Virtual PC 2007, Workstation 9.1 and UR

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by cymonguk, Sep 8, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. cymonguk

    cymonguk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    Posts:
    3
    I have restored an image from my old laptop setup successfully to a virtual PC (2007), in that the image was copied across, using UR.

    It will boot up with the XP loader screen,but then wont show me the login screen, I get a black blank screen. I am guessing that it hasnt resolved the virtual PC video drivers?

    Anyone tell me what drivers i should use? And am I correct? I tried using safe mode but that wouldnt work either
     
  2. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    Virtual PC emulates the S3 Trio 32/64 PCI Super VGA (SVGA) card. It is also VESA 2.0 compliant and standard VGA drivers should work.

    I'm surprised Safe Mode wouldn't boot since it uses standard VGA drivers.
     
    Last edited: Sep 8, 2007
  3. cymonguk

    cymonguk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    Posts:
    3
    ok i was a bit hasty, it did work, but and a huge but, the virtual pc is extraordinarily slow!!! it was just taking an age to come up.

    Any ideas my normal virtual pcs are normally very quick?
     
  4. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    Make sure you install the VM Additions once XP is up and running in the VM. It helps a lot.

    Both XP and Vista seem to run just as fast in my VM's as on the real computer. If your CPU/Computer supports Hardware Virtualization, enable that option as well.

    How much memory did you give the XP VM? How much is in your host computer?

    Have you "rebooted" the VM? Does it take a long time every time it starts?

    You might also check the Device Manager for any devices that no longer exist, but have drivers installed. If any are listed, perhaps removing them will help.
     
  5. cymonguk

    cymonguk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    Posts:
    3
    thanks coming up against a problem i didnt expect, registration of XP, ah, yes i know strictly what I am doing is illegal, as I would have a second machine using the same license (I am running the VM on my laptop). Didnt think of that..


    Damn, so it wont let me use the PC without registering to microsoft, but obviously in safe mode i cant register as I have no network..... but i cant go to my live pc coz there are no drivers for video...


    chicken.. egg
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.