VBA32

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by n8chavez, Jun 9, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. n8chavez

    n8chavez Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Posts:
    2,305
    Location:
    Location Unknown
    There have been some very impressive improvements in VBA32 in the latest beta. The RTM now uses less resources than Dr Web's does.

    http://img175.imageshack.us/img175/9495/drwebmj7.png

    http://img185.imageshack.us/img185/3453/vba32oe4.png

    On a rebooted system VBA32 takes up 114 meg whereas Dr Web takes up 130 meg. I'm not sure why but Dr Web has more processes than does VBA32, even if they are not related to the product. Very strange. Chris, what's your take on this?

    Very interesting results to say the least.
     
  2. Martijn2

    Martijn2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Posts:
    321
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    As far as i can see Drweb uses 2 processes (both with spider in the name) of about 3 MB. The other one (drwebscd.exe) is the scheduler of drweb as far as i know.
    I see 1 process of VBA32 in the other picture, taking about 23.5 MB.. thats alot more then drweb.
     
  3. n8chavez

    n8chavez Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Posts:
    2,305
    Location:
    Location Unknown
    That's my point. It would make sense for Dr Web to use less memory since in uses 3 processes totaling 1/3 of what VBA32's ldr process uses. But it appears that VBA uses less memory than Dr Web; the total numbers at the bottom verify this as the AVs were the only changed between screenshots. Therefor, I can only assure that Dr Web effects other processes as well, although perhaps indirectly.
     
  4. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,007
    Hello,
    i was gonna sign up for the panda beta but in the end decicded not to.
    i will sign up[ for two beta's
    bitdefender and vba32
    how do i sign up for vba32 beta?
    lodore
     
  5. Bob D

    Bob D Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2005
    Posts:
    1,150
    Location:
    Mass., USA
    Try this link.
    http://www.anti-virus.by/en/beta.html
    I think it is self explanatory. You'll see there a link to DL beta key file.
     
  6. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    4,010
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
    But Bob, is this the latest beta; 3.12.1 ?
     
  7. dan_maran

    dan_maran Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Posts:
    1,053
    Location:
    Stamford, CT
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.