VirusTotal Uploader 2.2 Beta available

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by MrBrian, Feb 6, 2014.

  1. MrBrian

    MrBrian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    Posts:
    6,032
    Location:
    USA
  2. Jryder54

    Jryder54 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2013
    Posts:
    214
    Thanks! :thumb:
     
  3. MrBrian

    MrBrian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    Posts:
    6,032
    Location:
    USA
    You're welcome :).

    I'm not sure what changed but I'll guess the limit has been upped to 32 MB.
     
  4. JoeBlack40

    JoeBlack40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Posts:
    1,572
    Location:
    Romania
    Thanks,updated.
     
  5. MrBrian

    MrBrian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    Posts:
    6,032
    Location:
    USA
    You're welcome :).

    Right-click Explorer menu scanning was added since the last version of this that I used.
     
  6. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    5,079
    Right-click menu entry was included in previous version also. It was "hidden" under Send to section of right click menu.

    hqsec
     
    Last edited: Feb 13, 2014
  7. JoeBlack40

    JoeBlack40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Posts:
    1,572
    Location:
    Romania
    Yep,it was always there.
     
  8. MrBrian

    MrBrian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    Posts:
    6,032
    Location:
    USA
    Right. But now there's also a normal context menu item.
     
  9. Noob

    Noob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    6,468
    Didnt know VT had an app for this.
    New software for my setup. :D
     
  10. nsm0220

    nsm0220 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2013
    Posts:
    138
    Location:
    USA
    thanks
     
  11. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    5,248
    I've been meaning to try this for a while, and tried it yesterday.

    In my opinion PhrozenSoft VirusTotal Uploader is a much better option, as it allows you to do a batch upload of as many files you want, instead of being limited to uploading single files. For example you could scan an entire folder of malware samples.
     
  12. ooVoo

    ooVoo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2012
    Posts:
    67
    Location:
    CHINA
    nice update
     
  13. MrBrian

    MrBrian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    Posts:
    6,032
    Location:
    USA
    Does PhrozenSoft VirusTotal Uploader have an option to check (by hash) existing VT reports before uploading? The official VirusTotal Uploader does.

    One issue I have with PhrozenSoft VirusTotal Uploader is that it doesn't install to \program files or \program files (x86), if I recall correctly.
     
  14. MrBrian

    MrBrian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    Posts:
    6,032
    Location:
    USA
    I also use MultiHasher. It has integrated support for checking existing VirusTotal reports by file hash. It will check even if a given file is bigger than the typical VirusTotal upload limit, unlike the official VirusTotal Uploader, if I recall correctly. MultiHasher can work with multiple files also.
     
  15. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    8,046
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Nice update, I love this tool. :thumb:

    To be honest this app is one of the reasons why I don't use a standalone realtime/on demand scanner. :D
     
  16. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    5,248
    No it does not.

    It is installs to AppData\Roaming which is not an issue for me.

    It has a download and scan function which you can use to download files, which are scanned with VirusTotal when the download completes.
     
  17. Inside Out

    Inside Out Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2013
    Posts:
    421
    Location:
    Pangea
    False warning from F-Secure:
     

    Attached Files:

    • FP.jpg
      FP.jpg
      File size:
      33.5 KB
      Views:
      337
  18. gerardwil

    gerardwil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2004
    Posts:
    4,748
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    I wouldn't call this a false warning, but a warning only!
     
  19. Inside Out

    Inside Out Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2013
    Posts:
    421
    Location:
    Pangea
    It was a broken link anyway, so I don't think the alert was justified.
     
  20. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    8,046
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Hi,

    I've noticed that you can now upload files as large as 128MB, awesome. :D

    By the way, I have a problem, I want to see the scan results in Opera v12.16, but VirusTotal Uploader opens up in Firefox, how to fix this? o_O
     
  21. MrBrian

    MrBrian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    Posts:
    6,032
    Location:
    USA
    Is Opera your default browser?
     
  22. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    8,046
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Hi,

    Well that's the whole problem I guess, I can not set Opera v12.16 as default anymore.

    At first everything was OK, but the problem started when I installed a second version of Opera (v12.15).

    Uninstalling v12.15 didn't fix a thing. :cautious:
     
  23. roger_m

    roger_m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Posts:
    5,248
    If you use Phrozen VirusTotal Uploader you can view the results directly within the uploader.
     
  24. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    8,046
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Thanks, but I don't really like that tool.

    I guess I will have to reinstall Opera v12.16. :cautious:
     
  25. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    5,648
    Location:
    Hawaii
    Hung?

    Every so often I upload a file to VT & it reports "Calculating file hashes and putting file in queue, please wait." Such waits have never ended, despite waits of over 1 hour in each case.

    Is VT that slow or have I been singled out for cyber-abuse? (whimper) :doubt:
     
Loading...