virtual test network

Discussion in 'sandboxing & virtualization' started by oblue, Dec 4, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. oblue

    oblue Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2010
    Posts:
    14
    Hi guys

    While I am studying network books at home, I would like to create a virtual test network in my computer where I can do all sort of networking practices and have a better understanding of cyber attacks, network security, etc. So, is it possible to create such environment with at least two users (more better) where one will act as the attacker and the other one as the target. I have only one computer with two internal and one external hdd.

    Can I use vmware or virtualbox for that?

    Thank you in advance.
     
  2. vtol

    vtol Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Posts:
    774
    Location:
    just around the next corner
    indeed you could use vmware, vmlite or virtualbox, that if your hardware is upto it.as attacker you may deploy backtrack, even available as pre-configured appliance for vmware

    else there a a few documents on the inet about the subject.
     
  3. oblue

    oblue Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2010
    Posts:
    14
    Thanks for the hand, appreciated.
     
  4. Searching_ _ _

    Searching_ _ _ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Posts:
    1,988
    Location:
    iAnywhere
    I don't think VB or VMWare would be the best choice for network simulation. You can install Untangle or Smoothwall into a VM but not Cisco IOS.
    DD-WRT has a x86 version that can be installed in a VM.
    Maybe try GNS3, a virtualization simulator for networks.
    It is more enterprise oriented and I haven't determined if you can input consumer router OS's into the simulations. I have checked their forums and no clear answer.
    [thread]287208[/thread]
     
    Last edited: Dec 6, 2010
  5. vtol

    vtol Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Posts:
    774
    Location:
    just around the next corner
    :thumb: valid input/point. that would be way to go for the pro, to emulate enterprise routers

    here are live CDs
     
  6. vtol

    vtol Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Posts:
    774
    Location:
    just around the next corner
  7. oblue

    oblue Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2010
    Posts:
    14
    Nice info indeed, thanks guys.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.