v4 IDS killing internet connection

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by SEMEYE, Mar 4, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. psi2003

    psi2003 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Posts:
    55
    Dracula87,

    What is your network card?
     
  2. Dracula87

    Dracula87 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    Posts:
    43
    Location:
    Ukraine
    D-Link AirPlus DWL-G520 Wireless PCI Adapter(rev.B) + Marvell Yukon 88E8056 PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet Controller
     
  3. psi2003

    psi2003 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Posts:
    55
    Don't you loose connectivity using Marvell Yukon 88E8056 PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet Controller?

    I starting to thing that this bug is related to network adapters o_O
     
  4. Dracula87

    Dracula87 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    Posts:
    43
    Location:
    Ukraine
    Nope... No bugs here... :rolleyes: And this freaks me out, 'cause I can't find out the source of the problem. Got ESET home on my PC and mother's laptop. Installed today for my father at the office... mo bugs with internet connection or slow browsing. Everywhere - auto+rules in the firewall.
     
  5. SEMEYE

    SEMEYE Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    Posts:
    11
    well, I guess this settles it. I'm downgrading to v3 until ESET has a handle on this issue. thanks to all who attempted to fix a broken program.
     
  6. psi2003

    psi2003 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Posts:
    55
    YES! I agree with you SEMEYE.... ESS 4 is broken :gack: PERIOD!



    ESET WAKE UPo_O o_O o_O
     
  7. SEMEYE

    SEMEYE Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    Posts:
    11
    I'm left wondering why we didnt get a single response/possible solution/temp fix or anything for that matter from an ESET rep. this is the official forum, is it not?
     
  8. eisefr

    eisefr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    Posts:
    153
    Location:
    Germany
    They are all celebrating their new product on the cebit in Germany...

    Not knowing whats going on here in their forum.... :D :D

    -Just kidding- ;)
     
  9. Dracula87

    Dracula87 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    Posts:
    43
    Location:
    Ukraine
    It seems they have many problems right now (and I am not talking about Cebit). For starters - server updates (as it seems). Then - this firewall bug. The 3918 update when Kryptik was a false alarm... But still I agree - where are you, ESET guys? I understand that I don't have bugs... But still... o_O
     
  10. grndady

    grndady Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Posts:
    2
    THANK YOU ALL for your posts.

    I too upgraded to 4.0 on 3/6, and the internet died. Spent ALL DAY working on the problem, only to eventually get 5 or less minutes of connect time several times that day.

    Went to work 3/7 and came here to see if I was the only one, and BAM! All you guys are suffering with me!

    I downloaded 3.0 on my work computer and burned it to cd; came home and deleted 4.0 and all it's directories; installed 3.0 and got everything BACK, EXCEPT, I now have approximately HALF of my usual internet speed.

    Wrote a service request and sent it. Not expecting much of a reply.

    Does ESET ever read any of these? I already dumped BitDefender for ESET on account of BitDefender's buggy software. Hope I don't have to repeat.

    Thanks.
     
  11. Dracula87

    Dracula87 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    Posts:
    43
    Location:
    Ukraine
    How about the system? I'm testing Win7. The laptop is XP Sp3. Windows firewall off?

    In order to find out the source of the bug we should write the OS, network adapter, the on\off windows firewall and the ESET firewall position (auto, interact etc). Maybe we can find smth out of it... just a hunch...
     
  12. psi2003

    psi2003 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Posts:
    55
    Here:

    - Vista x64
    - Realtek network adapter
    - Automatic firewall

    Connectivity lost all the time!
     
  13. Dracula87

    Dracula87 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    Posts:
    43
    Location:
    Ukraine
    Windows 7 Build 7022 Ultimate x86
    Windows firewall off
    ESET Firewall auto+rules
    D-Link AirPlus DWL-G520 Wireless PCI Adapter(rev.B) + Marvell Yukon 88E8056 PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet Controller

    No bugs. Internet connection and browsing works fine.
     
  14. silverfox55

    silverfox55 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2008
    Posts:
    97
    Location:
    The Original Washington
    Vista x32
    Realtec network adapter
    Automatic firewall
     
  15. Erroneus

    Erroneus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2009
    Posts:
    6
    This is a Joke ESET, at least give us a reply.

    Two disconnects in two hours >_>

    IF this is not fixed real fast, I'm jumping back to Avast. Not worth spending money on a broken product and apparently no support...
     
