Vipre - Buy one year get one year free until 11 Jul 2010

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Chubb, Jun 22, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Chubb

    Chubb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2005
    Posts:
    1,967

    Attached Files:

  2. AvinashR

    AvinashR Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Posts:
    2,060
    Location:
    New Delhi Metallo β-Lactamase 1
    Thanks for the update...Nice deal though. :D

    But NO money here...:(
     
  3. whitedragon551

    whitedragon551 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Posts:
    3,189
    Location:
    USA
    Even if you did it wouldnt be worth it. Their detections havent been released yet since they wont join a major tester. Their firewall also crashes PC's with the BSOD and if it doesnt it fails to actually filter programs in the sense that it will block even a safe or allowed program.
     
  4. ALookingInView

    ALookingInView Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Posts:
    365
    Calling a spade a spade is one thing, but you just come across as bitter when it comes to VIPRE.
    You got your copy free, right? o_O

    I agree that Sunbelt needs to start playing some bigger gigs. :ninja:

    Not a single BSOD here on either of the two machines I used to use it on and I also never experienced any blocking of allowed apps. o_O
     
  5. whitedragon551

    whitedragon551 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Posts:
    3,189
    Location:
    USA
    Sure did get my copy free and its not even worth it.

    There are plenty of issues of BSOD's and blocking white listed apps posted all over the place. Your one of the lucky few that it actually works for.
     
  6. AvinashR

    AvinashR Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Posts:
    2,060
    Location:
    New Delhi Metallo β-Lactamase 1
    If not using...Do share it with me..I would would love to test it.. :)
     
  7. NoIos

    NoIos Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Posts:
    607
    Vipre AV is actually great. I use it without any issues. Till now I have faced two issues:
    1. it does not play well with some other security software
    2. it happened on an win xp sp3 installation to lose the tray icon ( this is not sure that is Vipre's fault...some say it's winxp issue, personally believe it was a one time conflict with OA ).

    In any case Vipre is good and fits perfectly specially those that have "safe" habits online. The home site license is a perfect solution for a family with more than 3 PCs.
     
  8. Sportscubs1272

    Sportscubs1272 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2007
    Posts:
    340
    I got a free license from the Twitter deal. I thought I might had an alternative antivirus I could use. Boy, I was wrong when the darn thing wouldn't auto-update. I had the default settings and the whole bit turned on.
     
  9. NickHSunbelt

    NickHSunbelt Support Specialist

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Posts:
    177
    Location:
    Clearwater, Florida
    The BSOD issues we saw with VIPRE 4.0 were mostly related to our HIPS driver conflicting with other security software. We have actually released an update which greatly improves compatibility between this driver and other security software's drivers.

    As for the blocking white listed apps, I'm not really sure what you mean. The only thing I can think of is you may have allowed something through the firewall but it was actually being blocked by Web Filtering which is a different module completely. If this were the case then you could either add an exception in Web Filtering or disable unnecessary parts of Web Filtering such as Advertisement Blocking. In our next software update we have also added the ability to allow specific applications through Web Filtering without needing to determine what site it is communicating with.

    Were you able to update by manually clicking Update Now? Was this a laptop? If so, you may have had the "Conserve power when my laptop is running on battery" option enabled which would prevent you from updating automatically until the computer is plugged in. No matter what the problem, if you would like to try getting this working you can always contact our Support team and we'll be happy to determine why that wasn't working correctly for you.
     
  10. Doraemon

    Doraemon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Posts:
    202
    I'm an user of Sunbelt's CounterSpy and I have to say it's really a great addition to my arsenal. I'm now using it to protect my desktop PC alongside Avira Premium Security Suite, PrevX with SafeOnline, SUPERAntiSpyware Professional, KeyScrambler and Ad Muncher. I know, maybe too much... I just can't live without security apps... :ninja: Anyway, I'm having no slowdowns (believe it or not) with this setup and CounterSpy has always played well with other apps.

    OTOH I tried Vipre with firewall on my netbook alongside PrevX with SafeOnline but maaan that was bad! :'( It did give BSOD again and again... :ninja: Maybe I'll try it again now that I know that the issue has been resolved.

    I just wanted to point that it really amazes me that a company with the seriousness of Sunbelt can develop a top notch antispyware such as CounterSpy and OTOH give birth to an antivirus like Vipre with so many problems and still no proof of ratio of detections. Just weird... :cautious:
     
  11. stratoc

    stratoc Guest

    i would be amazed if my pc even started with all that on it! (4gz 6 core)
     
  12. Doraemon

    Doraemon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Posts:
    202
    I'm running all that ~ Snipped as per TOS ~ on an AMD Phenom X4 965 (3.4GHz) with 8GB RAM DDR3 and Win7 x64 Ultimate. And, really, the machine is fluid and no slowdowns at all! :argh: :eek:
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 23, 2010
  13. Brocke

    Brocke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Posts:
    2,191
    Location:
    USA,IA
    how is Vipre AV? what all does it include for protection. how are the detection rates of the product? ive never used the AV.


    thanks all
     
  14. Doraemon

    Doraemon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Posts:
    202
    OK, I tried Vipre again on my netbook, this time w/o the firewall. Specs: Atom N270, 2GB RAM, 250GB HDD, Win7 x32 Home Premium. Other security appz: Panda Cloud AV Pro, KeyScrambler, SpywareBlaster w/AutoUpdate and Ad Muncher.

