V4 with working firewall... !!

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by eisefr, Mar 14, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. eisefr

    eisefr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    Posts:
    153
    Location:
    Germany
    Ok..

    Very dirty solution.. but for now.. my firewall is working at least.


    The solution was to enable test mode in ESS4:
    http://content.screencast.com/users/buckfush/folders/Jing/media/9870a2f1-c5b8-4606-b6cf-971ab4a9f6f7/2009-03-14_2136.png


    Then I updated ESS4 and thats what I got :
    http://content.screencast.com/users/buckfush/folders/Jing/media/7f9d5a93-4711-4fc0-8dc1-0b8cd82f39d4/2009-03-14_2135.png

    and thats what I had before:
    http://content.screencast.com/users/buckfush/folders/Jing/media/9742a0ab-d36d-42ee-8574-d04c26c8196a/2009-03-14_2131.png

    As you can see...
    Eset went back to a older firewall version.
    Well... its old.. but its working.... so far at least ! :doubt:

    Its about time.

    Thank you.
     
  2. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,853
    Yes, as you said it uses an older version of the firewall, but be aware, I had a working firewall and it broke AFTER enabling test mode. I had to reinstall to get online.
     
  3. camperguy01

    camperguy01 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Posts:
    20
    Nice find eisefr. I've done the same and am giving this a try. Too bad Eset isn't showing the same amount of effort.

    Quick question - what exactly happens when "test mode" is enabled? Am I missing anything security-wise?

    Thanks again for the help.
     
  4. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,853
    The only thing it appears to do is download an old firewall module.
     
  5. eisefr

    eisefr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    Posts:
    153
    Location:
    Germany
    Firewall modul was updated again this morning.

    Had to disable firewall again !!

    This is really the biggest unprofessinal crap I ever seen.
    Damn !!!!!!!!!! :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad:

    Config now:
    Virus signature database: 3937 (20090314)
    Update module: 1028 (20090302)
    Antivirus and antispyware scanner module: 1195 (20090313)
    Advanced heuristics module: 1092 (20090309)
    Archive support module: 1091 (20090213)
    Cleaner module: 1038 (20090210)
    Anti-Stealth support module: 1010 (20090302)
    Personal firewall module: 1044 (20090121) <---- BETA-Time !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Antispam module: 1011 (20090114)
    System status module: 1210 (20090306)
    Self-defense support module : 1005 (20081105)
     
  6. camperguy01

    camperguy01 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Posts:
    20
    Enabling test mode is not working for me. I'm going back to disabling it.

    Eset really needs to get going on this. Just some simple communication on their website would be nice..... Too bad, I was so happy with V3. Just don't understand how this can get out of beta........ :mad:
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.