Virus undetected by NOD32

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by nikhil_shevade, Aug 27, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. nikhil_shevade

    nikhil_shevade Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Posts:
    3
    I was using emule. Downloaded a file and when i clicked it the screen blacked out and when it resumed, NOD32 was disabled and the virus had taken over.
    I am unable to install any other antivirus as during installation it said, unable to find a particular file and hence installation aborted. ntoskrnl was blinking when seen in Windows explorer. The windows were blinking and losing focus every 5 seconds.
    Please help me out, i am new to all this.
    Cheers
     
  2. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Hi there, welcome to Wilders.

    Please follow the directions located HERE

    Cheers :D
     
  3. nikhil_shevade

    nikhil_shevade Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Posts:
    3
    hi, thanx for your reply
    NOD32 is not at all working. Further i did an online scan with Trend Micro, Symantec, but to no avail.
    I tried to install another AV (AntiVir) but it was not installing.
    I tried to run Autopatcher but it was giving an error.
    There is nothing that i was able to do. Even the NOD32 re-installation was not working.
    Please help me.
     
  4. sasa843

    sasa843 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2007
    Posts:
    113
    Location:
    Serbia, Europe
    Hello.

    If it's not a problem I would suggest to repair Your Windows installation. Believe me but sometimes it's better to do this then trying to figure out how to solve the problems like this. Note that if You decide to repair Your windows istallation all documents will be saved. You will not loose anything.

    This is my suggestion.
     
  5. dmcdaniel

    dmcdaniel Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Posts:
    11
    If you do try to do a Windows Repair - Be carefull. The windows repair will delete all your system files and try to reinstall them. You only have ONE, yes ONE chance to do this. I would recommend you back up any documents or files you find to be important.
     
  6. YeOldeStonecat

    YeOldeStonecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    Posts:
    2,345
    Location:
    Along the Shorelines somewhere in New England
    Slave drive to another computer that's windows updated and has a good antivirus on it. Clean, then attempt repair. I'd be wary about trying to reinstall windows on an infected machine. And learn lesson about using P2P stuff.
     
  7. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    This is the right way , I second this advise . It is too risky to perform repair on already infected computer .

    If you cannot put the hard disk drive on another computer , you can use bootable CD bundled with some applications and scan/clean. In case this sounds too unfamiliar , contact well educated IT for help
     
  8. nikhil_shevade

    nikhil_shevade Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Posts:
    3
    thanks everybody for your help.
     
  9. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    One post removed, please remember that this is the "NOD32 Support Forum". Other Antivirus products can be discussed elsewhere on this website.

    Blackspear.
     
  10. Kosak

    Kosak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Posts:
    711
    Location:
    Slovakia
    I don't know that you can insert logfiles from HJT, ComboFix, ... here so if you want, i can help you by e-mail.

    threat.support {at} gmail.com
     
  11. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    You can send a log from Autoruns to support[at]eset.com for further analysis.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.