Vipre - 3.1.2708

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Smiggy, Mar 17, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Smiggy

    Smiggy Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Posts:
    209
    Location:
    The Angel Isle
    Anyone got any info on a changelog for this new version or knows what the changes are?

    Anyone, anyone, Beuller, Beuller......................Inspector Clouseau??

    :D
     
  2. Chubb

    Chubb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2005
    Posts:
    1,967
    This is the VIPRE consumer hotfix released to the public.
     
  3. Durad

    Durad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2005
    Posts:
    591
    Location:
    Canada
    Is advanced heuristic by Inspector included into VIPRE now?
     
  4. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    VX-M is already a part of VIPRE.
     
  5. Durad

    Durad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2005
    Posts:
    591
    Location:
    Canada
    what is new in this version?
     
  6. PeterHSunbelt

    PeterHSunbelt Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    Posts:
    25
    Hello Everyone, Here is a list of the changes made in the 3.1.2708 update.

    Currently this version is not being sent out automatically because of an issue related to Limited user accounts some uses have encountered. They may leave it as the same version number, or it will be a slightly higher one then 2708.


    1. Fixed a bug in the ThreatNet transfer logic, which resulted in a crash when trying to send very large files.
    2. Change to fix bug in Outlook that gave the “Operation failed” message
    3. Fixed several memory leaks in the Vipre base code.
    4. Added code to make sure that the user email address and name fields entered are not too long for SKMS to handle.
    5. New logic added for VirtuMonde detection and remediation.
    6. Changes for the new MBR rootkit detection.
    7. New logic for additional detection methods.
    8. Fixed a start-up bug that wasn’t apparent until the 3.2 core was released.
    9. Fixed a bug that prevents the Email settings tab from being shown if the user account has an ‘&’ in it (for example, “Bill & Sue”).
    10. Made a change to check for updates within the hour before a scheduled scan, instead of immediately before a scheduled scan. (Overloading the download server.)
    11. Add logic to check for and validate the MD5 of files downloaded from Spurs. Thus if a download fails, the service will know it and re-try the download.
    12. Fix UI crashes for double click in the white space (not on an item) on list views.
    13. Code change to the PC Explorer, so that the PC Explorer controls are not loaded until the user goes to the PC Explorer screen. This was causing a very slow startup of the UI with 100% cpu utilization. (Server Busy messages)
    14. Fix a bug in the tray where it reported the wrong service state after a system wakes up from sleep mode.
    15. New logic for AP to detect bad files being “pushed” to the computer from another computer. AP has been modified to detect these types of file transfers and scan files put onto a machine this way.
    16. Fix AP bug to properly handle prompts that are in the queue.

    More technical agent changes:
    17. Added logic in the Threat Engine to continue cleaning traces even when cleaning one trace fails.
    18. Changed the UI scan results details popup to show when traces could not be cleaned by adding a new “Clean Failed” column on the traces list.
    19. Fix to put cleaner failures of file infectors into the cleaner errors collection in the scan results xml.
    20. Modify quarantine behavior to write quarantine record xml if at least one trace was successfully cleaned. Previously if the cleaning of one or more traces failed the quarantine record xml would not get written even if some traces had been quarantined.
    21. Fix bug where the quarantine list would try to put an empty object into the quarantine list when the quarantine of an item failed
    22. Fixed a bug in the threat engine to leave files alone when an infected file could not be cleaned. Previously the files were quarantined but did not show up in the quarantine list. This could cause problems if critical files were infected and quarantined.
    23. Changed the default setting for AP from Medium to Low.

    Please contact us at Support@sunbeltsoftware.com if you have any questions or problems with this new version.
     
  7. spm

    spm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2002
    Posts:
    437
    Location:
    U.K.
    Does Vipre yet have a command line scanner that can be used to scan selected files and/or folders?

    Are there any plans for the Enterprise version to support Exchange 2003 and 2007?
     
  8. PeterHSunbelt

    PeterHSunbelt Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    Posts:
    25
    Spm,
    There is a command line scanner in the Vipre directory you can use to run scans.

    There is also Vipre rescue which can be run from a USB drive so you can scan a machine you don't want to boot off of. You can find out more about it here, Live.sunbeltsoftware.com

    For your question on the enterprise version and Exchange, do you mean will it scan the Exchange Information Store, or is it some other option or feature? Let me know and I can find the answer for you.
     
  9. spm

    spm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2002
    Posts:
    437
    Location:
    U.K.
    But that can't be used to scan selected files and/or folders. All it can be used for is to perform a full system scan (either a quick scan or a deep scan). I really don't understand why you have decided not to provide such a basic feature. It means Vipre can't be used from apps that support command line scanner integration.

    I was hoping that you'd changed this in the latest version, but obviously not.

    No, it must not scan the Exchange Information Store. That can cause all sorts of problems. Exchange defines an API for a/v products to support. Looking on your web site, it seems this isn't supported either. Oh well, never mind. I was trying to find out whether Vipre was yet a viable alternative for our business clients. It seems not.
     
  10. PeterHSunbelt

    PeterHSunbelt Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    Posts:
    25
    You are correct, at this time there is not a switch to specify a location, I will make a feature request for it tho.


    At this time it does not scan Exchange Information Store, but you didn't say in your original post what part of exchange your question was about. I wanted to make sure I understood what kind of compatibility question you had.
     
  11. Fly

    Fly Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Posts:
    2,069
    Is VIPRE ready for IE 8 ?
     
  12. PeterHSunbelt

    PeterHSunbelt Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    Posts:
    25
    Not at this time, we are still working to make sure that Vipre will work with IE 8 correctly.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.