x64 working again.

    Very happy with NOD32 and have paid for 2 x 3 year licences for mine and sons computers. Keep up the good work and see if you cant pin point this issue.

    Cheers

    dcbaxter
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.