Virtualbox question

Discussion in 'sandboxing & virtualization' started by Atomas31, Oct 16, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Atomas31

Atomas31 Registered Member

Hi,

I have install virtualbox on my windows xp system (host) and created a vista machine (guest). Now, how do I isolate the guest system from the host system?

Right now, the AV of my host system check the browser on my guest machine and a scan with the AV on the guest machine also scan the files on the host machine... I don't want software from my host to interfer or see what going on on the guest machine and vice versa!!!

Thanks,
    Atomas31

2. philby

philby Registered Member

Isn't this a little weird? I'm not an expert but have been using VB for a long while and have never seen any security (Eset / Prevx / MBAM) on the host affect the guest at all.

philby

3. Raza0007

Raza0007 Registered Member

This is extremely odd. The whole point of a virtual environment is that it is isolated from the host environment. I do not see how your host AV can scan inside your virtual guest environment.

Are you sure you are not misreading the situation? perhaps you have installed your AV inside the guest too.

4. CogitoTesting

CogitoTesting Registered Member

No on-access scanning is possible. Nonetheless, if both the host and the guest share folders or even their C drives for example it will be possible for both host and guest to scan each other network drives. However, the host cannot perform any on-access scan on the guest; only on demand scan is possible and it has to be initiated by the user.

5. chrisretusn

chrisretusn Registered Member