Vipre 2013 6.0.5381

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Tarnak, Jul 30, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    3,875
    Just got this upgrade less than one hour ago...Just checked the GFI forums, and it looks like a beta.;)
     
  2. Securon

    Securon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Posts:
    1,935
    Location:
    London On
    Good Evening ! Tarnak...having Vipre in my arsenal...and if you're a Beta Tester keep us up to date on your experiences with any new improvements. The firewall and reduced scan times are just two things of note that I believe need to be improved. Sincerely...Securon
     
  3. Legendkiller

    Legendkiller Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Posts:
    1,052
    would love to try it...
     
  4. Duradel

    Duradel Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2010
    Posts:
    363
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Screen shots please.
     
  5. quanzi_1507

    quanzi_1507 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    Posts:
    320
  6. quanzi_1507

    quanzi_1507 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    Posts:
    320
  7. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    The old interface looks better. It's just more consistent where new one has buttons that look weird compared to other parts of the interface...
     
  8. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    5,828
    Location:
    Last Breath Farm
    Darn near a mirror image! I bet they put a lot of hours into designing the new UI. :rolleyes:

    VIPRE new version comparison.jpg
     
  9. quanzi_1507

    quanzi_1507 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    Posts:
    320
    Rest assured :rolleyes:, only the dashboards look the same. According to the changelog other parts of the GUI have undergone some sort of change.

     
  10. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    I'm sure there was a lot of hand wringing on whether or not to remove the blue update now button.
     
  11. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    5,828
    Location:
    Last Breath Farm
    A little more emphasis on detections and a little less emphasis on GUI would be fine with me.
     
  12. quanzi_1507

    quanzi_1507 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    Posts:
    320
    Do I smell sarcasm? :ninja: Anyway removing the blue "update now" button makes it more logical IMO, since if the definitions are current anyway. If they are not, a red "update now" button will appear along with a big red X.

    BTW, I'm not sure about the old version but the new installer includes all these tasks: downloading the latest version, installing new updates, scanning your computer for the first time, etc. It might take time but once installed it will not display any red X or alerts, while other AVs often strike you with a "YOU ARE NOT SAFE" notification the first time you use it, which scares people away or gives them bad impressions about the program.
     
  13. malexous

    malexous Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Posts:
    828
    Location:
    Ireland
  14. Securon

    Securon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Posts:
    1,935
    Location:
    London On
    Good Evening ! Just downloaded Vipre 2013 I.S....very smooth...still too early to assess overall performance...their have been a few enhancements like easy update that informs you of apps that might need updating...somewhat Secunia like. I'm more concerned about scanning and the Firewall's behaviour. Stay Tuned...Sincerely...Securon
     
  15. Securon

    Securon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Posts:
    1,935
    Location:
    London On
    Good Morning ! Ran a Custom Scan roughly 80 minutes...and this morning a Deep Scan...roughly 105 minutes... both I find to be respectable in regards to past releases. But the main attribute I find to be impressive is simply in surfing...no hang time...or time outs...so far it seems to be lighter and simply more responsive. So far a very decent release. Sincerely...Securon
     
  16. Rompin Raider

    Rompin Raider Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,228
    Location:
    North Texas
    Glad to hear it's light. Anxious to hear what you think!:thumb:
     
  17. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    3,875
    I am currently running v6.0.5449, and you can tell from the screenshot, that I have been running Vipre for quite a long time. :)

    ScreenShot_Vipre_v6.0.5449RC_01.jpg
     
  18. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    3,875
    Hello,

    I never run the full scan because it takes a long time, due to the setup of my system, which has several snapshots, that make it impractical. So I just make do with the occasional quick scan. ;)

    ScreenShot_Vipre_v6.0.5449RC_03.jpg

    It is light...:)

    ScreenShot_Vipre_v6.0.5449RC_02.jpg
     
  19. Tarnak

    Tarnak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Posts:
    3,875
    Also, I find PC Explorer, a handy feature...

    ScreenShot_Vipre_v6.0.5449RC_04.jpg
     
  20. sportsfan7700

    sportsfan7700 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Posts:
    495
    Location:
    Fort Worth, Texas USA "Where the West Begins"
    With my specs, would it be advisable to trial this in your opinion? I'm trying to decide on my 2013 setup as I still have a license good till 2014...What are your opinions so far.

    Trying to get the system as speedy as possible..Matt
     
  21. Legendkiller

    Legendkiller Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Posts:
    1,052
  22. PaulBB

    PaulBB Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Posts:
    708
    Any chance to see the RAM usage of the new 2013 version? Thanks!
     
  23. PJC

    PJC Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Posts:
    2,959
    Location:
    Internet
    The GUI rocks! :thumb:
     
  24. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    5,828
    Location:
    Last Breath Farm
    Per Nick Hallin, GFI Software Test Engineer...
    I did update this way and it works fine. :)

    Per DanR on the GFI forums...
    He is absolutely correct. The new internal program updater is something that VIPRE has needed for a long time, and I'm really pleased that they finally implemented it. :thumb:
     
  25. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.