V6 Beta ESET Service uses 50% CPU on Win8 RTM

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus/Smart Security Beta' started by deputy963, Aug 19, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. deputy963

    deputy963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    18
    Shortly after boot (with nothing else running) the ESET servie jumps to 50% CPU usage. :argh:

    On a side note the Antispam feature does not work with Office 2013 beta.
     
  2. deputy963

    deputy963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    18
    FWIW version 5.2 appears to be doing the same. Everything is fine for 10 minutes, or so, then CPU usage starts to slowly climb. Currently running 53%.

    Looks like I'll have to return to Defender and wait for some improvements.
     
  3. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    4,050
    Location:
    USA
    Is that on a dual core? As in 100% of one core? Or 50% across multiples?

    I don't expect them to support beta Office at this time. I was surprised as to how much support vendors were giving Windows 8.
     
  4. deputy963

    deputy963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    18
    It's a quad core hyper threaded intel CPU. It was 50% across the board. When the fan goes into hyperdrive and there isn't anything running it's time to take a look.:D

    The similarities between 2010 and 2013, except for the gui chrome, are as one would expect - no major changes. That said, If I'm working on a new version of my program and I know that MS is releasing not only a new OS, but also a new office suite in the very near future, I would look very hard into incorporating compatibility into my program. While I expect ESS 6 to be out shortly Win 8 will begin shipping on lots of devices in October and Office 2013 won't be far behind. Seems like the prudent thing to do would be to have the code base ready for both.
     
  5. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    4,050
    Location:
    USA
    I wouldn't have been too surprised if a single process maxed out a single core, but wow, 50% of 8 threads? Yep, something is definitely wrong there. :doubt:


    I'm sure they are looking into it, but very rarely does one beta software product support the beta version of another. Too much of a load on their support department for something that will likely change.
     
  6. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Does disabling real-time protection or startup scan tasks and restarting the computer make a difference?
     
  7. deputy963

    deputy963 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    18
    I'll be honest - I removed both V6 and V5. It was nearly impossible to use in that condition. I may be willing to reinstall, but it will be after I get all of my programs installed/configured and I have a decent drive image to fall back on.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.