Virtualization and UEFI

Discussion in 'sandboxing & virtualization' started by Boyfriend, Feb 18, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Boyfriend

    Boyfriend Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Posts:
    1,070
    Location:
    Pakistan
    I have purchased a new Ultrabook (Asus K56C :D ) with UEFI support. I have installed UEFI Windows 8 Pro x64 on it. On MBR system with traditional BIOS, all currently famous virtualization products have support of Windows 8:

    Shadow Defender 1.2.0.370
    Toolwiz Time Freeze 1.9.5.0
    Deep Freeze Standard 7.xx
    Wondershare Time Freeze 2.0.3.0 (Unofficially Supported)
    Returnil System Safe (Beta)
    ....etc.

    I want to know about compatibility of these products with UEFI BIOS and GPT partitioning system as I am missing system virtualization on new Ultrabook :rolleyes:

    Thanks :cool:
     
  2. littleturle

    littleturle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2012
    Posts:
    102
    Location:
    US
    TTF should work with your new Ultrabook. It dose not change MBR.
     
  3. Robin A.

    Robin A. Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Posts:
    2,283
  4. Boyfriend

    Boyfriend Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Posts:
    1,070
    Location:
    Pakistan
  5. Solarlynx

    Solarlynx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    Posts:
    1,916
    TTF and SD worked nice on my comp with Win 7 x64 UEFI boot GPT disks. The same for a comp with Win 7 x64 MBR boot.
     
  6. Boyfriend

    Boyfriend Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Posts:
    1,070
    Location:
    Pakistan
    Thanks everyone for reply. I am using Shadow Defender 1.2.0.370 successfully on UEFI with GPT partitioning. It is stable and support sleep and hibernation.
     
  7. Boyfriend

    Boyfriend Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Posts:
    1,070
    Location:
    Pakistan
    I have defined 768 MB RAM for SD .370 on Windows 8 x64. I am facing a severe problem due to it. When all the specified RAM is used by SD and it starts to use HDD, laptop get shutdown immediately without any warning/error/BSOD/etc. It is causing me headache. I am trying it now with 0 MB RAM...
    Anyone else face this problem?
     
  8. Cutting_Edgetech

    Cutting_Edgetech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Posts:
    4,953
    Location:
    USA
    I would ask the developer of SD Tony. He should know the answer.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.