Very Disappointed

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Garris, Mar 4, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Garris

    Garris Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Posts:
    5
    Sorry, as a computer programmer, as a Tivoli administrator, as an IT guy, I have to say, I think I know a thing or two about computers and software. And for those reason, I have to say that my opinion is taken by others with some serious consideration.

    In my opinion, Acronis True Image is a very poorly conceived piece of software that should be considered amateur quality at best. I would not recommend purchasing it, but it will get the job done if you happen to get a free copy.

    My first complaint is addressed by my first post in these forums. The documentation doesn't specify that the incremental/differential backups must use the same name as the full. Admittedly, this is just an annoying problem. I don't mind the way in which it works, it just isn't well documented.

    I came this evening to figure out why the schedule tasks are not running on schedule. I have to manually trigger them. This computer stays online 24x7. There is no reason for these backups to be missed. I'd hate to think of what undocumented flag I didn't set now.

    While searching for an answer to that, I come across a troubling thread: Deletion differential backups (https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=194034).

    In this thread there is a post by an Acronis representative:

    This is flatly wrong.

    My full backup currently is in six files. What if next week, the amount of data being backed up causes the number of full backup files to span to seven? If I had followed this advice and deleted Backup7.tib before each differential, then I would be deleting part of my full backup.

    Someone made the point that the new differential doesn't overwrite the previous in the event that the new differential fails. If it had overwritten the previous, then you'd've lost your differential. Well, the full overwrites the last full, so if it fails you have no backup at all.

    Simply put, the software itself should be smart enough to remove the previous differential after it validates the new one.

    If anyone wants to suggest things to check in order to get the scheduled tasks to run on schedule, that would be appreciated.

    If anyone wants to suggest lightweight backup and restore software that really does work, that would be appreciated even more.

    -Travis
     
  2. jmk94903

    jmk94903 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    3,329
    Location:
    San Rafael, CA
    In recent reviews by major computer magazines such as PC Magazine, True Image has lost it's Editor Choice standing. A key comment was that Acronis is spending too much time on adding new features while not fixing long standing problems. I think many of us would agree with this evaluation. Quality control is not job one at Acronis unfortunately. New builds and new versions are offered with many bugs which the users are left to discover.

    Echoiing your experience, why scheduling should be so difficult is a mystery to me. I have given up using True Image scheduled backups after so many different versions have failed to backup automatically for unexplained reasons. That greatly reduces the value of True Image and the number of situations in which I can recommend it.

    If Acronis were willing to license the software from Microsoft to create a Windows based boot disk, a great many hardware recovery problems would be eliminated. Other software developers have chosen this route, so perhaps it is the future for Acronis. Or perhaps not.

    You might want to search the PC Magazine online archives for their reviews of alternative imaging software which would better suit your needs.
     
    Last edited: Mar 4, 2008
  3. Joe in PA

    Joe in PA Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    Posts:
    24
    I'm in total agreement with the previous two posts. A few days ago, I reached the end of my patience with TI 11, and completely uninstalled it from all of my systems.

    In my 15 years of working with computers, I've never seen an application with the bugs and shortcomings that TI has. As for those who claim it's awesome software, more power to you. Consider yourself lucky.

    In my case, I got fed up with...

    1. The master boot record corruption
    2. The corruption of generic volumes
    3. The program causing USB flash drives to stop working entirely without a reboot.
    4. The unpredictability of image files.
    5. The program's overdependency on hardware.
    6. The flat out stupidity of some of the workings and functions of the program in general.
    7. The sorry excuse for a User's Guide.

    I want my freakin' money back, although I doubt that's gonna happen.

    As of today, my frustrating experience with Acronis has ended. I'm going back to the program that's served me well since 2001... Norton Ghost. That's right... Norton Ghost.

    And finally... as for the system builder (i.e., *ssclown) who recommended Acronis to me in the first place... I want nothing more than to knock his head off.
    And to add insult to injury, on his system builder website, he no longer includes Acronis with his systems. He switched to Paragon. All the more reason for me to wanna to kick his sorry behind.

