version 2.07 problem

Discussion in 'LnS English Forum' started by cet, Oct 17, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. cet

    cet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2006
    Posts:
    867
    Location:
    Turkey/İzmir
    I installed the version 2.07 on top of 2.06.
    I used this link.
    Now the firewall is working,I see filtered packets in the welcome page.But the log page is blank,nothing is written there.I rebooted twice but it is still the same.
     
  2. Gamer

    Gamer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Posts:
    38
    Works fine for me and i didnt reboot.

    Make sure "Log File" on "Options" tab is checked.
     
  3. Creer

    Creer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Posts:
    1,345
    +1. New version works smooth here so far.
    Good work Frederic :thumb:
     
  4. cet

    cet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2006
    Posts:
    867
    Location:
    Turkey/İzmir
    I went back to the previous version.
    Ok I tried the new version again,fresh install now it is working.
     
    Last edited: Oct 17, 2009
  5. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,011
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
  6. cet

    cet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2006
    Posts:
    867
    Location:
    Turkey/İzmir
    Thanks Triple Helix.Those pages are very informative.
     
    Last edited: Oct 17, 2009
  7. Mongol

    Mongol Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Posts:
    1,581
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    A new version and as usual nary a single problem. Great work Frederic...:thumb: :cool:
     
  8. Frederic

    Frederic LnS Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Posts:
    4,354
    Location:
    France
    Thanks all for your support :cool:

    Frederic
     
  9. Frederic

    Frederic LnS Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Posts:
    4,354
    Location:
    France
    Are you using the 64 bits version, with the protocol detection enabled ?

    Frederic
     
  10. cet

    cet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2006
    Posts:
    867
    Location:
    Turkey/İzmir
    No,I am using the 32 bit version.
     
  11. Frederic

    Frederic LnS Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Posts:
    4,354
    Location:
    France
    Ok, in that case I don't know why the log was empty with your first try.
    If the number of filtered packets were changing in the welcome tab, normally it was working fine. However, only filtered packets with a rule having the log attributes are written to the log tab.

    Regards,

    Frederic
     
  12. Creer

    Creer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Posts:
    1,345
    Hi Frederic,

    I'm new in L'n'S, I noticed high number of Filtered packets in uplink, they are still counting almost every few seconds - what does it mean in fact? Should I be worried about this? Please have a look at the screen on the values - it's after ~15 hours since reboot.

    lns_filter.png


    Thanks,
    Creer
     
  13. Frederic

    Frederic LnS Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Posts:
    4,354
    Location:
    France
    Hi Creer,

    It depends on the packets being blocked.
    Do you have log entries for these packets ?

    If you don't have log entries, then it means it's a rule without logging packet which filters these packets. For instance, it could be one of these rules:
    UDP : Block WS-Discovery/3702
    UDP : Block UPnP/1900
    UDP : Block LLMNR/5355

    From the console window (which opens when you select the "Console" checkbox in the options) you can also get statistics per rule.

    Regards,

    Frederic
     
  14. Creer

    Creer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Posts:
    1,345
    Hi Frederic,

    Yes you are right. I don't have log entries for this packets in Log tab.

    I'm not sure if it is what you asked:
    lns_fl3.png

    So should I do something with this or leave it as it is? o_O


    Regards,
    Creer
     
  15. cet

    cet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2006
    Posts:
    867
    Location:
    Turkey/İzmir
    Creer I only see the filtered packet numbers on the welcome page.But from your picture I can see the megabyte value.How can I enable it?
    As you see I cannot see that value.
     

    Attached Files:

  16. Creer

    Creer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Posts:
    1,345
    Hi Cet,

    Yeah I know what you feeling right now - I discovered this by accident - just spread L'n'S window a little bit, et voila :)
     
  17. cet

    cet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2006
    Posts:
    867
    Location:
    Turkey/İzmir
    Thanks,but I am laughing to myself.I had even googled it and could not find a solution.Today is not my smart day.LOL
     
  18. Creer

    Creer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Posts:
    1,345
    I forgot to mention that I use router and I have disabled UPnP in router settings.

    Here is a properties from this event in Logs tab:
    lns_ipv6.png

    And screen from Logs Tab:
    lns_ipv6_2.png

    Is it normal? o_O
     
    Last edited: Oct 19, 2009
  19. Frederic

    Frederic LnS Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Posts:
    4,354
    Location:
    France
    Yes, these packets are normal.
    Your PC tries to find UPnP devices, even if you disabled that on your router.

    I don't know if there is a way to also disable that in Windows, to avoid these packets.

    Note that by default this blocking rule doesn't write packets to the log, but drop them silently.

    Regards,

    Frederic
     
  20. Creer

    Creer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Posts:
    1,345
    Hi Frederic,

    Thank you for your reply.

    Yes, you are right this rule is in L'n'S blocked by default.
    I turn on them only for showing you logs. Anyway, I think that UPnP in my case is not needed so I've found how to disable UPnP in Windows, maybe someone find it useful:

    To manually disable UPnP/SSDP in Windows 2000/XP/Vista/7:
    • Go to Start Menu-->Run...
    • Type "services.msc" and click OK
    • Find the service named "Universal Plug and Play Device Host" service
    • Click the Stop button to stop the service
    • Under Startup type, select Disabled from the pull-down menu and click OK
    • Find the service named "SSDP Discovery Service" and double-click
    • Click the Stop button to stop the service
    • Under Startup type, select Disabled from the pull-down menu and click OK
    more informations about how/why disable UPnP in Windows:
    https://kb.berkeley.edu/jivekb/entry.jspa?entryID=2455


    After that - finally UPnP was turned off and L'n'S stopped counting filtered packets in uplink :thumb:
     
  21. Creer

    Creer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Posts:
    1,345
    Is it normal that everytime when I do restart or resume from hibernate/sleep mode or just power on my computer after shutdown - the statistics in LnS are reset?
    looknstop_stat.png
     
  22. Creer

    Creer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Posts:
    1,345
    Another question:
    Is it normal that counter in LnS (Total of sent/received packets) doesn't work properly?
    I did test with upload on YouTube big movie file, when I uploaded ~26MB - LnS showed me only about 7MB... o_O
    Have a look:
    lns_upload.png
     
    Last edited: Mar 17, 2010
  23. Frederic

    Frederic LnS Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Posts:
    4,354
    Location:
    France
    Yes, this is normal. The network adapters are reset when these events occur. And the application doesn't maintain the old information, it is coming directly from the adapter/driver.

    Frederic
     
  24. Frederic

    Frederic LnS Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Posts:
    4,354
    Location:
    France
    No, this is not normal.
    Maybe there are some compression, and the number of transferred bytes is smaller than the real size of the file.

    Frederic
     
  25. Creer

    Creer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Posts:
    1,345
    Thank you for your help and clarification.

    The weird thing with my issue with LnS counter is... after disabled IPv6 - problem dissapeared :argh:
    Now LnS counter works for me exactly how it supposed to work :)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.