VIPRE Premium uninstall problem

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by mind72, May 16, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mind72

    mind72 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2011
    Posts:
    32
    Have tried to uninstall Vipre Premium trial 4.0.482 with http://sunbelt-software.com/support/vc/VClean.exe as suggested by Nick in other thread. Unfortunately, after reboot Vipre is still there, even clean tool said that is uninstalled. If I try from add/remove program, it says 'drivers could not be installed! ?? 'Rolling back action / wizard interrupted before Vipre AP could be completely installed' o_O As a matter of fact I have used cleaner 10 days ago, and have been sure that Vipre was unistalled, until today when I saw it under programs!! ?? Can someone please tell me how this can be removed under W7 proo_O
     
  2. m0unds

    m0unds Guest

    that's the av removal tool. the "premium" one is: http://sunbelt-software.com/support/vc/VPPClean.exe

    referenced in their support forum and here: https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showpost.php?p=1825601&postcount=52
     
  3. mind72

    mind72 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2011
    Posts:
    32
    Last edited: May 16, 2011
  4. flaubert71

    flaubert71 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2011
    Posts:
    45
    I suggest,before uninstall,to stop protection and exit Vipre by tray-icon.Now Uninstall Vipre.
     
  5. mind72

    mind72 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2011
    Posts:
    32
    @flaubert71: There is no icon or protection running. Also, no Vipre as one of the programs listed in Start/All programs folder :doubt:
     
  6. stapp

    stapp Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Posts:
    7,270
    Location:
    England
    Have you tried reinstalling it then uninstalling it again? Sometimes that can fix any corruption in the uninstaller.
     
  7. Mongol

    Mongol Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Posts:
    1,581
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Maybe try going into safemode and running the uninstaller...o_O
     
  8. mind72

    mind72 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2011
    Posts:
    32
    Have just tried VPPClean.exe in safe mode, still there o_O o_O
     
  9. Mongol

    Mongol Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Posts:
    1,581
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    How long have you had Vipre installed? If you have restore points prior to the install you could try going back to one of those dates.
     
  10. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    5,828
    Location:
    Last Breath Farm
    stapp provided a good suggestion, and I didn't see a reply from you... he asked if you tried reinstalling it then uninstalling it again?
     
  11. m0unds

    m0unds Guest

    ^^ this will likely correct it. what you're seeing now is probably the regular AV uninstaller failing to remove the firewall drivers and processes. reinstalling, booting to safe mode and running vppclean would likely be your best bet.
     
  12. mind72

    mind72 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2011
    Posts:
    32
    Yes problem solved now, as suggested by support. It seems it has been there because use of older cleaning tool which removed drivers, without removing whole software. After that, AV uninstaller didn't been able to remove it from control panel (add/remove). Thanks all!
     
    Last edited: May 17, 2011
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.