    Goodbye Acronis. I'm never gonna deal with you again.
     
    Last edited: Mar 5, 2008
  4. shieber

    shieber Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    3,710
    Can you tell us specifically, which magazines have dropped their rating for the reason you cited?

     
  5. Garris

    Garris Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Posts:
    5
    Now that the scheduled tasks are working, they corrupt my iTunes library files every single time.

    I'm uninstalling Acronis. I give up. I want my money back. This is crap.
     
  6. jmk94903

    jmk94903 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    3,329
    Location:
    San Rafael, CA
  7. demoneye

    demoneye Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Posts:
    1,356
    Location:
    ISRHell
    HI YO

    i can add also my bad impression of ATI , i just uninstall it in order to install disk clone 5 from farstone. but i cant coz ATI left some blocking keys in the reg area.

    i connect ati support and they give me the keys need to be taken.
    realy amuture behavior of a company which add EC in pcmagaine.

    i agree with all posters in here. this software is realy not worth the price , actuley i want install it for free:argh:

    cheers:mad:
     
  8. photogman

    photogman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Posts:
    35
    I read this thread and followed it to PC Magazine's Review. Happened to read the magazine's review and other users' review of ShadowProtect.

    It does the few simple things required of great backup software (not the goofy extra bells and whistles) and it does them very well. That did it for me. I will be moving to ShadowProtect immediately! Life just became less stressful. For some people, fortunately not me, just their daily presence on this forum has kind of been an addictive self-help group, by choice originally, but now it's almost counterculture for some. Life is too short spending it almost incessantly on a forum looking for answers or work-arounds to run a program that should be much easier to run than True Image.

    What's I find almost incredible is how people stay with this program believing it will improve, almost like repeating the same thing over and over again expecting different results and we all know what the meaning of that is....
     
  9. GroomLake

    GroomLake Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Posts:
    116
    Here at the Data Center we test applicants on their ability to read and comprehend and can take appropriate action.
     
  10. Sam49

    Sam49 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    Posts:
    29
    Ok i have read what has been said about TI 11 and i agree i have used both v10 and 11 in the last few years with some sucsess but now i am running a dual boot system with XP and Vista and TI will not restore a full image and i have had to reinstall Vista approx 5 time now, its rubish as a full system backup.

    So what do i use now i have down loaded the trial varsion og Ghost Ver 14 but i am unable to make a full system backup i have to do it one partition at a time and this upsets the matser boot record. also the trial version does not let you make a boot cd so how can i tell if te resotre works.
    I have also tried Paragon Drice Image but when i try to select the image file to restore it just crashes.

    So what do i use o_O? please
     
  11. photogman

    photogman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Posts:
    35
    So what do you use? You try the trial version of the desktop version of ShadowProtect. Enough said.
     
  12. bcool2

    bcool2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2005
    Posts:
    83
    Location:
    The Ozarks
    Or... or you stay put with TI9 b2,337. Solid version & build - has never failed me once other than a software conflict which wasn't its fault at all.
    You others can deal with the bloat. :cool:

    Edit: Sorry, I haven't a clue if TI9 works on Vista.
     
    Last edited: Mar 9, 2008
  13. Sam49

    Sam49 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    Posts:
    29
    Hi will true image 9 work with vista, plus acronis always say use the latest version.

    regards
     
  14. DwnNdrty

    DwnNdrty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Posts:
    3,335
    Location:
    Florida - USA
    It will ... but with the bootable Rescue CD only. I don't think you can install the software on Vista, though I've never tried it.
     
  15. Tatou

    Tatou Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    Posts:
    150
    TI 10 and TI 9 work for me. Rock solid but I just use them to restore and backup complete drives using BArtPE with Mustang's plugin for restore and I have a pretty bog standard Desktop box

    Also have VistaPE and plugins which also works OK

    For a complete picture of Shadow Protect read the support forums as well as the reviews.
     
