virtualbox w8.1 64bit 32GB and only 32bit OS host,why

Discussion in 'sandboxing & virtualization' started by mantra, Mar 28, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,158
    Hi
    i installed the last virtualbox VirtualBox-4.3.10-93012-Win under w8.1 pro 64bit
    and i noticed that only can be virtualized 32bit hosts

    so i uninstalled it and installed VirtualBox-4.3.8-92456-Win , and same
    can virtualize only 32bit operation system

    what's wrong?

    thanks
     
    Last edited: Mar 28, 2014
  2. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    5,089
  3. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,158
    yes my cpu support it
    maybe it's the last version for windows 8.1
     
  4. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    5,089
    Do you have 64 bit guest OS already installed and can't run it after VB update. Did you check in BIOS if virtualization is enabled? I will test latest version on my Windows 8.1 and see if I have the same problem.

    hqsec
     
  5. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,158
    no
    i have in the list only 32bit os :(
     
  6. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    5,089
    I just installed 64 bit Elementary OS on latest version of Virtualbox (on Windows 8.1 x64) with no problems. I would guess that you have virtualization disabled. Check your BIOS settings.

    hqsec
     
  7. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,158
    about bios , i have an asus and intel virtalizaion techology is ono_O
     
  8. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    5,089
    I don't know what else could be a problem. I have the same VirtualBox limitation on my laptop that doesn't support VT-x.

    hqsec
     
  9. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,158
    do you know i notice that virtual box uninstaller leaves the drivers , maybe too many updates mess up it
    is there a tool to maka a clean install
     
  10. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    5,089
  11. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,158
  12. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,158
    hi
    thanks
    i found 2 settings in the bios
    enabled , saved and i was able to virtualize 64bit
    i tried with osx montain lion but nothing :(
     
  13. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    5,089
    I've never tried to install OSX, so I can't help you with this problem. Maybe somebody else has more experience and will jump in.

    hqsec
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.