    So far it eats less RAM than PCAV (22 MBs for PCAV vs. 18 MBs for Vipre). It feels light on the system and easy to PCAV (not like AVG who tried to "eat" PCAV all the time!). So I'm planning to take advantage of the 2 yrs. for the price of 1 yr. discount today or tomorrow. :argh:

    Also it's interesting to see that it feels like at home for CounterSpy users as Sunbelt just built Vipre on the same interface design and functionality.

    So kudos to Sunbelt for such a great product! :thumb: :cool: :D

    Now my only question is: are the detections fine or not? o_O
     
  15. NickHSunbelt

    NickHSunbelt Support Specialist

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Posts:
    177
    Location:
    Clearwater, Florida
    Doraemon,

    While VIPRE hasn't been included in many comparative tests yet, you can see our last VB100 RAP testing results here:

    http://sunbeltblog.blogspot.com/2010/04/vbs-rap-on-vipre.html

    We did unfortunately fail the last VB100 because of a false positive but you can see our detection rates are very solid and continually getting better.

    There are several other unofficial tests around that you can find with a quick google search or in other threads on this forum. We are also currently working with some comparative groups and will be included in several more comparative tests including AV-Comparatives in the near future.
     
  16. SweX

    SweX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Posts:
    6,429

    Yay! that's great to hear Nick:thumb:
     
  17. clocks

    clocks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,560
    I was surprised how well Vipre tested for me. The RAM use swings in a large range, but detection seemed really good.
     
  18. Brocke

    Brocke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Posts:
    2,191
    Location:
    USA,IA
    is the lifetime key worth the price anything think? i mean twister AV sure is. but how about Vipre?
     
  19. clocks

    clocks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,560
    I don't think they sell it anymore.
     
  20. NickHSunbelt

    NickHSunbelt Support Specialist

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Posts:
    177
    Location:
    Clearwater, Florida
    The lifetime license is actually an offer from HSN and can only be bought through them. It is available on their website.
     
  21. whitedragon551

    whitedragon551 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Posts:
    3,189
    Location:
    USA
    Youve been saying that for 6+ months.
     
  22. m0unds

    m0unds Guest

    that's awesome. my sole gripe with VIPRE has been that it's tough to figure out what VIPRE's blocking communication to--- in my case, it was login.live.com and the audioscrobbler servers. i was able to work around both after i saw someone had a similar issue on the sunbelt forums.

    @whitedragon551 no offense, but we get it -- you don't like VIPRE. you've made it abundantly clear in nearly every VIPRE thread that crops up with someone asking about it-- you don't like it. it works fine for plenty of folks, myself included (7 machines running it with no issues aside from the one i mentioned with the filtering module)



    to people asking if it's worth it---if you're wondering whether it'll work for your use, try it out. it's lightweight, scans extremely quickly and has good detection rates. sunbelt support is extremely receptive and they do a great job standing behind their products.
     
  23. whitedragon551

    whitedragon551 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Posts:
    3,189
    Location:
    USA
    I like the product fine if it worked. There has been numerous cases in this thread alone with nothing but issues. I call things how I see them and this is a half baked attempt.

    Its been 6+ months that they have been planning on getting into some comparatives and Nick says the same thing time after time yet still nothing at all. Sounds like they are totally behind their product when they cant even get it tested properly for users. If they cant bother getting it tested why should anyone bother using it?
     
  24. m0unds

    m0unds Guest

    the problem is that it doesn't work in *your* configuration. plenty of people, myself included, have no issues with it. making broad statements and proclamations like "it doesn't work" are plainly untrue. it does work for plenty of people. like any piece of software or hardware, there can be incompatibility issues that may cause problems.

    as far as comparative testing goes, if it bothers you that they haven't been included in av-comparatives, then by all means, continue not using their products.

    VIPRE's detections are adequate and in my testing (enterprise environment & home) as well as lots of other individuals' testing have proven to be on par (and in some cases, better than) other solutions. as nick suggested, anyone wanting to find out how their product performs can make a few quick searches and get an idea. i still think the better method is to download the trial and test it.
     
  25. Doraemon

    Doraemon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Posts:
    202
    I couldn't agree more. I had my doubts since some weeks ago I had BSODs with the Premium edition and decided to give up on VIPRE for some time. Now that I decided to test it again and having seen that it performs in an outstanding way I couldn't be happier! Yesterday I bought the Home Site License with a free 12 extra months license (World Cup discount). :D :argh:

    So, in brief, people should test it w/o prejudices and see for themselves how it performs in their systems. I'm pretty sure that many of you would decide to give it a go and purchase some licenses! :thumb: :cool:
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.