  16. The Sand

    The Sand Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Posts:
    218
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California
    I just want to say those people who are here on a regular basis to help others have been a real blessing for me. I only recenlty ran into a problem that I can't find the answer to. Most of the time when I post here it is a "how to" question and I certainly have benefitted from their vast knowledge of Acronis products.

    I hope it makes them feel good about themselves - like charity work... for it is "charity" when you take the time to help others without payment. Most times they don't even get a "thank you." I am grateful they are here...

    Sandy
     
  17. Joe in PA

    Joe in PA Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    Posts:
    24
    Adding to my previous post...

    When I mentioned that I was going back to Ghost, I failed to mention that I went back to Ghost 2002. Granted, I had to convert my software partitions back to FAT32, but considering the poor quality of imaging software nowadays, it's a small price to pay for simple, DOS based, RELIABLE cold imaging.
    The reason I bring this all up is simple... the versions of Ghost since 9.0 make Acronis look like a godsend. If you think that things will be better with any version of Ghost newer than 2002 or 2003, you're wrong. Ghost is actually far worse than Acronis; even with all of TI's bugs. Symantec in general went down the crapper a long time ago, but that's a story best left for another thread.

    The only safe and somewhat reliable way to use Acronis is to run it from the bootable CD. It's not perfect, but it's a much better alternative than having the whole program on your computer. Just be prepared for brutally long image creation and restore times. And along with that, at least you'll be getting some return on your investment.
     
    Last edited: Mar 9, 2008
  18. jmk94903

    jmk94903 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    3,329
    Location:
    San Rafael, CA
    TI 9 can't be installed in Vista, so you can only use it from the CD.

    TI 9 doesn't support lots of new hardware, especially SATA configurations and RAID configurations, so you are dead in the water if you have a new system that isn't supported.

    My new Dell Vostro 1000, a $440 Sempron notebook - far from state of the art - will only work with TI 10 or later. With TI 9, the internal SATA hard drive is invisible.

    So, old versions of TI are fine for old hardware, but new hardware will force you to upgrade.
     
  19. shieber

    shieber Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    3,710
    Certainly this doesn't happen on all systems. Is it the library (the data index and store) or the music files that are being corrupted?

     
  20. shieber

    shieber Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    3,710
  21. shieber

    shieber Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    3,710
    Egad. Reformatting back to Fat just to use DOS based Ghost? You are a dedicated fellow. I still think ATI 10 beats out the Dos-based imagers by a wide margin, given it's abiltiy to backup while running windows, have automated backup file managment (not jsut scheduling), and works on a wide variety of platforms. Of course, ATI 11 has faults in all those areas and I wouldn't recommend its use. But ATI 110 over the old Dos-Based? . . .

     
  22. jmk94903

    jmk94903 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    3,329
    Location:
    San Rafael, CA
    You are correct. I exagerated. Actually, I thought I'd seen another review with similar comments to the PC Mag review, but I can't find it, so it was probably that I read the same review in two places. Ziff Davis sends out links to the same stuff via different emails, so I got confused.
     
  23. Sugaree

    Sugaree Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Posts:
    14
    Location:
    ...in a van down by the river!
    Maybe you're looking at the wrong software.

    Haven't you heard of Symantec Backup Exec System Recovery? They make both a desktop and server version. Allows you to image the drives while the box is running, unlike Ghost that you must shutdown the PC for imaging the C partition.

    No voodoo with Symantec BESR, it just plain works. Period, end of story!
     
  24. Earthling

    Earthling Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    Posts:
    604
    Location:
    UK
    Tosh! In my XP+Vista dual boot I've got Ghost 9 in XP and ATI 11 in Vista. The SATA drives in this box completely defeated ATI but Ghost has had no problem at any time. ATI 11 was so problem ridden that I was effectively unable to use it until I came here and found out about using it in VistaPE.
     
  25. motiger

    motiger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2004
    Posts:
    65
    Ide be happy to go back to v10 if I could figure out how to get rid of all the registry entries that keep telling me I can't do this. I still feel it was a great program back in the v7-10 days. What a shame they went for the money and not the quality. If they wanted to do us a favor they could write a program that would get us back to v10.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.