V4.0.467 smart scan paused, will not resume

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by JNicoll23, Dec 1, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. JNicoll23

    JNicoll23 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Posts:
    14
    Location:
    Scotland
    V4.0.467.0, Win XP Pro SP3 etc

    I started a 'Smart scan' of the whole system. It was running with about 75% cpu in egui.exe (why is the gui so busy?) and about 20-25% in ekrn.exe (I would have expected this to be busiest), and I couldn't get something else done.

    So I went to the running scan (the window that shows the log of what it is doing) and clicked the Pause button. The status message just under the window pane title changed to say "Waiting to pause scan" and the logged activity stopped - suggesting that it had in fact paused.

    But the Pause button is now greyed-out, whereas I would have expected it to have changed to 'Resume' so maybe the 'waiting to pause' message means that it's not entirely paused.

    Meantime I couldn't resume the scan. I came here and looked for other people having the problem but didn't see anything relevant.

    So eventually I terminated the egui.exe task in task manager, then restarted it. Now the scan correctly shows as paused, and there was a resume button, which I clicked and it's going again.
     
  2. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    The message "Waiting to pause scan" means that a file (probably archive) is crrently being scanned so it may take a few moments to complete this operation. How long have you been waiting?
     
  3. JNicoll23

    JNicoll23 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Posts:
    14
    Location:
    Scotland
    Thanks for your reply.

    I'm not sure precisely; long enough to find this forum, read many threads, then write a new post - an hour perhaps?

    Certainly not just a few minutes.

    The whole scan, on a 1.8GHz single core cpu system, took 3 hours and 6 minutes. 126,716 objects were scanned.

    From my notes, previous full scans - which have also looked inside every .chm and .zip etc - have taken around 80 minutes, and looked at around 240,000 objects.

    The log for the present scan shows it did not look inside .chm and .msi and .zip files (presumably that's why the object count is substantially lower).

    I did have full logging on, but I can't believe that writing 126,716 lines to a log file would take such a huge amount of either cpu time or elapsed time. Even opening the whole log afterwards only took maybe 30 seconds, and saving it as an external XML file took a couple of minutes.

    It's a pity that neither the log displayed while a scan is running nor the XML file copy shows the time when each file was checked. I have no idea what it was doing when I tried to pause/resume the scan.
     
  4. JNicoll23

    JNicoll23 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Posts:
    14
    Location:
    Scotland
    Thanks for your reply.

    I'm not sure precisely; long enough to find this forum, read many threads, then write a new post - an hour perhaps?

    Certainly not just a few minutes.

    The whole scan, on a 1.8GHz single core cpu system, took 3 hours and 6 minutes. 126,716 objects were scanned.

    From my notes, previous full scans - which have also looked inside every .chm and .zip etc - have taken around 80 minutes, and looked at around 240,000 objects.

    The log for the present scan shows it did not look inside .chm and .msi and .zip files (presumably that's why the object count is substantially lower). I
    do also have some exclusions defined. I've checked the log carefully and the exclusions were skipped as expected (ie other files & directories around them in the directory tree were scanned properly).


    I did have full logging on, but I can't believe that writing 126,716 lines to a log file would take such a huge amount of either cpu time or elapsed time. Even opening the whole log afterwards only took maybe 30 seconds, and saving it as an external XML file took a couple of minutes.

    It's a pity that neither the log displayed while a scan is running nor the XML file copy shows the time when each file was checked. I have no idea what it was doing when I tried to pause/resume the scan.
     
  5. JNicoll23

    JNicoll23 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Posts:
    14
    Location:
    Scotland
    Whoops - two almost identical replies. #4 is the same as #3 except it mentions exclusions, which were properly skipped.
     
  6. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Try checking the name of the currently scanned file in Protection status -> Statistics when the scan seems to stall.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.