VIPRE 3&4: New Low FootPrint King?

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Templar, Dec 17, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Templar

    Templar Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Posts:
    114
    hi..

    Any one else testing Vipre 4 or using Vipre 3?

    I'm using their Vipre 4 Beta on my windows 7 notebook and with every single feature enabled, IDS, HIPS, Web protection etc. this fully featured light weight security suite is working like Swiss clockwork.

    I want a security suite, preferably with a firewall that gives me advanced options, that's light weight, doesn't annoy me with popups, works as a protection and most importantly doesn't weigh down my comp.

    Vipre seems like a clear winner in corporate environments where it's important to get the most out of the hardware as long as possible and any one else that doesn't need Parental Control.

    Only thing that's missing are a few professional independant reviews which I understand that a newcomer shuns away from to start with but I get the feeling Vipre will soon be ready for the big time.

    Definately software worth cheching out.

    Simon
     
  2. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    Vipre is light, but looking at its IO Reads/Writes, CPU Time, and System boot time compared to Avast v5 beta its still heavier in every circumstance, heavier than A-Squared even (which is an on-execute scanner) but other than those 2 products, it is indeed lighter than any other ive tried (Avira, Kaspersky, GDATA, F-Secure, Mcafee, and a few others that i cant remember.)
     
  3. TheIgster

    TheIgster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    Posts:
    645
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    Do you have stats somewhere on this?

    I am loving this Avast 5 Beta, but also am a big Vipre fan. Just curious...thanks.
     
  4. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    just comparing it on my live system and my clean VM system, and the results are pretty much the same for both.
     
  5. NickHSunbelt

    NickHSunbelt Support Specialist

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Posts:
    177
    Location:
    Clearwater, Florida
    Disabling logging by going to Help > About > Support Tools will probably help with that. I don't know when you tried running VIPRE last but we did have an issue with one of the releases where VIPRE would scan it's own logs although it wasn't supposed to. That has been resolved but disabling logging will still improve this.

    As for system boot time, this will be different on each system depending on what software is loading at startup, the types of files being scanned, the definitions file being used, and of course hardware.
     
  6. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    i tried it like a month ago. and ye i know startup will be diff on each system, just on my system with everything the same, each product had diff times and Vipre was slightly longer than Avast v5 and A2.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.