Vipre 2017 Release

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by hayc59, Aug 9, 2016.

  1. hayc59

    hayc59 Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Posts:
    2,295
    Location:
    South Of Thee Border Ese Güey
  2. hawki

    hawki Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Posts:
    2,508
    Location:
    DC Metro Area
    Pro version (v. 9.3) had perfect scores in the past two AV Comparatives Real World tests.

    June: 100% blocking zero fps

    http://chart.av-comparatives.org/chart1.php

    May: 100% blocking zero fps

    http://chart.av-comparatives.org/chart1.php

    PC Mag was less than impressed with its firewall. It failed 29 out of 30 of the CORE Impact penetration tool tests.

    https://www.coresecurity.com/core-impact
    "...it blocked exactly one at the network level. Its antivirus component wiped out the malicious payload for a few others. But overall Vipre did little to defend against exploits..."

    http://www.pcmag.com/article2/0,2817,2471672,00.asp

    NB: The PC Mag Test was done in March. 2016. Dunno if 2017 Version has an improved firewall. U.S. Site does not have 2017 up yet so dunno.
     
    Last edited: Aug 9, 2016
  3. Fly

    Fly Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Posts:
    2,092
    It's certainly not cheap ... in euros anyway.

    It does have a 'history'.
     
  4. hawki

    hawki Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Posts:
    2,508
    Location:
    DC Metro Area
    The Pro Version (has advanced protection and which was used in AV Comparatives) in U.S. is $59.95 for 1 PC. Don't think I have seen a more expensive one.
     
  5. Rasheed187

    Rasheed187 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    9,145
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    No screenshots on the homepage? Very unprofessional.
     
  6. hawki

    hawki Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Posts:
    2,508
    Location:
    DC Metro Area
    There are free trial downloads.
     
  7. Papusan

    Papusan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2016
    Posts:
    147
    Location:
    Romania
    Which scanning engine does VIPRE use?

    seems like it has a high performance impact according to AV Comparatives' latest performance test
     
  8. entropism

    entropism Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Posts:
    434
    Didn't they start using BitDefender's engine when they "remade" Vipre? Plus Threat Track's hueristic engine?
     
  9. gery

    gery Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Posts:
    1,864
    BD i think
     
  10. Securon

    Securon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Posts:
    1,957
    Location:
    London On
    Good Afternoon! I have a license for Vipre Security Pro 2017...it has both engines in Bitdefender and it's own in house engine! And having the Bitdefender engine has been a Big Plus in it's ratings lately...A/V Comparitives...being the most prominent! The firewall has Hips as a Component...it's never had any negative impact on my system...but a plus none the less. Mind you as we all know Firewall's are always being continuously upgraded or modified in some way shape or form. I believe and this is merely a guess on my part; that the Firewall on Vipre has been as it is for the last four to five years. But my summation is it's light on my system, very easy to use...if your not experienced in tweeking Firewall settings,contact Threat Track...Vipre support; I've always had supportive response from them in regards too my questions! Vipre is worth your while! Sincerely...Securon
     
  11. bigwrench9

    bigwrench9 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Posts:
    58
Loading...