Video Card problem - Your advice?

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Capp, May 16, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Capp

Capp Registered Member

Hey guys,
    Something interesting.

I have a nVidia GeForce3 video card that I have been running with no problems since 2001. I have not updated or re-installed the video driver's since I installed. Yesterday, I get home from work and see a "no signal found" message on the monitor. It won't go away and the monitor is plugged in just fine. I do a soft-reboot and it comes back up and makes it to the desktop. I check the event viewer and it says that the nVidia driver got stuck in a loop and it could be an indicator of a hardware or software problem. Then it does it again, so I reboot into safe mode. I checked nVidia's website and grab the most recent driver update for my card and install it with no problems.

After Windows finishes loading and it gets to the login screen, it goes back to what it was doing before "No signal found".

I can boot to safe mode just fine and have no problems with the video. I checked the device manager and it isn't showing any problems and it will work for hours just fine in safe mode.

So, my question is....with the info provided above, does anyone think this is a slowly failing graphics card or do you think something hosed my video driver? Any ideas on anything to try too?

2. Rico

Rico Registered Member

Hi Capp,

Crazy 1's & 0's! Is the graphics card running hot? Hmmm! That's probably not helpful. Is it an AGP card? Did you take it out & try reseating it? Does the MB have its own onboard video, & does this have the same problem. Safe mode, bypasses the nVidia driver, so my guess is the new nvidia driver has not been trashed. Do you have an alternate video card to try?

Good Luck & Take Care
    Rico

3. Capp

Capp Registered Member

Hey Rico,