v4.0 killing downloads? [Yes, it is!]

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by m00nbl00d, Mar 4, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. pondlife152

    pondlife152 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2008
    Posts:
    105
    Location:
    UK
    That's because the iTunes package is a Cabinet (CAB) archive. The problem only seems to affect 7-zip archives.
     
  2. gantz75

    gantz75 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2009
    Posts:
    9
    Hi all.
    I downloaded Scetchup and ekrn.exe peaked 90% of CPU for aprox 90sec!
    To scan the file after download took 36sec.

    This is not a big problem for me but it would be nice to know the reason.

    The PC running this test is VISTA on a P2,26Ghz 2Gb RAM and it is generaly slow.

    //Regards
     
  3. pondlife152

    pondlife152 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2008
    Posts:
    105
    Location:
    UK
    You're running Vista on a P2.......you are brave!! :D
     
  4. gantz75

    gantz75 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2009
    Posts:
    9
    My mistake, it is an old P4 but it is SLOW.
    This particular PC is actually working quite well despite the speed. My guess is old hardware>more stable drivers...
    I also gets paid by the hour so a slow PC is actually good for bussiness:)
     
  5. perbauer

    perbauer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Posts:
    8
    Location:
    Sweden
    Just to confirm, it's same for me. When the downloads on my computer (Vista 32 Ultimate, Core2 Quad 2,4) are about to finish Firefox 3.0.7 gives me an error message about not being able to finish the download because of an issue with the sending server, which of course isn't really the problem. IE 8 doesn't give any error messages but the downloaded zip is broken, and WinRAR cannot repair. To clarify, I don't see the lag problem also discussed in this thread, maybe because the system and the disks (raid 0) are pretty fast. The scan of SketchUp took two seconds and that file wasn't broken so it’s large files that break.

    If I just temporarily disable NOD32 (right-click on icon in notification area) the downloads work fine.
     
  6. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,441
    Scanning of 7-zip archives will be a bit faster at the cost of slightly higher memory consumption by ekrn. However, it will never be as fast as with 7-zip as we cannot allocate additional 32-64 MB of RAM just to unpack one archive. We must take into account that our customers use ESET on systems with little RAM.
     
  7. Cosmo 203

    Cosmo 203 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Posts:
    165
    Although off topic in this thread, but you said a splendid word.

    I told you this again and again in association with SysRescue.

    If you "take this into account", than act accordingly.
     
  8. m00nbl00d

    m00nbl00d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Posts:
    6,623
    So, are you saying that Eset has no plans to improve it?

    That means that, everyone downloading something packed with 7-zip, will always see their downloads die at the very end, due to ekrn.exe "never" ending checking such files, hence making the download simply die. Maybe not being able to resume it either.

    Is that the situation we're dealing with here?


    Thanks
     
  9. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,441
    I assume that my explanation was clear:
    Scanning of such large 7zip archives will be a bit faster, but it will never be as fast as with 7zip (which takes 6 seconds on my computer to unpack the Google SketchUp installer) as it would cause ekrn to allocate a lot of additional memory. Really, ekrn cannot allocate, let's say, 256 MB of RAM just because one would like to have unpacking of a specific archive 1-2 seconds faster.
     
  10. m00nbl00d

    m00nbl00d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Posts:
    6,623
    OH!

    I misunderstood you. I was sleepy at the moment I asked it! ;)


    Regards
     
  11. elapsed

    elapsed Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,076
    Will that be a module update or in the next build?
     
  12. pondlife152

    pondlife152 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2008
    Posts:
    105
    Location:
    UK
    Good news. I look forward to the update.:thumb:
     
  13. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,441
    Archive module update.
     
  14. m00nbl00d

    m00nbl00d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Posts:
    6,623
    Marcos, any idea of when it will be available?

    I'm aware that Eset released an antispyware and antivirus module update very recently, but, I believe this issue hasn't been addressm, yet.

    The same still happens.


    Thanks
     
  15. edwin3333

    edwin3333 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Posts:
    244
    Doesn't disabling the scanning of archives also solve this problem?

    If I recall correctly, that is not as big of a concern as it sounds since ESET will scan the archive at launch/extraction time too.?

    I have scanning of archives turned off because of this issue (Version 3.)
     
  16. m00nbl00d

    m00nbl00d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Posts:
    6,623
    I really don't care if it solves it or not, though, I did try to disable EAV http scanner, which didn't solve it.

    But, I'm a paying customer and use the settings I want to, and I want the product to work.
    Doesn't matter if I have X setting enabled, Y disabled, etc. It has to work!

    If it was some free product, I wouldn't complaint, and would move towards something else.
    Not the case, and I'd like to see this solved.
     
  17. elapsed

    elapsed Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,076
    There was an archive module update 1092
     
  18. m00nbl00d

    m00nbl00d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Posts:
    6,623
    Now that you mention it, I went to check, and yes, there was.
    Still, the issue still exists. I had to disable EAV to finish (also restart from beginning) a 86MB download. 7zip related.
     
  19. elapsed

    elapsed Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,076
    I wonder what they fixed then.
     
  20. m00nbl00d

    m00nbl00d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Posts:
    6,623
    I wonder about it, as well.
     
  21. pondlife152

    pondlife152 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2008
    Posts:
    105
    Location:
    UK
    Yes, the scan time for the Google Sketchup file hasn't changed. Approx. 25 seconds, same as before.

    So I guess the updated module was to fix/change something else.:doubt:
     
  22. Pecker_Head

    Pecker_Head Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Posts:
    18
    Location:
    Peckersville, USA
    Hello Folks,

    All these issues remind me of a recent problem I had on one of my servers. I wonder if this may help with this situation. For those of you having this download problem are you using AMD Athlon or Opteron dual core 64 bit processors? If I am reading this thread correctly it seems that those using AMD based dual core processors have this issue. I recently had a network issue on my Windows Server 2003, it nearly drove me insane. The simple fix after many exhausting hours of trying to figure out what was wrong was this. I went to the AMD website and downloaded the AMD Athlon/Opteron CPU driver. I installed this and my problems disappered like magic. It seems that the AMD dual core processors have a timing issue. The driver corrects this issue. It fixed many network related problems I was having on my server. I wonder if this may be what is occurring here as well. Afterall, we are talking about networking. I wonder if that would be worthy of a try to those having this problem. Let me know if you try it, I know it took care of my network issues.

    -P_Head
     
  23. elapsed

    elapsed Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,076
    Are you referring to the AMD dual-core optimizer?
     
  24. Pecker_Head

    Pecker_Head Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Posts:
    18
    Location:
    Peckersville, USA
    Hello Elapsed,

    Yes, that is the one I was referring to. It sounds strange, but I had a nightmare network issue that to my surprise was fixed after I applied this driver update. I wonder if it may work in this case as well.

    -P_Head
     
  25. Pecker_Head

    Pecker_Head Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Posts:
    18
    Location:
    Peckersville, USA
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.