VirtualBox 4.1.0 (2011-07-19)

Discussion in 'sandboxing & virtualization' started by Az7, Jul 19, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Az7

    Az7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2005
    Posts:
    139
    Download links...
    Changelog...
     
  2. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    5,123
    Location:
    USA
    I use Virtual Box and appreciate that they keep improving it. A feature I'd really like to see is the ability increase the size of the VM in conjunction with cloning/copying it. I don't know if that's possible, but a VM fills up just like a physical disk and being able to increase the size would be a real plus.
     
  3. Acadia

    Acadia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Posts:
    4,048
    Location:
    SouthCentral PA
    Can one install 4.1 over the old 4.0.x? If not, and you must uninstall the old, how does one save the VM that you have created?

    Thanks,
    Acadia
     
  4. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    5,123
    Location:
    USA
    I installed over 4.0x, no problem. If you were to uninstall it first I don't believe it would delete your VM, but to be safe I'd find the VM and move it to a different folder before uninstalling. Note there is also an update for the USB 2.0 virtual adapter - things won't work without it.
     
  5. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    Just uninstall your vm's will be kept.

    I used to install over the top but it caused issues and required multiple reboots on windows 7 to repair the install and reinstall the new.
     
  6. Hungry Man

    Hungry Man Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Posts:
    9,148
    I installed over and it's fine for me.
     
  7. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    4,050
    Location:
    USA
    I installed over and it's fine here as well. As for uninstall deleting your VM I have never seen this happen be it VirtualBox, VirtualPC, or VMWare.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.