VB100: RAP test results Oct 2014 - Apr 2015

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by anon, Jul 30, 2015.

  1. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    4,094
  2. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    kudos to TrustPort. I am telling you it is a hidden gem among AVs.
     
  3. Oldjim

    Oldjim Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2005
    Posts:
    99
    So why is the result for Kaspersky so poor compared to all the other testing organisations
     
  4. ArchiveX

    ArchiveX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2014
    Posts:
    1,016
    Avira. :thumb:
     
  5. IBK

    IBK AV Expert

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2003
    Posts:
    1,819
    Location:
    Innsbruck (Austria)
    Afaik this test is performed offline. Please correct me if I am wrong.
     
  6. phalanaxus

    phalanaxus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Posts:
    499
    You are correct.

     
  7. Nevis

    Nevis Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Posts:
    786
    Location:
    255.255.255.255
    offline. That is not very real world today.
     
  8. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    4,094
    Read the procedures and you realize the reason why.


    RAP (Reactive And Proactive)...... ;)

     
  9. vlk

    vlk AV Expert

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Posts:
    618
    Offline, and on-demand only (no execution of samples).
     
  10. hawki

    hawki Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Posts:
    1,956
    Location:
    DC Metro Area
    IMHO offline makes this test irrelevant.

    Also - Idiot's question of the day: What is a "Reactive Test?

    Thanks anon for posting.
     
  11. Windows_Security

    Windows_Security Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2013
    Posts:
    3,081
    Location:
    Netherlands
    REactive, they problably tested with updates data base some time later?
     
  12. Hiltihome

    Hiltihome Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2013
    Posts:
    555
    Location:
    Baden Germany
    This test is good for nothing, like most other AV tests, accept earning a VB100 award.

    Do a real world test!
    Go to your next computer repair shop and ask the technician, witch AV does protect from malware, ransomware, adware, PUPs, spyware and toolbars.
    The answer will be: non

    The solution is to have a free, basic AV, combined with Unchecky and paid version of Malwarebytes AntiMalware, eventually add MBAE, or HitManPro.Alert.

    The mentioned solution has proven for month, on my friends, relatives and customers computers.

    There may be other solutions, i'm not aware of, but the suggest solution works.
     
    Last edited: Aug 3, 2015
  13. Nightwalker

    Nightwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008
    Posts:
    784
    Great setup for sure :thumb:
     
  14. Hiltihome

    Hiltihome Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2013
    Posts:
    555
    Location:
    Baden Germany
    I'm also running uBlock with Chrome, but that is not a solution for the average Joe, cause uBlock asks, from time to time, to renew the permission, to assess Chrome...
    Could be missed, or denied, by average user.
    I'm installing Adblock, instead.
    Having Chrome and an adblocker installed is a major part of my security concept.

    Norton DNS, Open DNS, Comodo DNS, or similar:
    I have tried them, but not sure if it really helps.
    Accept FP , I've never seen them to kick in.
     
    Last edited: Aug 3, 2015
  15. anon

    anon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Posts:
    4,094
    For sure Chrome has some security features but an ..... adblocker?
     
  16. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    5,067
    It can block malware spreading through advertising networks.
     
  17. Snoop3

    Snoop3 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Posts:
    474
    the solution is to re-install OS image from time to time. maybe in the future the hardware will be fast enough that you just install new OS image from clean ext SSD or something similar every time you boot up. then work on building and tweaking your OS image while offline only.
     
Loading...