Verifying causes poor media error - user intervention required.

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Pmivp, Dec 12, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Pmivp

    Pmivp Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2007
    Posts:
    14
    Hi all

    I am testing Acronis Echo Enterprise Server.

    I am successfully creating images across my network to a NAS Server. I am getting a "poor media" error message during the verifying image stage. This has happened on 2 different Servers. I can click continue and the verification completes. Is there any way to get it to automatically retry without my input?

    This is the error in the email notification.

    Full backup of XXXServer Task is waiting for user interaction.
    Description: Create Full Backup Archive
    From: Disk 1
    To file: "\\Freenas\AMonday\XXXserver.tib"
    Compression: Normal
    Description:
    "Full Backup of XXXserver across network to NAS"

    Problem Info: Error reading the file.
    Problem Details:
    A possible reason may be poor media quality.

    Please press Retry to continue with Volume 1 or press Cancel to cancel the operation.

    Thanks
     
  2. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello Pmivp,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Remote Server Backup Software.

    Please try limiting network connection speed used by Acronis True Image Echo Enterprise Server. Please see chapter 6.3.6 "Backup performance" of the respective User's Guide for detailed instructions.

    If the issue persists, please collect some information to let us investigate it thoroughly:

    Please create Windows System Information as it is described in Acronis Help Post.

    Please also collect the application log of the operation:
    - run the program;
    - select Show log on the toolbar or from the Tools menu;
    - select the log with error messages;
    - click "Save the log entry to file" (the diskette icon).

    Please also create a screenshot of the error message.

    Then submit a request for technical support. Attach all the collected files and information to your request along with the step-by-step description of the actions taken before the problem appears and the link to this thread. We will investigate the problem and try to provide you with a solution.

    Thank you.
    --
    Marat Setdikov
     
  3. Deadlines

    Deadlines Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2007
    Posts:
    9
    I have a very similar problem and the exact same error. Backing up a brand new Windows Server 2003 x64 machine to a NAS, the machine performs full backups with no problems, but it absolutely will not perform incremental backups. I've verified the full backup .tib and am able to mount and explore it with no issues. I've been going back and forth with Acronis support for over two weeks now with this, so far they have no solution. If you discover anything I'd be very interested to hear about it, as right now we've basically got a $1000 piece of software that only works halfway. :/

    P.S. At least you can click continue and get the task to complete, mine just straight out fails every time. I'd also like to add that I have two other servers using Echo and backing up to this NAS with no problems.
     
  4. Pmivp

    Pmivp Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2007
    Posts:
    14
    I re-formatted the drive I was using to backup with and for the next weekend's test images everything worked fine with backing up and restoring to new hardware.

    This past weekend I have another image from a different Server that will verify every time but will not restore. I've tried it on different computers using the restore cd using full and safe modes, and I've also tried it from within Windows and still end up not being able to restore. The Windows method doesn't say that the image is corrupt but "is unable to install service blah blah" (3 of these) and quits.

    It's so nearly what I want - the reliability factor is just missing.

    Luckily I am still in the testing phase and have not laid out any cash yet.
    I am going to contact my sales rep and request that I get the latest build to see it that helps with the problem.

    I'm not shelling out for this software for 4 Servers when I have images that are useless in a disaster recovery scenario!
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.