virus in FirstDefense-ISR

Discussion in 'FirstDefense-ISR Forum' started by rabosr, Feb 13, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. rabosr

rabosr Registered Member

I have three virus's in folder number 3 located in the $ISR according to Norton's.
    the folder however shows "0" when I run the curser over it. How can I get in there and remove the three virus's.
    I am new at this and will need "step by step" instructions if possible. I have had this program for a year now and can't get along with out it.
    Thanks,
    Ray

2. tradetime

tradetime Registered Member

If this is a snapshot, boot into it and remove them from there. Alternatively depending on how you use fd-isr, just delete the snapshot / archive and be done with it.

3. Peter2150

Peter2150 Global Moderator

Folder no. 3 would be your third snapshot. I'd boot to each snapshot, and scan it separately. Then virus removal, if it's real, would be like for any other computer.

Pete

4. Leapfrog Software

Leapfrog Software Leapfrog Management

Greetings,

If Norton found a virus in the $ISR\3 folder, then the virus sits in that folder as you would expect. However, when you go into the ISR GUI, please be careful with removing the snapshot that is listed third. That may not be the same snapshot. Let me explain.

As logical as it seems to have them named 1,2,3 for snapshot 1,2,3, that may not the case every time. These are actually arbitrary numbers that will be adjusted depending on snapshot booting to, booted from, etc.

The best way to find out what user given name is defined as the snapshot number for the currently booted system, use our command line interface. You simply run ISRControl.exe and type in the command “List”. This will list your snapshots and archives. To the right of the snapshot name is a number: (0), (1),(2), etc. This is the folder for that snapshot. Note: (0) is always the currently booted snapshot.

5. EASTER

EASTER Registered Member