  16. miki69

    miki69 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Posts:
    133
    Location:
    Vienna, Austria
    Today's module update (9th March) is update for scanner and heuristic modules. Like someone already mentioned firewall module is "ancient" old (21.01) as well as self-defense module (dated NOV 2008 ). Isn't that strange? So ESET didn't update those since RC? Doesn't sound like ESET, they've been know for very reliable company. Maybe V4 came too soon after all.

    Anyhow, day 2 after V4 reinstall, so far so good.
     
    Last edited: Mar 9, 2009
  17. elapsed

    elapsed Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,076
    The firewall module had 4 updates during testing 1040>1044 and the self defense had 5 1000>1005

    Ignoring the fact that the latest firewall module is somewhat dodgy, there's not much you can do in a firewall module, that goes for a self defense module as well.
     
  18. pomocnik

    pomocnik Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Posts:
    29
    hmmm strange thing this firewall.

    yesterday i reinstaled my laptop. after install of system /vista home premium 32/ first thing which i instaled was ESS v3. and suprise, suprise, same problem with disconnecting as in ESS v4 o_O. after that i disable fireval module and continue instaling other stuff. and after all vista updates were instaled i try firewall again and problem with disconnecting was gone :eek:

    hmm something smell in world of eset :-(
     
  19. KOKOtm

    KOKOtm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Posts:
    25
    Hm. I also don't know, why they need so much time...The bug is in the IDS, the firewall rules work like charm. I only deactivated the IDS. Can't be a big thing...i bet most of IDS rules work also, but i am to lazy to find out, which of them is buggy.
     
  20. RonZ

    RonZ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2009
    Posts:
    13
    On page one of this thread I explained how I installed ESS 4 on two wireless laptops and one wired desktop computer. The wired desktop had the problems described here, the laptops are working perfectly. I opened a ticket with Eset Technical Support and got the following response:

    Hi there, when you are having an issue with the ESET Personal Firewall and a program that you use please complete the following to place the Firewall into “Learning Mode” with version 4 of ESET Smart Security.

    For Windows XP (Vista is very similar).

    1. Click on “Start”.

    2. Click on “All Programs”.

    3. Click on “ESET”.

    4. Click on “ESET Smart Security”.

    5. Click on the 2nd “ESET Smart Security” (with the icon alongside it), this will open up the ESET Smart Security Control Center.

    6. Click on “Setup” in the left column.

    7. Click on “Personal firewall” in the right hand window.

    8. Click on “Advanced Personal firewall setup…”.

    9. In the right hand window, click on the dropdown menu where “Automatic mode” is displayed and choose “Learning mode”.

    10. Click on “OK”.

    11. Run the problematic program that the ESET Personal Firewall is having issues with and use it for a while.

    12. Repeat the steps above and place the ESET Personal Firewall back into “Automatic mode”.

    Is your issue now resolved?

    Thank you for contacting ESET Technical Support.


    I tried this but naturally it did not solve the problem, it was actually worse. The tech who responded doesn't seem to be aware of the larger issues described in this thread. That DOES worry me. I did have some success though, which I will detail in my next post.
     
  21. RonZ

    RonZ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2009
    Posts:
    13
    Ok, I did successfully get some events to show up in the log. These showed that packets were being blocked by IDS. That's what all of the errors were. So I tried disabling some of the rules in IDS. I had some success disabling TCP and UDP Port Scanning Attack Detection, but eventually this failed. The biggest positive change in Firewall behavior came when I disabled the rule "Block unsafe address after attack detection." Now things are starting to work. I've enabled all of the other rules again, I'm still running in "Learning" mode, and can see ESS creating new rules for itself. I'll let it go like this for a while and report back later.
     
  22. Dracula87

    Dracula87 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    Posts:
    43
    Location:
    Ukraine
    Emmm... Sorry, can you give a screenshot for the disabled features? Using russian language :rolleyes:

    Worth a shot... though I installed on two PC's and a laptop at home (one trial on my very old PC with the printer on, and 2 licenses of v4) - still no bugs with the firewall. 4 days now.
     
  23. cupez80

    cupez80 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Posts:
    615
    Location:
    Surabaya Indonesia
    "Block unsafe address after attack detection." is a temporary solution .i think the problem is with the IDS rules...
     
  24. RonZ

    RonZ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2009
    Posts:
    13
    That actually worked for a while but eventually IDS began cutting off my connection again until it was unusable. I guess that I am going to have to just run with the firewall disabled and either trust my router's firewall or find a good freeware alternative. Can anyone suggest any good freeware firewalls?
     
  25. silverfox55

    silverfox55 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2008
    Posts:
    97
    Location:
    The Original Washington
    PC Tools is supposed to be good. Too many problems with Comodo.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.